Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bronxville Montessori School

Preschool | 87 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Yonkers

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,072,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

I would not recommending sending your child to Bronxville Montessori. The directors (I use the word loosely) are rude, uncaring, and barely present. The school is run so poorly, and in fact, children breathed in paint fumes for a week while school was under repair. While there is a handful of qualified, lovely teachers, the majority are unprofessional and untrained. While they call themselves a "Montessori" school I would not trust that all of the teachers, and assistants hold any type of Montessori training certification. This school is an over priced daycare, at best, and the facilities are poor and unkempt. Also, the parent involvement is non-existent and the school does nothing to encourage parents to become involved. Our experience fell far below expectations we have for our child's education and personal growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2014

As a parent making that decision to where to send your child for his or her first time experience of preschool can be very hard. As a mother I can say Bronxville Montessori is a home away from home!!! All the teachers are warm and loving and caring to each child. The administration is just as welcoming and willing to give any information you need. I wouldn't recommend this school to any patent that wants his or her child to have an amazing first experience for preschool!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

My daughter is thriving at this school. She is understood, well cared for and is developing in all areas. I agree with some of the posts about the administrators but the teachers, in my opinion, are amazing. I particularly love Ms. Melissa and Ms. Deborah. My daughter comes home each week with wonderful things that she created through class projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Our middle child added this school a few years ago. It was the only full day programme in the area which we needed at the time. Granted the facilities are not the most impressive in the area, but they are clean, functional and work. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her time at the school. There may be better 1/2 day options but we were very satified with the experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

I currently have 2 children in BMS and we couldn't be happier. Both of my children have been coming here since they were 18 months old. As far as the potty training, it all can't be blamed on the teacher, kids get so consumed in what's going on around them, they often forget to tell you or they deny that even have to go. What makes this school so priceless, is that my husband and I drop our girls off at school and never have to worry a second in the day about how they are doing. I truly love the way ALL of the staff treats my girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

We came from an AMI montessori school so that explains some of the difference but this school seemed more like daycare than a school to us when we toured it and the facilities were depressing. We ended up going to another school so a current parent may have a different view
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

I agree with the post mentioning the problem with the potty trained kid. My 2 and 1/2 year old has been going to Ms. Violet's class since he was 18 month old, and he too hasn't had any accidents at home, nor when we travel. In school, however, he wets his pants and shoes all the time and I don't know if they don't have time to bring the child in the potty promptly, or whether the child is intimidated and/or scared and has continuous accidents. At first we had a great experience with Ms. Violet and her assistant teachers, but with time we are realizing that they lack the skills to teach and handle children above 2 (especially if they are potty trained). Instead of progressing, my son is regressing and simply is NOT happy in that class. Some administrators are so unprofessional that it's almost painful to have to deal with them over the phone or in person. You always get the feeling that if you address an issue or raise a concern, that they'd take it on your child. The atmosphere is never inviting and I'm considering changing schools immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

The administrators are horrible - only after their money. The teachers are not sharp and conflict each other. Did not like the way they handled separation for my daughter when I first enrolled her and took her out after two weeks. She was not happy. The assistant teacher always smelled like cigarettes and did not talk to kids like a professional. It was a very boring like automosphere when I observed unlike his last school where we moved from where it was generally lively upbeat automosphere. Do not put ur kid here if it's their first time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

My 2-yr old was in Ms Violet's class. I read the reviews here before i sent my daughter to this class,but i was so disappointed. She was very well potty trained at home and she never had an accident at home eihter. However, she always had wet pants and shoes from school, every week, even the last week of the semester. several times, yes, more than once, her wet pants and shoes just got lost and the teachers didn't have an idea where they went. I don't know why this could happen several times with a 3 teacher to 12 students class. Also I think this simply means they are not taking their responsibilities. I'm not sure if it's the case for other classes, but for this class, the teachers are very reluctant to have parents visiting the classs, even on the school's "parent day" when parents are supposed to be welcome to come in. it just didn't feel right. we switched to another school one year later, and my daughter told me she loves the other school which she never said so for Violet's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

My 3 yr old daughter has been attending Bronxville Montessori School since she was 18 months. As a working mom, there is nothing more stressfull then trying to find a loving environment for your child for when you are at work . I could tell instantly that Bronxville Montessori was the environment I was looking for. The teachers are great with the kids and teach them everything from being kind to each other to picking up after themselves. I feel very confident that we chose the right place for our daughter. Also, the parents of the kids you attend the school are involved, nice and down to earth which makes for a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I am a huge fan of montessori. I attended Hudson Country Day as a child and I spent three years working at Montessori #11 in Yonkers as the school counselor. When it came time to look at schools for my daughter I went to each private montessori school in lower westchester observing each program. What I liked about BMS is that is was extreamly neat. Each room is set up to be an authentic montessori classroom. Most importantly the teachers are montessori trained. The staff is extreamly child centered and family friendly. THe specials are excellent. Yoga, dance and music. Italian, Spanish and and art after school. My daughter is flourishing in the amazing montessori fashion. She's become independent, confident and learning a lot. Jean Nelson is wonderful and obviously very successful because her staff is consistant and cohessive. Learn about montessori and then check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

After being home for two years with my daughter I was nervous about going back to work and putting her in a full day two's program. Now, after just three weeks all I can say it was the best thing I could have done. First off, the ladies at BMS are pro's. They are passionate about children and well educated. I attended a Montessori schools as a child and I work at one as a school counselor so I have an excellent frame of reference. Ms. Violet is a gifted teacher. My daughter talks about her all the time. Her listening skills at home have improved, her self confidence is soaring and yes...she sleeps two hours a day with the group for nap which is what I was worried about. Her days are educational and fun. She loves going. Thank Bronxville Montessori for being a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

Best school- very nurturing and responsive to the needs of the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

My child attended Bronxville Montessori school for 2 years. The learning environment for 2-3 year olds is good; a lot was learnt at this age than the age of 3-4. However, some of the aides and the other staff attitude and behavior leaves much to be desired including the quality of aftercare, which is expensive. We also felt that the atmosphere tends to get somewhat tense & oppressive. The number of do's & don't lists posted everywhere are astonishing! I could tell our child was not happy in the 3-4 school year; was very glad when we moved to another montessori where he has blossomed. I wish I can recommend this school whole heartedly; caliber of a few teachers and aides is excellent. Unfortunately there are many aides/office staff whose behavior with parents is offensive. Any such problems brought to supervisor attention got ignored/ was made to be our fault.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

My child started a little late to the school this year. The office staff was very helpful in arranging a smooth transition and the classroom staff was very welcoming and supportive. I love the order & neatness in each classroom and the play areas. Even the murals in the hallways show excellent planning as well as beauty. My daughter is so happy to go to school that even on Sat & Sun she want to pack her lunch & go. Everyday she comes home with a new song, a new friend or a new story. We are delighted with our choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

The location of the school is adequate. There are a great deal of stairs to the classrooms on the lower level. I was a bit surprised at the low level of learning which was going on throughout the day for the 3-5 classes. There are two small circle times to introduce a topic or go over the calendar. The bulk of the day is an extended work time where students select a game or activity to work on independently or with another student. There is no to little teacher scaffolding and in essence the students were working as if playing one game to another. Then the playtime outside is 30 minutes out of the two hours and fifteen minute day. I had higher expectations from a Montessori school. My daughter learned more concepts at home than at school. Not the best choice for a 4 year-old.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My son has been going to this school since he was 18 months. He had Ms. Violet/ Ms. Roxanne for 2 years and we loved her. They are amazing teachers. They taught him how to be a good person and a life long learner. Those are fundamentals you want instilled in your child. He had Ms. Christine and Ms. Melissa, both who are very good as well. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants a safe and educational environment for their child to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

My son just started attending Bronxville Montessori and we all love it. The teachers are wonderful and seeming to be very caring. He's only 2 and had never been to daycare or anything. We were worried that he wouldnt like it. Now he cant wait to go to school. He has Ms Violet, Ms Roxanne and Ms Kristy. The only not so positive about the school is that I wish they had other languages taught during the day, they do provide afterschool session with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

I really like this school. The teachers are wonderful - involved' loving and yet fostering kid's independence. I like the mix of students in the school - students from a wide variety of backgrounds - and enjoyed interacting with other parents. The physical location is nice, with good play facilities and nice classrooms. It has been great for our son, who was less than two when he started. He is 2 1/2 now and loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

My son went to this school from 2 years old through 4 years old. He was in the toddler class and then moved up to full day 3-5 class. He loved the school especially Ms. Christines class and made a lot of friends. I found the teachers to be really nice and knowledgable about the children. The school was very supportive of our family during a time of sickness in fact enrolled our son as a favor due to this. He grew and blossomed there and was learning at his own pace through the Montessori system. Unfortunately this meant he did not learn if he did not want to, but I think eventually he would have as he liked the teacher and wanted to please her. Due to going back to work I had to move him time, but otherwise he would still be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Pondfield Road West
Yonkers, NY 10708
Phone: (914) 793-2083

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT