Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alder Street Learning Center 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended ASLC for almost a year and a half. The individual attention that he receives from Linda, Molly and Noelle far exceeds any pre-school expectations I had for him. He was at first shy, but due to the attention and astute observation he has received from this staff, he has blossomed into a confident, popular, socially and emotionally well-rounded boy, ready for kindergarten. LInda is always available via text and phone. I have always been able to contact her at any time during the school day. The church and courtyard are beautiful and safe places for my child to spend time and play. He enjoys the library, zoo trips and the opera this year alone! He also knows how to sign the alphabet, sings and dances and has made very good friendships at ASLC. When it is raining the kids get to go to an indoor romper room where there is space to run and enjoy exercise despite the weather. There are all kinds of musical instruments, reading/writing activities, etc. I am also thrilled that my child knows about yoga, ballet, tap and jazz. I feel truly lucky to have found this pre-school for the arts, a hidden gem, and that it has forever positively influenced my son's life

Alder Street Learning Center 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a community member
As a grandparent of a child at this school, and as someone who has previously run a pre-school playgroup in the UK, I am very impressed by the whole environment, and by the caring nature of all the staff. My granddaughter has been at Alder Street since January and clearly loves being here. She is blossoming - what more could anyone ask.


Alder Street Learning Center 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
My child started attending ASLC about 1 year ago. She sings and dances and even knows downward dog! She has made many friends and loves going to school each day. We could not be happier!

Alder Street Learning Center 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
My daughter started at Alder Street in Janury and has blossomed. She loves the dance, yoga and singing while learning her ABCs and numbers. More importantly, she adores her teachers who are warm, encouraging and creative. As a busy parent, I greatly appreciate the advice and skills the teachers share with me, especially from the director, Linda, who clearly has years of experience and knowledge. We look forward to sending our son to Alder St. when he is old enough. It is a place where you can feel the happiness of the children and staff.

Alder Street Learning Center 1

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
This school claims to be a religious school. They are not only terrible with Children, but cast them out. We are talking a 3 year old boy. They just kicked my 3 year old out of school for unknown reasons. They refused my parent/teacher conference request to find out what was going on. Not kidding. They dont answer the phones during the school day either. The director, Linda, is terrible with the kids & a horrible representative for the business


Alder Street Learning Center 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
Alder Street is a wonderful place for kids to grow, play, learn, and develop friendships. Our children have been at the school for five years now, and we could not be happier. I second the comment below -- Linda and her team are a second family to my children as well!

Alder Street Learning Center 5

Posted September 14, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely the best environment for kids. Loving, caring, emphasis on learning, great prep for elementary school. Linda Foote and her team are a second family to my children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alder Street Learning Center
1200 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR  97205
(503) 228-5855
Last modified Alder Street Learning Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Alder Street Learning Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top