Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommending sending your child to Bronxville Montessori. The directors (I use the word loosely) are rude, uncaring, and barely present. The school is run so poorly, and in fact, children breathed in paint fumes for a week while school was under repair. While there is a handful of qualified, lovely teachers, the majority are unprofessional and untrained. While they call themselves a "Montessori" school I would not trust that all of the teachers, and assistants hold any type of Montessori training certification. This school is an over priced daycare, at best, and the facilities are poor and unkempt. Also, the parent involvement is non-existent and the school does nothing to encourage parents to become involved. Our experience fell far below expectations we have for our child's education and personal growth.

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
As a parent making that decision to where to send your child for his or her first time experience of preschool can be very hard. As a mother I can say Bronxville Montessori is a home away from home!!! All the teachers are warm and loving and caring to each child. The administration is just as welcoming and willing to give any information you need. I wouldn't recommend this school to any patent that wants his or her child to have an amazing first experience for preschool!!


Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is thriving at this school. She is understood, well cared for and is developing in all areas. I agree with some of the posts about the administrators but the teachers, in my opinion, are amazing. I particularly love Ms. Melissa and Ms. Deborah. My daughter comes home each week with wonderful things that she created through class projects.

Bronxville Montessori School 4

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Our middle child added this school a few years ago. It was the only full day programme in the area which we needed at the time. Granted the facilities are not the most impressive in the area, but they are clean, functional and work. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her time at the school. There may be better 1/2 day options but we were very satified with the experience here.

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
I currently have 2 children in BMS and we couldn't be happier. Both of my children have been coming here since they were 18 months old. As far as the potty training, it all can't be blamed on the teacher, kids get so consumed in what's going on around them, they often forget to tell you or they deny that even have to go. What makes this school so priceless, is that my husband and I drop our girls off at school and never have to worry a second in the day about how they are doing. I truly love the way ALL of the staff treats my girls.


Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
We came from an AMI montessori school so that explains some of the difference but this school seemed more like daycare than a school to us when we toured it and the facilities were depressing. We ended up going to another school so a current parent may have a different view

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted December 18, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the post mentioning the problem with the potty trained kid. My 2 and 1/2 year old has been going to Ms. Violet's class since he was 18 month old, and he too hasn't had any accidents at home, nor when we travel. In school, however, he wets his pants and shoes all the time and I don't know if they don't have time to bring the child in the potty promptly, or whether the child is intimidated and/or scared and has continuous accidents. At first we had a great experience with Ms. Violet and her assistant teachers, but with time we are realizing that they lack the skills to teach and handle children above 2 (especially if they are potty trained). Instead of progressing, my son is regressing and simply is NOT happy in that class. Some administrators are so unprofessional that it's almost painful to have to deal with them over the phone or in person. You always get the feeling that if you address an issue or raise a concern, that they'd take it on your child. The atmosphere is never inviting and I'm considering changing schools immediately.

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted December 15, 2012
- a parent
The administrators are horrible - only after their money. The teachers are not sharp and conflict each other. Did not like the way they handled separation for my daughter when I first enrolled her and took her out after two weeks. She was not happy. The assistant teacher always smelled like cigarettes and did not talk to kids like a professional. It was a very boring like automosphere when I observed unlike his last school where we moved from where it was generally lively upbeat automosphere. Do not put ur kid here if it's their first time.


Bronxville Montessori School 2

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
My 2-yr old was in Ms Violet's class. I read the reviews here before i sent my daughter to this class,but i was so disappointed. She was very well potty trained at home and she never had an accident at home eihter. However, she always had wet pants and shoes from school, every week, even the last week of the semester. several times, yes, more than once, her wet pants and shoes just got lost and the teachers didn't have an idea where they went. I don't know why this could happen several times with a 3 teacher to 12 students class. Also I think this simply means they are not taking their responsibilities. I'm not sure if it's the case for other classes, but for this class, the teachers are very reluctant to have parents visiting the classs, even on the school's "parent day" when parents are supposed to be welcome to come in. it just didn't feel right. we switched to another school one year later, and my daughter told me she loves the other school which she never said so for Violet's class.

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
My 3 yr old daughter has been attending Bronxville Montessori School since she was 18 months. As a working mom, there is nothing more stressfull then trying to find a loving environment for your child for when you are at work . I could tell instantly that Bronxville Montessori was the environment I was looking for. The teachers are great with the kids and teach them everything from being kind to each other to picking up after themselves. I feel very confident that we chose the right place for our daughter. Also, the parents of the kids you attend the school are involved, nice and down to earth which makes for a great community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bronxville Montessori School
101 Pondfield Road West, Yonkers, NY  10708
(914) 793-2083
Last modified Bronxville Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Bronxville Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top