Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
I agree with a previous reviewer in that the 3s and 4s classes are most definitely confused. My colleagues have children who are also 3-4 at different schools and they appear to have stronger and more advanced curriculums.I loved the 2s teachers at CDC but the 3s and 4s leave a lot to be desired.CDC's focus on religion is a bit too excessive for me.A couple of the teachers are really old and conservative and I sometimes wonder if my son would be better or the same staying with grandma.I was thrilled when we started there but I may need to look elsewhere.

Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
In response to the review below, you can call it a toddler room or a 2 year old room but the fact is my daughter would have been 2 this december and remained in the same classroom (without a bathroom) until August 2014. As I understand it, all the children in her class would have been 2 by Jan 2014 and be w/o immediate bathroom access until Aug. She is at a different school now and moves from transitional toddler to the young 2s room (with a bathroom) when she turns 2. We left Calvary because of their leadership staff and how they responded to feedback. We were fortunate to move on to what I think is an all around better program. I was always ok with Calvary teachers but my daughter now has more tools and learning opportunities available to her than she had at Calvary. At her new school parents are able to access daily lesson plans online so they can support the teachings at home. You can also follow your child's progress and activities online. It feels like a true school here with focus on teaching rather than a daycare. Teachers are educated, licensed & experienced! The director has an open door policy and WANTS to hear feedback. They even have cameras in the classroom.


Calvary Child Development Center 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Calvary since she was 8 months old and we've had awesome experiences every year Unfortunately the reviewer below is not correct - a 20 month old is actually in a Toddler room, not a 2 year old room. All 2 year old rooms have potties and the teachers ACTIVELY work with parents to potty-train from day 1. There is only 1 Toddler room that has a potty and the teachers cannot break ratio (take a potty trained child out of the room). My daughter has been welcomed with open arms and hugs EVERY day since she entered the program and we've been very happy. Compared to other kids her age, she very advanced - she knew all of her colors, letters, numbers (even in Spanish) by the time she entered the 2's program. Unfortunately some do not have good experiences, but I encourage you to come and observe, which I did 3 times before making the decision to send our daughter there. I'm very happy with our decision.

Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Calvary CDC needs new leadership who are open to feedback and change. I was shocked that the 2 year old room did not have a bathroom or offer potty training the entire year. My daughter has shown interest in potty training for months now but I wanted to wait and align with the school. The teacher was very apologetic and informed it's an issue every year. I escalated the matter to the program director - Pat Collins - who was EXTREMELY defensive and condescending. She stated she had loads more experience in childcare than I did and NO child at that age shows interest in potty training and can be potty trained (my daughter was 20 months at the time). I argued EVERY child is different and the program should foster and be flexible for the varied developments of each child. She the said I shouldn't push my child!?! She clearly does not listen and doesn't want to hear anything negative about the program...HER program. She also said "Then maybe this program is not right for your child." In the last couple months, Pat made the same comments to other parents who were concerned about the lack of security and raised the issue with Pat. A few families left immediately.

Calvary Child Development Center 1

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
Calvary CDC has a great 2 year old program but the 3 year old program is confused to say the least. It is neither good for play time or academics, instead the children spend all of their time moving from classroom to classroom. If you have any problems here you will have to change schools as nobody wants to listen and they are not willing to change anything. They are only relying on a reputation from previous years, when the school was good. I can only recommend the 2 year old program.


Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
We have two currently enrolled, and have found the academics lack luster to say the least. The staff and teachers are very loving and nurturing, and our children come home recounting bibles stories and christian songs with ease. Unfortunately, we are are quite disappointed with the minimal focus on encouraging academic development in light of the high tuition costs. Of course learning begins at home, but my husband and I find that we are introducing concepts to our 3yr old that many 2year olds have mastered at other acclaimed facilities. As the other reviews have stated, if you are looking for a daycare it is fine, but if you are looking for your child to be academically engaged find another facility. We are looking to move on!

Calvary Child Development Center 1

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
If you are looking for a babysitter,they are fine. If you are looking for someone to educate your child and help them grow...do not choose calvary. Worst excuse for a child learning center. Teachers sit in corner and don't interact with kids. They want to herd every kid into their ideal easy mold. Are not honest with parents and do not communicate at all. They should embarrassed to call themselves an educational daycare center.

Calvary Child Development Center 3

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
We had a great experience our first year at the school but the second year was not so great. Bear in mind that 80% of the teachers do not have any kind of degree or certification to teach and most are quite bit older with their kids already grown. I found this to be a disadvantage as many didn't seem to want to work with kids who were high energy or curious. I think their only qualification for a teacher is that they meet the "religious standards" of the church. When my daughter started saying things like "God says that's bad, " instead of learning her numbers, I knew it was time to move on. I think they are relying on a reputation that they have built but can't necessarily deliver on any more.


Calvary Child Development Center 5

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
Calvary is wonderful! The teachers in my son's room have been AMAZING! This is the first time I have left my son and he is always welcomed into the room with smiles and hugs. He LOVES his teachers. I am so thankful for a facility where the staff is not just dedicated in serving the children, but in serving Christ first and foremost. Thank you preschool teachers! You have blessed our family more than you know!

Calvary Child Development Center 5

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
We have had 3 children attend the preschool and 1 through kindergarden. We absolutely love it. The teachers give so much love and attention to the children and the learn alot about the bible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Child Development Center
5801 Pineville-Matthews Road, Charlotte, NC  28226
(704) 543-1200
Last modified Calvary Child Development Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Calvary Child Development Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.