Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 3

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends this location. Previously she was in another daycare that I was disappointed with. So far, it's an okay daycare. Staff is friendly and there seems to be a reasonable diversity among children. This is a 4 star so it won't have the same standards as a Goddard School or Brighter Horizons, so it wouldn't be fair to compare to that place. The good parts are that the staff seems nice (I have not had any issues with them), equipment seems to be updated fairly often, and central location. The stuff I am not particularly fond of is use of too many packaged foods, closed off classrooms (children learn by watching other children), and I get the feeling the staff just isn't quite up to par for education levels I would expect. One parent commented to me that this is a daycare, and that is all I should expect. So maybe I do expect too much? Overall, I would recommend this place for a daycare. If you plan on sending your child to a private school for 1st grade, they will likely have a little catching up to do, but your child will be perfectly fine for public school.

Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 5

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a child who attended this center until she left for Kindergarten, I am in total disagreement with the two recent posts. I can say our experience and that of many other families we know was very positive. We found the owners in particular to be friendly and accommodating from the beginning! We felt comfortable with them and could tell they truly cared about their center, staff, and the children. While she was there the owners had Smart Boards put in which were great, and they added Spanish and music classes too at no additional cost so the comments about the owners spending habits seem misguided. Most importantly the teachers my daughter had from toddlers on up were amazing, and we feel she was very well prepared academically for school. I would agree with menu improvements, but overall all the good way outweighs anything else. We would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for childcare.


Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
I have had two daughters here (one current and one now 8yrs). To be honest, I am shocked by some of the reviews. This is a 1st rate daycare. We were at a different place prior to this one, so I can appreciate what we have, including: *The teachers are very involved and always coming up with fun things, such as wearing pjs to school for a Polar Express party. *Extracurricular activities during the school day so you don't have to take them elsewhere. Includes soccer and dance. We do dance and love it ($32.50/mo). *The regular curriculum is good. My 8 yr old was v. well prepared for Kindergarten. *The 2 owners are very involved and care very much about you and your child. Oldest daughter has food allergies. Owners personally reviewed all foods and provided alternative for foods she couldn't have. *Pro-rated part time schedules *Summer camp - Each week is a different summer theme. Lots of activities such as pony rides, bounce castle, and basketball performer. My negatives: fresher foods, less frozen, more milk; others say they call a lot when kids are not really sick, but this has never happened to me. Owners are strict but fair about business/money matters.

Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends Kiddie Academy of Brier Creek and we could not be happier. The teachers are great and really seem to care about our daughter and her well being. The owners have been fantastic and very flexible with our needs. They are the only school in the area that we talked to that was willing to accomodate a part time schedule and an unusual part time schedule at that; Tuesday - Thursday. We were at another daycare prior to finding Kiddie Academy that we were not happy with at all so finding the folks here has been a blessing. I did not want to leave my infant daughter with anyone but I have really come to trust Kiddie Academy and feel comfortable with their level of care.

Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 5

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
Best school in the area hands down. Great care, great Teachers, great Director and onsite owners who are very involved. The very low turnover in teachers speaks volumes about the place. We LOVE it! We have two kids there and couldn't be happier.


Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
This day care is terrible. The owners are very rude and even called me at my office to harrass and threaten me regarding payment when in fact we have never given them an indication that we were not going to pay. We placed our infant here and his needs were not met as he was rountinely left in the corner crying for long periods of time without frequent diaper changes. As a family law attorney attorney who frequently is asked by clients for day care referrals I will make sure to never reccomend this school to anyone.

Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went to Kiddie Academy Brier Creek from age 2 to 5 and she loved it. The staff is very friendly and caring. The building was secure and they had safety drills as well as cameras so you can watch your little one from work. She learned a lot while she was there. It is very structured and organized. The food was healthy. The location is convenient. I would highly recommend Kiddie Academy Brier Creek.

Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a community member
I totally agree with the first parent's review when she talks about how the school to her, seems to be much too focused on making money and filling up open slots. And I was not surprised when I read how the owners reacted to her when she addressed them with her concerns. I've seen it myself. However, I do believe that this school is filled with a lot of great teachers, who are actually dedicated to teaching young children. This is why many parents love Kiddie Academy, and will pay the ridiculous tuition that goes up every year. It is what goes on behind closed doors that I wouldn't recommend this school. This may or may not be important to you as a parent, but it should. The best advice that I can give to parents and future applicants, is everything that glitters isn't Gold.


Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek 2

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
First let me start by saying the positive things about this daycare. It is very clean and modern. The center does also have online vidoe cameras in which you can watch your child daily. They also have weekly extracurricular classes in which you can pay $30 for your child to take dance, soccer, or gymnastics! Truely these are the only positive things that I can say about this place. Now on to the negative aspects of this daycare. The school to me seems to be much too focused on making money and filling up open slots. The two year odll classroom had almost 20 children enrolled with 3 teachers. Yes this does fit within the appropriate ratio guidelines but the classroom was always chaotic. There are so many children that it caused the teachers to never spend a second one on one with any child. I watched my 2 year old on camera wandering around alone with no interaction or engaging for 8 hours. The teachers only approached her to take her to the bathroom room or to plop her in the carpet for story time or to plop her in a chair for a meal. The remainder of the day was more like 'free play' all day. There were rarely any structured activities, instead the children would just move around the room picking different toys to play with. I was told that there wa sso much teaching and structured things for the children to do during the day and this never happened. This daycare is also the opposite of nurturing. I specifically told them that my family had recently moved and my daughter had experienced a lot of changes and may need some extra encouragement. The director assured me that this would not be a problem, however after watching the video the teachers did nothing to encourage her or nurture. The teachers did the bare minimum in caring for my child. She never got any attention in general except in the morning when being dropped off which was all a 'show' for my husband and by the time we got back to work and checked the on line camera she was sitting on the carpet or at a table alone. When I spoke with the owner about my concerns she told me that they don't do one on one interaction and that I should hire a nanny for this! I was so shocked at her tone and reaction to me, this was cming from people that claim to love children. To top all of this off after only the second day my daugthers teacher approaced me about something and made me feel very uncomfortable, so I wrote a letter to the director. The director spoke with the teacher and the following days after this incident my daughters teacher ignored me at pick up and did not communicate with me at all about her day. I could write a book about their awful customer service and lack of training, all I can say is do not let the pretty building lure you in like it did me! They will tell you what you want to hear and take your money and then treat your child as if she is invisible! I recommend that you stay away! The best part about the place is the camera because it helped me to see that my child was not being taken care of!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek
9920 Sellona Street, Raleigh, NC  27617
(919) 536-7100
Last modified Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek is a Private school that serves grade PK
Kiddie Academy Of Brier Creek Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.