Advertisement
Advertisement

Sunstone Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 172 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $315,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

My daughter has been attending Sunstone for the past four years, and we couldn't be happier with the school, teachers, and community. She is getting a very well-rounded whole-child education, and is able to do work at her own pace- some of which is two to three grade levels more advanced than her actual grade level. Most importantly, she loves her school and is never bored. We highly recommend Sunstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

I am a parent of a former Sunstone student, who is definitely better for having been at the school for 3 years. He now is curious child who questions the why behind instructions, not just blindly follows. The parent education offerings along the way helped me become a better parent--more patient and honoring of his intentions, not just wanting him to conform to a traditional rote-memorization model of education. I would recommend Sunstone to anyone wanting quality education with thoughtful and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Sunstone Montessori School is the anchor tenant and neighborhood school for Southwest Portland. Near the Willamette River, South Waterfront and embracing a variety of individual residential neighborhoods, Sunstone offers Toddler to Grade 6 Montessori education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2013

Watching my 9 year old grow under their leadership has been astonishing. Whether it is dealing with an issue with other classmates, or learning about the environment, animals, math or whatever interests him, it has been a joy to watch him grow to LOVE LEARNING. That carries over into everyday life and it makes him a joy to be around. I credit the staff and the way the school is run. This is the way young education should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

Sunstone Montessori offers a wonderful and authentic Montessori environment.We just finished our first year here with our daughter in the elementary program and we have been more then pleased with our experience. The teachers are professional, welcoming and warm and our daughter felt right at home here after graduating from her Montessori kindergarden experience. Their new location in the John's landing area is also really sweet with gardens, a playground and a big field for the kids to run around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

Newly arrived in Portland in 2011, we discovered Sunstone Montessori and from the minute we walked through the door, felt welcomed. The Children's House and Elementary campuses joined together last year at the new John's Landing location and watching the "little" ones with the "big" ones, in this great community, underscores Montessori's philosophy and commitment to the role children play in educating and supporting each other. My daughter went from being the oldest in her class in Children's House, to the youngest in her Elementary class, and has learned as much about the different roles she gets to play in life as she has about language, math, science and other topics covered by the curriculum. As a parent, I believe our role is to raise confident, independent and inquisitive children. My experience at Sunstone Montessori has been that the staff and administration put this philosophy into practice every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2013

Our son has attended Sunstone Montessori for 5 years and in large part we are pleased with the education has received. We have been fairly involved on a volunteer basis with the school and as such have had the opportunity to work with most of the staff in one way or another. We have found them to be dedicated and caring, educators committed to individual growth and the establishment of an educational community based on the Montessori model. For some families, particularly those who have experience with a more mainstream pedagogical educational model, this school takes a leap of faith. Students educational and intellectual advancement are predicated by their individual developmental readiness, as opposed to a predetermined general timeline applied to specific grade levels. This means that at times the students are working above their public school peers, and at times behind. We have watched our son thrive in this supportive system. Our observation has been that this school is excellent, and while though not for everyone, accomplishes our desire for a nurturing, individually focused educational environment for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

Sunstone provides a top quality education far beyond my highest expectations. The teachers are caring and passionate and they know my children. They know all of the children because they care. The Montessori curriculum allows for each child to grow at their own pace and explore and the children are truly happy because they are truly engaged and discovering on their own and learning how to learn. They are truly excited about school and their curiosity about life is nurtured and stimulated. The children at Sunstone are truly learning and not just regurgitating. And the children don't just learn academics, they develop emotionally and socially. They learn what it is to be a part of a community and how to contribute for the greater good. They learn how to be independent, productive, confident, kind, peaceful, problem-solving, curious, joyous members of society. Sunstone helps create a peaceful future by instilling in our children the values of a truly peaceful world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

Sunstone Montessori School truly fosters children's intellectual creativity. Students are encouraged to pursue their own interests and are given the tools to do so. Sunstone students know how to think critically, problem solve, collaborate with others in their community, and have a deep understanding of what it means to live sustainably. I cannot recommend this program highly enough.


Posted November 3, 2011

My daughter has attended this school for 6 years and we have been thrilled with her experience. She has learned how to be curious, to ask questions and to find many different avenues to answer her questions. She has navigated the social waters safely and with appropriate guidance. In all of her experiences-academic, social, emotional and physical she has not only had opportunities to succeed but also to fail, safely and in a manner that she has learned. I LOVE this school and the people who work there as well as all the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Sunstone Montessori School offers an education wherein the children actually learn how to learn. Learning becomes a process of engagement and discovery fueled by the child's curiosity. Sunstone Montessori is the highest quality of education in Portland, Or. The staff is excellent, trained, passionate, committed. The community is strong, friendly, intelligent, kind, caring. I have two daughters, both of whom started at age 3 in the Children's House and both of whom are now in the Elementary program. My daughters's joyful spirits and love of life, curiosity and wonder have been fully supported and enhanced by their education at Sunstone Montessori. They LOVE going to school each day. They are maintaining their curiosity of the world and joy for life while they engage life with hands on experience and learn how to find, for themselves, the answers they seek. They also learn how to respect the community at large, how to respect others emotionally and physically, how to offer help to others, how to contribute peacefully for the betterment of the group or for the betterment of another human being. I highly recommend Sunstone Montessori School. It is an incredible place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

At Sunstone Montessori School we have been offering joyful, high-quality, educationally sound Montessori education at our beautiful Multnomah Village campus since 1995. Each classroom is a spacious cottage featuring outdoor extension areas and a large community garden. The perimeter of our property is secured with a coded, locked gate and an intercom system. We share the neighborhood park/playground behind the Multnomah Art Center, and employ their covered basketball court when the weather is inclement. We have stellar teachers who are loving, dedicated, and highly trained, and have been at Sunstone for 11, 7, and 4 years respectively. They love children and support families as professionals who hold masters degrees in Early Childhood Education. As Montessorians, we offer education for peace-, empowering children to use their emotional intelligence to resolve conflict compassionately and effectively. We have something special going on in our community of learners, but don t take our word for it! Visit our website, call us for a tour, or drop by when we have an Open House (or when we host a booth for Multnomah Days or the community Halloween parade).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2011

We had an awful experience here. This place is the pits. We observed a experienced teacher when given the chance to tour the school and were told our child would have such a teacher for her first year. Instead, an inexperienced daycare worker was hired at the last minute and put in charge of a classroom with well over 20 students. She was unable to identify any of our child's academic abilities and challenges - literally knew NOTHING specific about her academic level after nearly 4 months, was rude and completely unwelcoming. The student culture was not well directed, and bullying permitted and passively dealt with at best. The administration offered no solutions or flexibility to what was obviously a poorly supervised classroom, and seemed mainly preoccupied with money and their tuition insurance program and not at all with the development or safety or care of our child. Safety is a joke -the electronic gates seldom worked, the play areas were all in terrible repair and the playground not enclosed or in any way protected from street traffic. The safety of kids at this school seems to be in large part up to chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

My children have attended Sunstone through it's transitions and not been in the least affected by the administration shifts. What is important to our family is that the teachers (called guides) are following the AMI model prescribed by the brilliant Maria Montessori 100 years ago. My children are completely respected as human beings. They feel safe, honored and loved at Sunstone. AND, they are getting the best thing they can out of elementary education - a passion for learning. We love Sunstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Sunstone is a wonderful school with an amazingly committed staff and community. I have had two children attend and they both had fabulous experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 73%
Two or more races 14% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 18%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • Other Montessori
Fax number
  • (503) 452-3101

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6318 SW Corbett Ave
Portland, OR 97239
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 768-3847

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT