Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Compass School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
We have two children enrolled at Compass and have had a very positive experience. Administrators know us and our children, show an interest in creating a wholesome environment for learning, and are very responsive to questions. Teachers have been first-rate, patient and fair, enthusiastic about our kids and always willing to go the extra mile to assist in their development. Contact with parents is amazing -- daily emails with photos of the day's events, extensive documentation of artwork, studies, etc., questions of the day and longer-term projects -- impressive execution of the Reggio philosophy the school is known for. Facilities are good and attention to safety is impressive; during a recent scare in town many Powell schools were put on lockdown, as was Compass, as a precaution. During this few hours period we received both emails and phone calls from both a teacher and an administrator letting us know the situation; all was handled very professionally. Compass is not cheap, but no good preschool is. We are very happy with our decision to send our kids there and feel they're getting a great head start on their education.

The Compass School 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
I absolutely love the Compass school! My son has been going there since he was 4 months old. His teachers are so amazing and do a great job working on all elements of development. I feel like they go above and beyond on a daily bases. For example, I receive daily e-mails about what my son is doing along with pictures. I can t say enough good things about this wonderful daycare!!!! I feel like they are my second family!!


The Compass School 0
no rating

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
My kid has been going to the preschool in Compass for the past one year. I found the old management very good. The new staff are disorganized and inefficient. Some of the teachers are very good and care a lot for the kids. You have to be lucky to get the right teacher. Luckily my kids had a very nice teacher and they had an amazing learning experience. As long as your child has a good teacher- Compass will work well for you.

The Compass School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children at the compass school and they are now in preschool and have been there since they were 4 months old. I have to agree that the previous director and administrative staff was not receptive or open. The new director and administrative staff have been nothing short of amazing! We debated pulling our children out of the compass school previously because of their unwillingness to work through issues of biting and telling us that our children were experiencing developmental delays and should be tested (what a nightmare to hear that!). Anyway, we had our children tested and they were exactly where they needed to be! I feel the teachers and administrative staff now in place truly love all of the children and have a zest for learning and sharing with the children. I would recommend compass to other parents.

The Compass School 0
no rating

Posted November 21, 2008
- a parent
My son has been at Compass for 3 yrs now, and it has been a wonderful experience. They engage with the kids at their level, and help them to develop the social and academic skills they need. They are truly caring people who LOVE kids, and lavish them with plenty of affection and support. They believe and support the Reggio philosophies. While there have been ups and downs in our experience, most would have come with any facility - it's part of childhood and the child care environment (biters, potty training, hyper activity, etc.). While there were some rough patches with prior administration, the recent changes in administration, and some teacher changes have all definitely helped to improve the center, and to get it back on track. We are sending our 2nd child to Compass and look forward to seeing both of our children continue to grow within the Compass family.


The Compass School 2

Posted June 10, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

The Compass School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
I have sent two children to Compass also. The administration is very easy to work with and responsive. My older son certainly does not 'fit any mold' and continues to have a wonderful experience there.

The Compass School 1

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
We had the opposite experience of the previous reviewer. Compass seems perfect for children who 'fit the mold.' However, our child, who behaved outside the staff's seemingly limited realm of understanding, was practically ostracized. We were told some outright mistruths about their willingness to work with us to get our child through these behavioral issues. I've steered serveral people away from this place. It was a nightmare!


The Compass School 5

Posted May 24, 2007
- a parent
I have sent two children to the Compass School. Both students were challenged, loved and encouraged to be their best selves while at Compass. Compass School is the most professional establishment I have found for daycare in Columbus. I visited almost 13 schools when looking for daycare for my children and no where else were they so well educated on child development and so willing to work with me to have a positive experience. The teachers are outstanding - most with 4 year degrees in child development - they provided non-stop encouragement, hugs, kisses and direction to my children. I consider Compass family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Compass School
3989 North Hampton Drive, Powell, OH  43065
(614) 764-8844
Last modified The Compass School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
The Compass School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top