Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
87 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bronxville Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
They focus a lot on manners. Even when my two year old is upset and crying instead of saying no- she says "No Thank You."

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
I have had a great experience there so far. As far as security, the door is always locked in my experience. Also they do have a gym and curriculum. I have observed several classes and been extremely impressed by how much the toddlers are learning. My child in particular before even turning two learned to count to 15, do her ABCS start to finish, identify colors and shapes all within her first two months there. I find the teachers to be very warm and caring. They are also always baking and doing art which I love.


Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
I totally disagree with the review that said this school is awful, teachers are not qualified, and that administrators only wants your money. My daughter was there for 2 years and our experience was amazing. Administrators helped us with the tuition and teachers were caring and well prepared with more than 20 years’ experience in Montessori education. Teachers’ patience and preparation helped my daughter social-emotional skills grew healthy and by the end of Pre-k (4 years old) my daughter was ready for kindergarten. She was reading, writing, and a kind, independent and self-confident girl. The rubber in the playground that the school used to have was approved by the NY Department of Education. However, they changed it to a better material that have been proven not to be dangerous for children. Bronxville Montessori School is a perfect place for your child to develop healthy not only academically, but social-emotional, and physically.

Bronxville Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
I wish zero stars were an option. Your child, as well as yourself, deserves far better than what this "school" wants to provide. My child was mistreated here, and I do not stand alone in my experience. The other reviewers didn't even mention the horrible rubber smell coming from the playground for years because the school didn't even research what children were playing on. I try to not think about it. They don't care about your child, only about money. The school has no security system, no nurse, no music program, no gym, no enrichment activities, gross bathrooms, dangerous stairs; the list goes on! The teachers are not qualified to teach, I doubt if they would pass a babysitting class. Don't send your child here.

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
AWFUL!! Your child, and you as a parent, deserve way better than this school wants to provide. The school is gross, the people running the school are gross. I can write pages on how terrible this place is. I will save you the time reading how this is the worst school around, just save yourselves by not even stepping foot in the unsecured, never locked door.


Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
I can't possibly say enough positive things about this place. My daughter left two years ago and I regret every day she's been gone. She learned so much in her time there in such a warm, nurturing environment. Everyone there has personality and utilizes their strengths to make the school an incredible experience for the entire family. I could only wish to find an elementary school that offered the educational rigor, emotional support and independence that's there

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted December 13, 2014
- a parent
Bronxville Montessori isn't a school - it's over priced daycare. There is no curriculum and none of the assistant teachers are Montessori certified. They will make sure your child eats, naps and gets sent home in a clean diaper and that is it. There is no actual teaching going on here. Additionally, there is no sense of community and little to no communication with the parent body. The facilities are tired, the administration rude and the teachers are overworked and disinterested. My child cries every day he has to go there. I should have done my homework before automatically trusting the "Montessori" name because sending our child here was a huge mistake.

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
As a parent making that decision to where to send your child for his or her first time experience of preschool can be very hard. As a mother I can say Bronxville Montessori is a home away from home!!! All the teachers are warm and loving and caring to each child. The administration is just as welcoming and willing to give any information you need. I wouldn't recommend this school to any patent that wants his or her child to have an amazing first experience for preschool!!


Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is thriving at this school. She is understood, well cared for and is developing in all areas. I agree with some of the posts about the administrators but the teachers, in my opinion, are amazing. I particularly love Ms. Melissa and Ms. Deborah. My daughter comes home each week with wonderful things that she created through class projects.

Bronxville Montessori School 4

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Our middle child added this school a few years ago. It was the only full day programme in the area which we needed at the time. Granted the facilities are not the most impressive in the area, but they are clean, functional and work. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her time at the school. There may be better 1/2 day options but we were very satified with the experience here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bronxville Montessori School
101 Pondfield Road West, Yonkers, NY  10708
(914) 793-2083
Last modified Bronxville Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Bronxville Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top