Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Child Development Center 5

Posted March 18, 2015
- a teacher
We would like to invite you to see for yourself exactly what we offer at Calvary Child Development Center. No single program is ever going to meet the needs of every child and every family, but we do our very best to meet the needs of the individual children we care for. We provide age-appropriate activities that line up with the most current research-based early childhood practices, and look at developing a whole child, rather than putting a focus on any one area of development. We know at a young age, children have many needs outside of academics in order to succeed in elementary school and well beyond. Many windows of opportunity to develop many key life skills are open only at this early level of development from birth to 5. We are aware of these opportunities and try to capitalize on this critical time of brain growth and development with our curriculum & our specialized classes. Children are exposed to rich rewarding experiences where they learn STEM concepts (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math), hear rich vocabulary, build social, emotional and motor skills, literacy skills and much more. Please stop in and we would be glad to give you a tour and answer your questions.

Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
My son went there for 2s and for sometime in 3s class till i finally fond a spot in a better preschool. The curriculum is extremely outdated , its more of a daycare than a school . Apart from bible they don't teach the kids anything , playtime is limited and if your kid is shy the just ignore him . If you are not a member of the church , you will feel like an alien . every week they have a useless party which means unnecessary running around and expenses . i would rather they concentrate on teaching kids basic stuff like letters , numbers , how to spell their names , what to do if they get lost etc. i will not recommend this school to anyone .
2 people found this helpful


Calvary Child Development Center 1

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Horrible experience. Our child was asked not to come back for a month until we figured out his "medical issues". Despite the fact that we had medical clearance and we had a medical diagnosis...which by the way were migraines. If your child ever has or had any medical issues beware. Just for the record...the only time he ever had any medical issues was when he was at their facility.
1 person found this helpful

Calvary Child Development Center 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
We have 3 little ones, and have been fortunate to have had 2 at the Calvary CDC so far. My 4 year old is at Calvary now. He goes to school excited EVERY day. He is happy but tired when I pick him up. At home, he surprises us often with reciting letters and counting (without being prompted). He requests and sings along Calvary songs in the car. His teachers are loving, and very kind. The fact that many of them have been with the center for years, means to me experience and patience with the kids, as well as job satisfaction I would rather have my children learn from someone who loves what they do and is happy with where they work vs being at a high turnover and therefore younger teacher center. My 9 year old was at Calvary CDC, when little. We stopped by Calvary, when registering my younger son, so my oldest had a chance to visit with his 4-s teacher. She remembered all the little special things about my son, so that when we left, he told me that it was so good to see his old teacher, because it made me feel so warm inside to see her . From my standpoint, I will move mountains to surround my little guys with teachers like that.
1 person found this helpful

Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
I agree with a previous reviewer in that the 3s and 4s classes are most definitely confused. My colleagues have children who are also 3-4 at different schools and they appear to have stronger and more advanced curriculums.I loved the 2s teachers at CDC but the 3s and 4s leave a lot to be desired.CDC's focus on religion is a bit too excessive for me.A couple of the teachers are really old and conservative and I sometimes wonder if my son would be better or the same staying with grandma.I was thrilled when we started there but I may need to look elsewhere.
1 person found this helpful


Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
In response to the review below, you can call it a toddler room or a 2 year old room but the fact is my daughter would have been 2 this december and remained in the same classroom (without a bathroom) until August 2014. As I understand it, all the children in her class would have been 2 by Jan 2014 and be w/o immediate bathroom access until Aug. She is at a different school now and moves from transitional toddler to the young 2s room (with a bathroom) when she turns 2. We left Calvary because of their leadership staff and how they responded to feedback. We were fortunate to move on to what I think is an all around better program. I was always ok with Calvary teachers but my daughter now has more tools and learning opportunities available to her than she had at Calvary. At her new school parents are able to access daily lesson plans online so they can support the teachings at home. You can also follow your child's progress and activities online. It feels like a true school here with focus on teaching rather than a daycare. Teachers are educated, licensed & experienced! The director has an open door policy and WANTS to hear feedback. They even have cameras in the classroom.
4 people found this helpful

Calvary Child Development Center 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Calvary since she was 8 months old and we've had awesome experiences every year Unfortunately the reviewer below is not correct - a 20 month old is actually in a Toddler room, not a 2 year old room. All 2 year old rooms have potties and the teachers ACTIVELY work with parents to potty-train from day 1. There is only 1 Toddler room that has a potty and the teachers cannot break ratio (take a potty trained child out of the room). My daughter has been welcomed with open arms and hugs EVERY day since she entered the program and we've been very happy. Compared to other kids her age, she very advanced - she knew all of her colors, letters, numbers (even in Spanish) by the time she entered the 2's program. Unfortunately some do not have good experiences, but I encourage you to come and observe, which I did 3 times before making the decision to send our daughter there. I'm very happy with our decision.
1 person found this helpful

Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Calvary CDC needs new leadership who are open to feedback and change. I was shocked that the 2 year old room did not have a bathroom or offer potty training the entire year. My daughter has shown interest in potty training for months now but I wanted to wait and align with the school. The teacher was very apologetic and informed it's an issue every year. I escalated the matter to the program director - Pat Collins - who was EXTREMELY defensive and condescending. She stated she had loads more experience in childcare than I did and NO child at that age shows interest in potty training and can be potty trained (my daughter was 20 months at the time). I argued EVERY child is different and the program should foster and be flexible for the varied developments of each child. She the said I shouldn't push my child!?! She clearly does not listen and doesn't want to hear anything negative about the program...HER program. She also said "Then maybe this program is not right for your child." In the last couple months, Pat made the same comments to other parents who were concerned about the lack of security and raised the issue with Pat. A few families left immediately.
4 people found this helpful


Calvary Child Development Center 1

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
Calvary CDC has a great 2 year old program but the 3 year old program is confused to say the least. It is neither good for play time or academics, instead the children spend all of their time moving from classroom to classroom. If you have any problems here you will have to change schools as nobody wants to listen and they are not willing to change anything. They are only relying on a reputation from previous years, when the school was good. I can only recommend the 2 year old program.
2 people found this helpful

Calvary Child Development Center 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
We have two currently enrolled, and have found the academics lack luster to say the least. The staff and teachers are very loving and nurturing, and our children come home recounting bibles stories and christian songs with ease. Unfortunately, we are are quite disappointed with the minimal focus on encouraging academic development in light of the high tuition costs. Of course learning begins at home, but my husband and I find that we are introducing concepts to our 3yr old that many 2year olds have mastered at other acclaimed facilities. As the other reviews have stated, if you are looking for a daycare it is fine, but if you are looking for your child to be academically engaged find another facility. We are looking to move on!
3 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Child Development Center
5801 Pineville-Matthews Road, Charlotte, NC  28226
(704) 543-1200
Last modified Calvary Child Development Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Calvary Child Development Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top