Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Countryside Montessori School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
They don't give homework in the toddler building. But as a parent I would like activities I could do at home to reinforce what is being done in the classroom.

Countryside Montessori School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Maybe not grit but they definitely teach persistence and determination. The kids are expected to do a lot for themselves and they won't know how a lot of times but the teachers continue encouraging them try until they do.


Countryside Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Where I have seen this the most is in the accountability of the older students for the younger students. The 5 and 6 year olds are the leaders in the classroom and they not only look out for the younger students but they even teach them the things. The 5 yr olds look forward to being the role models in the class.

Countryside Montessori School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
We have been nothing but pleased with our son's experience. We relocated from out of state and tried other schools before this one and they were not a good fit for our son and his learning style. I love the Montessori saying of never do for a child what they can do for themselves. We noticed an immediate difference and have seen continued growth. The teachers take an active interest in my son. They provide detailed updates on what he is doing well in and what areas they are continuing to work on. They spend one on one time with each student working at their level. One size doesn't fit all and Countryside has found a way to customize my child's educational experience and make it enjoyable for him.

Countryside Montessori School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The lead and assistant toddler teachers at Countryside Montessori have been an immense resource for my family. I have learned to connect more with my son and accept behavior that is developmentally age appropriate. It is a peaceful and respectful environment where children thrive because their natural learning is led by their interests- without the interruption of being overly directed. My son is very social and has made numerous friends from different backgrounds. The multi-cultural demographic is a tribute to the school’s welcoming atmosphere.


Countryside Montessori School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
Both my children have been attending the children's house since they were 3. It just amazes me how happy they are at school. My son only cried a little bit the first day he went to school because of the new environment. He has been happy since. Both my children have learned so much academically and socially. I want to point out how diverse the curriculum is and how they are presented in a very child friendly montessori way. I can't think of any better environment for my children to be. The staff and teachers are very nice and helpful. It's true that the school has been through a lot of changes and the administrators are doing their best to accommodate students and parents' need.

Countryside Montessori School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended Countryside for almost two years now. I couldn't be happier with the way he has blossomed at this school. Their staff and teachers are tremendous. He is biracial and has never experienced discrimination by any teacher/staff that I am aware of. He is very happy there and can read several grade levels beyond his expected target. Went to his class yesterday and this 8 year old is sharing his research project and it has Venn Diagrams on it. Great school.

Countryside Montessori School 3

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
This school has been going through many changes including several changes in staff and administration (2010-2013). Currently has an interim director but financial situation is also a challenge. The upper elementary new director is young and inexperienced and seems to be focused on discipline and not embracing the Montessori teaching philosophy. Lot's of families leaving the school. Our kids will be leaving school at the end of this year.


Countryside Montessori School 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
My sons attend Countryside--one is in his second year of preschool and the other is in 2nd grade. I can't say enough about the high quality curriculum, caring teachers, lessons on grace and acceptance that the environment fosters, and the personal care and security my children have felt since the day they walked through the door. My 8-year-old is a special needs student, with perfect mental ability but fairly compromised physical abilities. Countryside has nurtured his fine motor skills development, basic life skills development (dressing, shoe tying, buttoning, etc), and he is excelling, confident in his ability to do everything his friends do in his very own way. The care with which they have helped support his need for social integration has been nothing short of remarkable--I can't imagine being as satisfied in a public school setting. As a result, my older son is smart, confident and happy. And my youngest is thriving as well. He was reading chapter books by the time he turned 5, and his teachers have amazed me with their patient ability to recognize and nurture his sometimes aggressive need for stimulus and learning. I can't say enough about this terrific school.

Countryside Montessori School 5

Posted April 14, 2007
- a parent
We moved to Charlotte from Nashville where our girls were in Montessori from age 3. We were delighted to find Countryside with its hige degree of parent involvement, great history with Standford Acheivement scores, fairly stable teacher retention, and families which helped us feel at home and adjust to our new home town. The PE and sports activities are great for a school of this size. Drama and art are developing, but the biggest draw is the strong adademic prep in a low-pressure setting.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Countryside Montessori School
4755 Prosperity Church Road, Charlotte, NC  28269
(704) 503-6000
Last modified Countryside Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Countryside Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top