Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Staten Island, NY
Students enrolled: 122
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Tanglewood School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. My daughter attended this school for two years and it's sad that we have to find a different school for Kindergarten. The teachers are so wonderful, caring and attentive. I adore Ms Kathy. She is the best nurse ever. My daughter is already independently reading. That really tailor lessons to each child. I can hardly believe that there are any bad reviews about this place. I didn't know anyone when I enrolled my daughter and everyone was so wonderful and kind.

The Tanglewood School 2

Posted June 24, 2012
- a parent
I am extremely happy that my daughter has finished out her year at this school and will not be returning. I give the school the 2 stars because we were lucky enough to have one of the best teachers they staff. Scholastically, my daughter excelled. The school is run and staffed by at least 90% family members, which means when incidences do occur, they are definitely not handled appropriately. Since it is a UPK funded school, they say they are not allowed to ask for supplies, but do welcome any donations. Although, they do their own collections for Christmas gifts, and end of the year gifts for themselves with no presentation of gifts in front of the children.


The Tanglewood School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
This school is outstanding. My children both attend the school and have made incredible strides both academically and socially. I feel that they have grown to be incredible young ladies and will be entering kindergarten prepared in every way. Additionally, I am NOT a relative and have no connection whatsoever to anyone who works there. I highly recommend the school.

The Tanglewood School 1

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
omg! they are the worst! everyone is in house. if a parent likes the school it's because they are family. i found out that certain parents that are family to this school were asked to write good reviews.

The Tanglewood School 5

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
love love love love this school. My daughter has been in this school for two years now and my son is being enrolled for the 3yr old program in the fall. Loving...attentive...caring teachers in every classroom. Every teacher knows my child and is welcoming every morning with big smiles and plenty of compliments. Warm and welcoming!!!!!! Teachers in every level were happy to address any concerns or questions of mine. It was the best experience for me as a first child in school and for my child to adjust to school. They taught my child structure and respect with patience and kindness my child DOES NOT fear her teachers...but respects them...which is the best lesson my child could be taught.


The Tanglewood School 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a community member
My grandson is 5 years old and has been attending the Tanglewood school since he was 3. He will be going into kindergarten this fall. The teachers and assistants are dedicated professionals who met his needs-he is speech delayed. His speech therapist, Miss Debi, is outstanding. My only regret is that this coming school year will be his last year in Tanglewood.

The Tanglewood School 3

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
My son has been attending this school for the past year. His teachers have zero warmth and compassion, it might be nice if they would smile. Every time we turn around they want money for one thing or another, someone's selling tupperware and on and on it goes. It's difficult to say what he has learned from the school because he was ahead of the gane when he started. Cupcakes aren't allowed on Birthdays NOT because they are unhealthy but because they are "too messy"

The Tanglewood School 0
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
I love Tanglewood it is a wonderful school. My daughter has been there for 2 years and it is like a big family. Miss Nikki is a wonderful teacher , she gives so much of herself to those children that they come out of that class not only reading but with so much more .I am so glad my daughter had her for a teacher,because this will get her ready for 1st grade.


The Tanglewood School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
My daughter left Tanglewood reading at a 1st grade level, now in kindergarden my daughter is reading at a 2nd grade level. Thanks to Miss Nikki!

The Tanglewood School 1

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Tanglewood School
15 Tanglewood Drive, Staten Island, NY  10308
(718) 967-2424
Last modified The Tanglewood School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
The Tanglewood School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top