Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Red Apple Child Development Center 4

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
We have both of our kids attending this school and they can't wait to go to school. The entire staff is so nice and welcoming to our kids. Every kids seems to be very playful and happy all the time. They are in the mist of getting funded by BOE to participate in UPK program to bring cost down for us PreK kids. They didn't qualify this yeat but hope to get it so or next year. We highly recommended for all kids around Rego Park and Forest Hills area. The price is a bit high but less then Forest HIlls Red Apple for the same education in my eyes.

Red Apple Child Development Center 1

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
very disappointed with preschool of america at the rego park location. It used to be a good school when my older child attended. Many of the good teachers have left. When I wanted to register my second child, they were discriminating against him. the staff at the front desk is very fake, unprofessional, and rude. the new director is unfair and does not treat every child equally. After observing my child, she first calls saying they have a spot, and then when we gave in the forms she says we have to observe him before we make a decision because he is a boy. I came in and my child did absolutely fine with the 2 year old group. She then says that I have to bring him in again for maybe another week before he is accepted because my child was sitting on my lap at times. Basically, she tried to pick on things to find an excuse. She said come in tomorrow with him and leave the room. I told her obviously he will cry he has to get used to the school he hasn't been at daycare before. I have referred many of my friends and this is not what they had to go through. Its a shame that there are people out there in this world who are very unfair and who discriminate.


Red Apple Child Development Center 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
We had very good experiences with the school and feel that our son had excellent teachers over the past two years, first with Ms Andrea and Ms June, and now with Ms Jheny and Ms Amy. I wish there was more time spent on Chinese, since the primary language of instruction is English, but they do have Chinese class every day. Red Apple offers a variety of electives such as Chess, Drawing, and Piano (at additional charge) and we have been very satisfied with the quality of the instructors for these optional classes as well. The front office staff has been very helpful and responsive when we have needed them, and the school is kept very clean. The other parents are nice, and everyone cares about the quality of education that their children are receiving. I wish that the school continued up through kindergarten and higher grades. The school has a small rooftop playground, and the children make frequent "field trips" around the neighboorhood to the library and other playgrounds when weather permits. All in all it has been a very positive experience and I would wholeheartedly recommend the Rego Park Red Apple to parents who want their children to be challenged with other bright kids

Red Apple Child Development Center 2

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
I'm giving this school two stars only because of several issues I've had with the staff . The teacher that my child had was very LAZY . she would NOT go the extra mile to help the kids who were a little behind or who weren't grasping the material as fast as the others. Parents were told that its their responsibility to make sure that their child is not behind and not the teacher's,and that the teacher is following the same protocol as public schools( but lets not forget that this is a PRIVATE daycare ) .There was no interaction with children during play time ( never saw her talk to kids besides when she was giving the lesson). My kid was afraid to go to her class because the teacher was always yelling at the kids. The food sucked , what 3 or 4 yr. old wants to eat tofu (just because this school has a lot of Asian kids does not mean that the menu should consist of fried rice or tofu) . Another issue that I've had was that the teachers would send kids to the bathroom by themselves, which I think is very dangerous if you ask me (slip and fall accidents could happen to anyone especially little kids)With all that said if you can afford to send your child to forest hills location,do it .

Red Apple Child Development Center 1

Posted January 01, 2012
- a parent
I give this school one star. Treated my son badly because he has. Special needs. Worst school


Red Apple Child Development Center 3

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
My son got very bad memory there. He stayed this school for two years. Only two teachers were nice to him.

Red Apple Child Development Center 5

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
I've read the reviews, and looks like there are a couple of disappointed parents, who didn't write an objective review. First of all, there are always two teachers in a class, one is always fluent in English, so the reported language issues are not true. My daughter learned a lot in this school, as they have serious teaching sessions and the children always have homework.They have a very strict schedule for the whole day, Chinese people are diligent so they teaching the same thing to the children. I definitely recommend this school.

Red Apple Child Development Center 4

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
My son loves going to Red Apple everyday. He comes home singing, tells me that he like his teachers and his friends. The only drawback is that the head teacher is only there from 9am - 5pm and is hard to get a hold of during the day. The second teacher are not there when I pick up my son either so I only have the morning to gather how he is developing and the second teacher can't really comment much because her role is more supportive than teaching the children. In any case, I do feel my son is stimulated and is happy in this day care. I just wish I can have more parent teacher interaction.


Red Apple Child Development Center 5

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
Very clean, Teachers are nice, very organized and they pack a lot of learning into each day. Parking is kind of hard to find but that's not the daycare's fault.

Red Apple Child Development Center 4

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
I have two daughters going to this school, 2 and 4 years old. There are 2 teachers per classroom. One teacher is English speaking and one is Chinese. The teachers are the highlight here, very involved and energetic. There are planned activities all day long. My girls' language skills have improved in the space of a summer. It is true the center has no playground, but they take field trips daily to a local school's playground. I do wish there was more physical activity. Also, the snacks and meals are not that healthy. Muffins or pancakes for breakfast - I usually make something else for them at home. They do serve fresh fruits and vegetables in the afternoon, if your kid will eat it. My daughter was eating slices of tomato one day and few other kids were having it. No homework is assigned, but my kids are definitely learning.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Red Apple Child Development Center
63-47 Booth Street, Queens, NY  11374
(718) 896-8108
Last modified Red Apple Child Development Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Red Apple Child Development Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top