Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
I have been wanting to write about how wonderful Hugs-N-Hearts is for a while. All 3 of my children have attended Hugs from the time they were 18 months old. I now have a schoolager, a pre-K child, and a toddler (yikes!). I am thankful everyday that, as a working mother, I have the opportunity to have my children at Hugs. The warm and cozy facilities, the friendly staff, and the professional environment are just the tip of the iceberg. I know that children learn when they are playing and interacting, and Hugs facilitates this development like no other center. My older children were more than prepared for elementary school at Olentangy. Importantly, they were prepared academically and socially, with a love for learning that was fostered by their teachers at Hugs. My husband, my children, and I are so happy be a part of the program at Hugs-N-Hearts.

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 1

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
My daughters attended Hugs until they finished their PreK program. My first child had a wonderful experience there in 2011-12. She learned a lot in their PreK program and was very prepared for school. A major change happened after their Director, Bonnie left in Spring 2012. My youngest PreK experience in 2012-13 wasn't enriching at all. She spent more time watching movies than learning throughout the day. The themed learning calendar that my oldest had in PreK wasn't used. They brag about the cooking experiences and the theater at Hugs Campus that your child will do, but not the learning. My tuition was wasted that year. It's not a learning center, but more of a babysitter instead. Thank goodness I was able to have my mom watch her during her off days in Olentangy Kindergarten because the Hugs Campus is horrible. After experiencing it with my oldest, I learned my lesson. They let them play all day and complete PreK worksheets. My daughter hated it and begged us not to send her, but we both work and she only attended twice a week. If you're going to spend $200 a week, at least get your money's worth at a daycare that enriches your child and not babysits them.


Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
I would recommend Hugs and Hearts to everyone I know. My son is so happy there and wants to go to school even on off days. He is always singing songs he learns at school. He is so excited about books and learning; I love it. They are creating a love of learning over there!!! They also provide specials that my son loves, computer, Spanish, and gym class. He gets so excited to see Mr. Riley!! I've seen many other centers and none of them hold a candle to the warm, cozy, home like feel of Hugs and Hearts. Excellent school!!!

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
I've been taking our daughter to Hugs-N-Hearts for a year and a half now, and am excited for our son to start next month (when he's eighteen months). The staff is so caring and every time I "pop in" during the day (I work chose by) my child is always engaging in activities and the teachers always seem to be interacting with her and the other children. I'm loving that they're now serving more fruits and veggies for snack, as well! I recommend this center to all of my friends!

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 2

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter has been enrolled in hugs for 3 years. It has been the only daycare we used so we didn't know what others were like. I went with my sister to help her pick a daycare for her newborn since the baby is too young for hugs (starts 18months). I would definitely say go look around before choosing! After comparing hugs to other centers, I realize its not nearly as clean or organized as some other places you could go. There is learning curriculum for the toddlers at other places that my daughter was never given here. Hugs is more if a 'go play outside and have fun' center than a learning center. That can be good sometimes, but its wearing on us. I don't know if all of these glowing reviews that pop up right after any negative ones are real parents or employees, but I can tell you for certain that its just not for everyone. I asked Pam (owner) about more learning and she was defensive and did not really seem open to feedback. For us, it's time to move on.


Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 1

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
Had a terrible experience here. Lots of unhealthy snacks (cookies and garbage) and tons of tv watching for the toddlers. Barely better than hiring a high school babysitter. The tour of the facility sold us, but then none of the great services or playrooms in the tour were available for our child once we actually enrolled him. There is very little education happening here. Don't waste your time.

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
It breaks my heart to see the negative comments about Hugs-n-Hearts. . I too have two children . With my second I would never have thought to go anywhere else. All extra curricular activities are still included. I have been told my oldest child's 1st grade teacher that she was well prepared by the private Kindergarten she attended at Hugs too. Hugs has such a warm, welcoming staff and environment. Anyone is crazy to think there is anywhere that is better.

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends Hugs n Hearts as a full time student. The teachers are caring and loving. I work close by, so I drop in often to say 'hi'. Every time, she is engaging in activities with the teachers and other students. She enjoys being at schools and usually does not wish to leave in the evening. I do not know what I would do without the love and support my child receives from this school. I know she is getting the best education and love possible when she is there!


Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
I've had nothing but positive experiance with H&H. The teachers are loving and the kids are exposed to so much more. My child was at another school but they had no extra activities outside their classroom like cook lessons/ computer room/ muscle room/theater. Its nice to know in the winter months when outside play isn't an option they won't spend all day long in one room. The kids are happy to go everyday!

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
I am extremely surprised and disappointed by the most recent negtive reviews of Hugs n Hearts. I have had one child or another in their care since 2004 and have had an absolutely WONDERFUL experience. From the professionalism and training of their teachers to the creative activities and offerings to the loving and nurturing environment, Hugs is first class in every way. I have popped in for surprise visits, attended field trips and volunteered my time there and NEVER have I had any concerns of the safety and/or well-being of my child. You are treated as a true partner there in the educational, social and emotional development of your child. As a mother AND and an educator myself, What more could you possibly ask for?? (And, by the way, Spanish and computer programs ARE still in place and the indoor large muscle area was replaced by a state of the art gymnasium in the "campus" building next door that ALL classes have access too!)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center
8989 Antares Avenue, Columbus, OH  43240
(614) 848-6777
Last modified Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Hugs N Hearts Early Learning Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews.