Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gingerbread Nursery School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Norman

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

Gingerbread is amazing. The teachers truly know and love each child. The yard is huge. We've had a child in every class at Gingerbread (Elves, Giants, Scotties, and Kindies), and we've loved every class. I am so grateful my sons have had such a wonderful pre-school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I think I made the best decision sending my daughter to Gingerbread. You have to see the backyard! The teachers CARE! Well worth EVERY penny spent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Gingerbread is an amazing school. My sisters and I went to Gingerbread. Now, as a mother, I insisted my son attend pre-school there. He has since graduated to a 'big kids' school, but still talks about Gingerbread all the time! I am anxious for my daughter to get to preschool age so that she can go to Gingerbread too. I love that they teach by experience. For example, when they are learning about bugs - they go on a Bug Walk - where they find bugs. They are very hands on and allow the children to learn and gain self-esteem through experience. The staff is loving and kind; yet, consistent and stern. My son can be quite a handful, but their consistency and expectations kept him in line. The creativity from Gingerbread is exceptional! I simply can not say enough about this rare atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

My daughter has attended Gingerbread throughout the summer and will start Pre-K there in a few weeks. She would have been there sooner, but the waiting list is long. It's understandable because I couldn't ask for a better environment for my child to start her school experience. My daughter and I love everything about Gingerbread. The teachers are so loving and caring and really want to be a partner with you in teaching your child to be the best they can be and prepare them to attend a bigger school. I highly recommend Gingerbread... it's worth every penny!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

All 3 of our children went to Gingerbread up to kindergarten. They learned, had fun and loved it. The teachers and experiences were wonderful! It's not a 'day care' it's a learning/loving environment for children. I highly recommend it, but the waiting list is very long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

Gingerbread Camp is awesome. My Son has gone to their summer camp for 3 summers. The school has their own bus and is constantly on the move. They go to museums, Arbuckle Mountains, Sulfer Springs, the Zoo and tons of other places. Every Friday, they swim at Westwood. The staff is wonderful and the kids really love it their.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

I cannot say enough about Gingerbread. My daughter has been going there since she was 2 and a half. They teach kids to be responsible for themselves, to make good choices, and to be creative. They also get the kids outside as much as possible, weather permitting, of course. They really focus on the whole person. Gingerbread is the place for bright, active, interesting kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Wonderful environment for children to grow and learn! Great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 54%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 17%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 13%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

602 Villa Drive
Norman, OK 73071
Phone: (405) 321-0087

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT