Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
280 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dublin Community Pre-School 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I love DCP! It is a wonderful school that has provided my three kids a truly great preschool experience! The staff, director, assistant director are amazing. My kids have come out ready for kindergarten-- while having fun, learning, and making friends! It is really the best around!

Dublin Community Pre-School 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a student
Dublin Community Preschool is a wonderful school, the teachers and staff truly care about your child. This school offers long term staff, experienced office staff and enrichment programs. They partner with the Dublin Food Pantry, where the children learn a valuable lesson in giving to the needy, measuring the food given and all around a good life lesson. I have been involved and around other childcare centers, Dublin Community Preschool has and continues to exceed all of my expectations! This is the preschool, you want your child/children to grow and learn.


Dublin Community Pre-School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
My family is in our 6th year at Dublin Community Preschool and there isn't any other preschool I would have picked for my children. The teachers are very caring, enthusiastic and provide feedback on my child on a regular basis. I receive a weekly e-mail from the teachers letting me know what was learned in their classroom that week. My oldest daughter was very well prepared for kindergarten and I see the same progress in my youngest child. In addition to time in the classroom, my children have been exposed to movement, music, Spanish and fieldtrips. It is a well rounded preschool experience and, most importantly, my kids are excited to go everyday.

Dublin Community Pre-School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
My first kid has been there going on 3 years now, having started as a 2-year old, and she absolutely thrived in each class. My 2nd kid just started in that same 2-year-old class, and now she can't wait to kick us out the door when we drop her off. Before sending her here, she was as shy as they come. The school is friendly, clean, multi-cultural, and there's absolutely nothing "snooty" about it. That was one of my mandatory selection criteria when we originally moved here -- no "private school brats" in our family... The teachers have all been excellent each year, and every single one clearly knows how to keep a class in control and on track with the learning plan. I've even seen a couple of kids (that I honestly did NOT want around mine at first) get completely turned around in the course of a few weeks. So I guess they schooled ME a bit too... Volunteerism is alive and well here, with parents of all walks of life joining in for various events throughout the year. Everyone is smiling and friendly during pickup & dropoff every time I've been there. The results speak for themselves: Two completely different daughters, two perfect outcomes. If we have a third, we'll send that one too.

Dublin Community Pre-School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I've personally met each of my kids' teachers each year. Solid work across the board.


Dublin Community Pre-School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
My 2nd kid used to growl and give up when knocking over blocks or having problems with Duplos, etc... Now she persists until her task is done. NOTE: This site's editing controls aren't working -- this was supposed to read "STRONGLY AGREE."

Dublin Community Pre-School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Effective administration is key to any organization, and it shows in this case. The administrator here runs a tight ship.

Dublin Community Pre-School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
There's not homework per se, but both kids routinely ask for their art kits to continue drawing/painting/coloring/etc. when they get home -- i.e., the same things they had learned during the day. I've also routinely seen the older of the two practicing writing skills beyond what I've taught her, with no prompting from me.


Dublin Community Pre-School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I'm in my 2nd year with DCP and love it. My kids enjoy their teachers, and I love the open communication between the parents and what's going on in the classroom. They were the only preschool I found with a 2 year old program as well, and with 3 summer birthday babies, I really was excited about this offering.

Dublin Community Pre-School 2

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Removed my child from this preschool after a little over a year there. I found it to be a very negative environment, with burned out teachers and a student-to- ratio that, while technically meeting licensing requirements, is too high for the children to get much individual attention. Accident reports were being filled out on a daily basis by harried teachers who spent more time gossiping about the "poorly behaved" kids in their charge than they did interacting with them. Also, there are many children there who speak very little English and the staff is not really prepared to handle them. This can create difficult classroom dynamics because these children don't understand the teachers and this is a problem, especially when these children act out because of unmet needs, as all preschoolers do at times. Also, the school has no dedicated indoor playroom, which is a huge problem during Ohio's long winters. The preschool uses the church's social hall, which half the time is set up with tables and chairs and so the teachers must drag out of storage what little play equipment they have for the children each day. This means that on some days, when the teachers are too tired to bring out the equipment, the children simply end up playing in an empty room, with predictable results - chaos, crying and injuries from out of control children falling down and running into each other. Furthermore, the lead teacher my child had during the beginning of our second year there had no control over the classroom at all, but blamed it on the children in her care. She responded by refusing to do any structured activities of any kind with the kids and simply let them run wild in the classroom. I pulled my child as a result, found another preschool and proceeded to have a wonderful experience there. The problem is not my child or your child, it's this preschool. Stay away.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dublin Community Pre-School
81 1/2 West Bridge Street, Dublin, OH  43017
(614) 889-0052
Last modified Dublin Community Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Dublin Community Pre-School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top