Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Stony Brook, NY
Students enrolled: 143
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Shore Montessori 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
A special school, truly one of a kind! Amazing, dedicated teachers who instill a love of learning and help our children achieve their maximum potential, developing self confidence and preparing them for success in the "big kid" schools. A nurturing environment that teaches Montessori's "grace and courtesy". I chose this school because of its association with AMS, the Montessori society, as I wanted a true Montessori experience for my children. Both of my girls have excelled here. My older daughter graduated from the Kindergarten program and transitioned smoothly into the public school system, at the top of her class in first grade. My younger daughter is in the preschool program and already reading!

North Shore Montessori 5

Posted March 16, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school. We have been a part of this school for 5 years and all three of my kids have had amazing experiences and teachers. I could not have imagined a better place. The Montessori experience is truly something amazing.


North Shore Montessori 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful, clean, happy preschool and Kindergarden environment! Our son attends Kindergarden and he loves it! He is learning math, to read, yoga, the piano, creative arts, painting! The best school on the North Shore hands-down (and we had toured many before making our decision)!

North Shore Montessori 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
BEST PRE-K and KINDERGARDEN School on the NORTH SHORE OF LONG ISLAND! FIVE STARS!!!!!!!! Such a WONDERFUL, amazing, and happy environment! Lovely, caring, professional, highly experience staff! We have been sending our son there for Kindergarden. He went there to preschool as well! He is learning to read, math, yoga, baking, takes piano lessons, and we are all so very happy with this school. True Montessori! A true education!!!!!

North Shore Montessori 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
We truly love North Shore Montessori School. My son is a Kindergartener this year and my daughter will begin preschool next year at NSMS. North Shore Montessori School has provided my son with a strong academic foundation but also so much more. Along with us, the teachers have taught him lessons of independence, problem solving, charity and kindness. We attend many community events held at NSMS such as picnics, dinners and cultural celebrations. I feel that NSMS is a safe and caring environment for all children to learn and have fun together.


North Shore Montessori 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school. The quality of education that it offers is outstanding. The curriculum is very diverse in terms of the variety of subjects, i.e., mathematics, sciences, arts, music, physical education, etc., which provides a solid foundation for children allowing them to enter the public (or private) school system at an advanced level. The class sizes afford the teachers to spend one-on-one time with each child as well as with everyone in the class. The materials are great and extremely diverse. The school, its teachers, and administrators instill a great of sense of community and involvement in the school and among parents. Parents are always welcomed and encouraged to take an active role in the school. The costs are very reasonable especially if comparing to other pre-schools in the area. My bi-lingual 3-year old has already learned mathematics and reading (something that I did not when I was his age). I highly recommend this school to anyone looking.

North Shore Montessori 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a community member
The most caring school we have ever been associated with, from the teachers, staff, and Head Of School. Our grand-daughter absolutely loves it and comes home with additional counting, art, reading, music, and athletic skills every day.

North Shore Montessori 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
While North Shore Montessori School does not participate in a public discussion of individual situations, we would like to clarify the educational and professional background of our Head of School. Mrs. Sheehan does in fact hold a Bachelor s Degree in Nursing and was employed for over ten years as a Registered Nurse in the local area. However, Mrs. Sheehan decided to pursue her love of elementary education and returned to college where she obtained her Masters in Literacy Education at Dowling College. Mrs. Sheehan is certified in Elementary Education as well as Literacy Education in New York State. Most recently, Mrs. Sheehan successfully completed her Montessori Management Certificate through the Center for Montessori Education. We take great pride in the example we set for our students and the strong Montessori education we provide to our community. We work diligently to meet the needs of every family that attends North Shore Montessori and will continue to foster those relationships for years to come. If you would like additional information regarding our school, please contact us at 631-689-8273.


North Shore Montessori 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
I have nothing but wonderful things to say about my family's experience at North Shore Montessori. My daughter has been a student here for the last two years and will be staying for Kindergarten in the fall. Under the guidance of her Children's House Directress, she was given the freedom to explore, learn and grow and the encouragement to try new things and make new friends. I was a Class mom during her first year at NSMS and joined the Board during her second year. My younger daughter will be starting in the Children's House this fall as well and I am so excited to give her the opportunity to grow in this environment. We have made the decision as a family that this the kind of foundation we want our children to have. Seeing how happy our children are in this environment assures us that we've made the right choice. I would encourage any parent who has questions or concerns to seek additional information from the Head of School or Board of Trustees. I feel so lucky to have joined such a warm and connected community and I look forward to our years ahead.

North Shore Montessori 1

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
For parents thinking of sending their children to North Shore Montessori, please reconsider.I recently had to pull my child from the school because he was being tormented by another child. The teacher herself called it bullying. When the Board of Trustes and Director found out the teacher used this term they were not happy. Ultimately, with no discipline policy or behavior modification, they did not stop the bullying. They wated to "empower'my son to stand up to the bully . What they should have done was stop the bullying behavior. They were more worried about me not telling anyone in the school "community'. They failed to keep my son safe and correct the other child. Money is more of their concern and their reputation not being tarnished. It didn't help that the Director is a nurse by trade, not an educator. I ultimately pulled my child out of the school. North Shore Montessori is the most costly preschool in town, and fails to keep children safe. What a shame.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Shore Montessori
218 Christian Avenue, Stony Brook, NY  11790
(631) 689-8273
Last modified North Shore Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
North Shore Montessori Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top