Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Council Oaks Learning Campus

Preschool

 
 

Living in Broken Arrow

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $143,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

Both of my daughters attend or have attended Council Oaks for the past 4 years. I have been beyond impressed with how much they have learned at an age that I didn't know they could develop such advanced skills. When my oldest went to public pre-k the curriculum included things she mastered at CO when she was two! They learn language, music, shapes, colors, math - starting as soon as they are talking. The staff also offers a lot of help with transitions - bottle to sippy, potty training, etc. The teachers have all been exceptional and loving. Most importantly, my children enjoy going to this school. When I told my pre-k daughter that she would be back at CO for the summer she was elated and yelled, "I just LOVE Council Oaks!" This is perhaps the most telling sign of all. I certainly recommend the center and I am happy that it has been a part of our lives and our children's development. They've helped to bring out our children's enormous potential in a loving and family-like environment, what more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

My son, now 6 years old, has been going here since he was 1 1/2, and now my 2 year old daughter is also attending. This school is very well run, the teachers are amazing, the kids are happy, and it's well managed. It's a little more expensive, but worth every penny. It's not just a daycare, it really is a learning center! There is a great focus on developing the children at an early age in a safe, loving and fun environment! Would recommend to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

My wife and I had a chance to visit this school yesterday. We are looking for a different daycare for our child. Based on the most recent reviews that I have seen on the web, I wasn't going to consider Council Oaks. However, a co-worker recommended that I visit this place in spite of what I read on the internet. I was very pleasantly suprised. The staff are professional and the building is in great shape. I did ask about the one-star rating on the DHS website. Their explanation is that since they do not accept state subsidies, they can never get better than a one-star rating. I am not recommending or recommending this daycare, but I am saying that you shouldn't make a decision solely based on what you are reading on the website. Our child starts at this daycare tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

If anyone is concerned about safety for their child...do not send them here. My child has received injury reports where he has slipped and fell hitting his head on the sink, came home with a bump & abrasion on his head but my husband & I were never notified. We contacted the school & they said they looked at his pupils & he didnt have a concussion & that they followed protocal by writing it up & they dont call the parents for every little scrape...this is a head injury. This isnt the only time we have had problems...our son experienced a cut accross his face & again we were never notified. Thank goodness one of the teachers had enough sense to sneak out & call me. Its sad that the teacher had to sneak a call to me for fear of being written up. Our son has also developed a staph infection while attending this school. This school used to be great before the current director took over & there are a few teachers who are very good but thats not enough to keep our child there. I have even reported this school to dhs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

This is a reply to the posting on June 8, 2010 - we are not sure what "advanced" class you're referring to since none exist other than the private Kindergarten. Mrs. Sanders is a top notch teacher and has prepared my daughter for first grade to the point she is being reviewed as a "gifted child". She will be needing advanced education either through the public or private schools. She started here at age of 2 and finished Mrs. Sander's Kindergarten class last year. I cannot disagree with your assessment on the owner or the other rooms the kids are in, but the Kindergarten class is extremely structured to have ANY child success or surpass expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

I would HIGHLY NOT recommend this school to anyone!!! It is extremely unorganized! They claim to be an early learning center/school, when in reality it is a "play care" for kids. I was told in the beginning when we were interviewing the school that they had an extremely strong and structured curriculum. When in reality the majority of the day is not spent on learning or education but rather playtime for the kids. The owner is extremely unprofessional and definitely not a good business owner. The teachers are more like glorified babysitters than early education leaders. My child was in the most advanced class that they offer and he regressed in his learning from his previous school in a 6 month period. If you are truly interested in education and preparing your child for elementary school this is definitely not the place you want to send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I love Council Oaks! My daughter has met so many wonderful friends and teachers that have helped guide her to be a wonderful person. The teachers are amazing because they helped my daughter learn all of her letters and sounds and now she is working on reading at age 3! Thanks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I love Council Oaks! My daughter has met so many wonderful friends and teachers that have helped guide her to be a wonderful person. The teachers are amazing because they helped my daughter learn all of her letters and sounds and now she is working on reading at age 3! Thanks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

My son attended pre-k and kindergarten at Council Oaks. The education he received was excellent! In both years his teacher was dedicated and the curriculum was challenging, but fun. The kindergaten teacher, Ms. Sanders, gave the children much one-on-one attention and pushed the students to excell which rewarding them for their accomplishments. We highly recommend this school to anyone who wants to give their child a head start that will benefit them throughout their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 54%
Black 17% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 13%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2009 West Washington Street South
Broken Arrow, OK 74012
Phone: (918) 455-0074

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT