Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Yonkers, NY
Students enrolled: 87
 

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bronxville Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
I wish zero stars were an option. Your child, as well as yourself, deserves far better than what this "school" wants to provide. My child was mistreated here, and I do not stand alone in my experience. The other reviewers didn't even mention the horrible rubber smell coming from the playground for years because the school didn't even research what children were playing on. I try to not think about it. They don't care about your child, only about money. The school has no security system, no nurse, no music program, no gym, no enrichment activities, gross bathrooms, dangerous stairs; the list goes on! The teachers are not qualified to teach, I doubt if they would pass a babysitting class. Don't send your child here.

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
AWFUL!! Your child, and you as a parent, deserve way better than this school wants to provide. The school is gross, the people running the school are gross. I can write pages on how terrible this place is. I will save you the time reading how this is the worst school around, just save yourselves by not even stepping foot in the unsecured, never locked door.


Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
I can't possibly say enough positive things about this place. My daughter left two years ago and I regret every day she's been gone. She learned so much in her time there in such a warm, nurturing environment. Everyone there has personality and utilizes their strengths to make the school an incredible experience for the entire family. I could only wish to find an elementary school that offered the educational rigor, emotional support and independence that's there

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted December 13, 2014
- a parent
Bronxville Montessori isn't a school - it's over priced daycare. There is no curriculum and none of the assistant teachers are Montessori certified. They will make sure your child eats, naps and gets sent home in a clean diaper and that is it. There is no actual teaching going on here. Additionally, there is no sense of community and little to no communication with the parent body. The facilities are tired, the administration rude and the teachers are overworked and disinterested. My child cries every day he has to go there. I should have done my homework before automatically trusting the "Montessori" name because sending our child here was a huge mistake.

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
As a parent making that decision to where to send your child for his or her first time experience of preschool can be very hard. As a mother I can say Bronxville Montessori is a home away from home!!! All the teachers are warm and loving and caring to each child. The administration is just as welcoming and willing to give any information you need. I wouldn't recommend this school to any patent that wants his or her child to have an amazing first experience for preschool!!


Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is thriving at this school. She is understood, well cared for and is developing in all areas. I agree with some of the posts about the administrators but the teachers, in my opinion, are amazing. I particularly love Ms. Melissa and Ms. Deborah. My daughter comes home each week with wonderful things that she created through class projects.

Bronxville Montessori School 4

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Our middle child added this school a few years ago. It was the only full day programme in the area which we needed at the time. Granted the facilities are not the most impressive in the area, but they are clean, functional and work. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her time at the school. There may be better 1/2 day options but we were very satified with the experience here.

Bronxville Montessori School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
I currently have 2 children in BMS and we couldn't be happier. Both of my children have been coming here since they were 18 months old. As far as the potty training, it all can't be blamed on the teacher, kids get so consumed in what's going on around them, they often forget to tell you or they deny that even have to go. What makes this school so priceless, is that my husband and I drop our girls off at school and never have to worry a second in the day about how they are doing. I truly love the way ALL of the staff treats my girls.


Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
We came from an AMI montessori school so that explains some of the difference but this school seemed more like daycare than a school to us when we toured it and the facilities were depressing. We ended up going to another school so a current parent may have a different view

Bronxville Montessori School 1

Posted December 18, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the post mentioning the problem with the potty trained kid. My 2 and 1/2 year old has been going to Ms. Violet's class since he was 18 month old, and he too hasn't had any accidents at home, nor when we travel. In school, however, he wets his pants and shoes all the time and I don't know if they don't have time to bring the child in the potty promptly, or whether the child is intimidated and/or scared and has continuous accidents. At first we had a great experience with Ms. Violet and her assistant teachers, but with time we are realizing that they lack the skills to teach and handle children above 2 (especially if they are potty trained). Instead of progressing, my son is regressing and simply is NOT happy in that class. Some administrators are so unprofessional that it's almost painful to have to deal with them over the phone or in person. You always get the feeling that if you address an issue or raise a concern, that they'd take it on your child. The atmosphere is never inviting and I'm considering changing schools immediately.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bronxville Montessori School
101 Pondfield Road West, Yonkers, NY  10708
(914) 793-2083
Last modified Bronxville Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Bronxville Montessori School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top