Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori Progressive Learning Center 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
My child previously attended this school and it was a great experience. My daughter learned a lot and I am very thankful for all that Montessori had to offer. I have to say Mrs. Smith is a great director who guided me in the right direction. I would call the school after 6pm Mrs. Smith would take the time to help me with any concerns or questions that I had. This meant a lot to me and I truly love her. Mrs. Smith cares very much about the children. I will be enrolling my 2nd child in Summer 2014. F.Y.I Communication is everything.....

Montessori Progressive Learning Center 1

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
My child previously attended this school. They no longer attend due to the unprofessional conduct of Ms Smith the director who would change my child's teacher without informing me and the teachers Ms. Townsend and Ms. Doyle, who would say inappropriate and unprofessional things to students. The teachers did not have a plan for my child who needed additional time to adjust to attending school. My child was denied food as a behavior modification and told the teacher was angry at them. My child went from loving going to school to crying and not wanting to go every morning and telling me awful things the teachers would say and do. When I met with the teachers they attempted to make me believe it was my child fault. The Director is dismissive to parent concerns and unsupportive to the PTA which in mostly nonexistant. I also was told several lies by the Director Ms.Smith My child's experience was not worth the $720.00 a month. Although the morning drop off time is 7:30 am we, the parents, would be waiting several mins between 5-10 to drop off our children because the person wasn't there.


Montessori Progressive Learning Center 1

Posted August 25, 2012
- a parent
The secretary Ms Shivon is very unprofessional, a bit ghetto. Mrs. Smith needs to retrain this young lady on professionalism.

Montessori Progressive Learning Center 1

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
I called to speak with the principal, Mrs. Smith regarding specifics on enrolling my children for the summer and school year. The secretary told me, "She don't take appointments!" I asked to leave my number and have Mrs. Smith call me back at her discretion. I was then told," Ok, but she won't call you back." I was forwarded to accounts payables and then hung up on. Suffice it to say, my children will not be attending the school.

Montessori Progressive Learning Center 3

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
Montessori Progressive learning center is a great environment for kids and I have liked this school from the beginning up until this academic year when my son was placed in a new classroom with a teacher that doesn't have much patience, low tolerance, and simply is too aggressive for preschool students. Mrs. Smith must take into account at times that kids act out as a reaction to the person they are dealing with. It was a pleasure to see my child slowly and surely making progress academically through out the years, and very disappointing to see his behavior take a 360 turn and is the worst it has ever been. I think it would be best if the teachers are licensed in the State of New York where they are trained to deal the kids of the city. Experience and training in other countries does not necessarily compare to that of the local area and the requirements and expectations of the students in other areas of the world drastically differs from what is required in New York. This particular teacher is not fit to teach children at such young ages but students more so in middle school or above. The school and curriculum is great, but work is still required regarding teacher selection.


Montessori Progressive Learning Center 3

Posted February 09, 2011
- a parent
My son attends the school now and the teachers are very nice, the children are well mannered and the facility is secure, neat and clean. My son is pretty advanced so a lot of the curriculum bores him and on many days he prefers not to go. They did notice this and switched him to a class with more experienced children but he was still bored reviewing things he already knew. They stated the the children work on their own individual level but that has not been our experience. He kind of just has to sit through rehashing of basic skills that he has mastered. Also they children don't go outside til after school hours between 3 and 6. I was very upset to find this out after the fact. I pick my son up at 3 and he hasn't been out all day. They also seem pretty dismissive when there is a concern. I probably won't be sending my second son to the school when he is of age.

Montessori Progressive Learning Center 1

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
We were only able to experience the tour. The curriculm seemed great! It must be, as there is a long waiting list. Our children do not qualify, however, because our family does not believe in man-made vaccinations.

Montessori Progressive Learning Center 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
I love this School yet Administration can be very negative at times. My husband overheard the director commenting negatively about the yellow barrettes in my daughters hair. She a kid and that is what she wanted to wear, whats wrong with that? African American children have a hard enough time with self esteem already and we try to encourage self esteem in our household. Again love the school yet the director needs the love of Jesus at times.


Montessori Progressive Learning Center 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
i love love love this school >> wish they went up to the 8th grade ... ms smith is the best

Montessori Progressive Learning Center 4

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
MPLC is a great school. It is a great learning environment for kids. It provides structure and discipline that many of our pre-schools are lacking these days. From the moment you step into the building there is a sense of order, respect, and pride that allows a parent to feel safe and confident that their child is in a good place. The school desperately needs to step up its efforts in grant seeking and finding financial investors. There is so much potential for this school, but unfortunately our economic times will only be a negative impact. The administrators, teachers, and staff really care about a quality education and childhood experience. In what other school will you find a principal that takes time out of her busy administrative schedule to pull students to the side to hold enrichment classes, penmanship clubs, self esteem building groups, test taking tips......where? I

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Progressive Learning Center
195-3 Linden Boulevard, Queens, NY  11412
(718) 723-3967
Last modified Montessori Progressive Learning Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Montessori Progressive Learning Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top