Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Progressive Learning Center

Preschool | 76 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

My child previously attended this school and it was a great experience. My daughter learned a lot and I am very thankful for all that Montessori had to offer. I have to say Mrs. Smith is a great director who guided me in the right direction. I would call the school after 6pm Mrs. Smith would take the time to help me with any concerns or questions that I had. This meant a lot to me and I truly love her. Mrs. Smith cares very much about the children. I will be enrolling my 2nd child in Summer 2014. F.Y.I Communication is everything.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

My child previously attended this school. They no longer attend due to the unprofessional conduct of Ms Smith the director who would change my child's teacher without informing me and the teachers Ms. Townsend and Ms. Doyle, who would say inappropriate and unprofessional things to students. The teachers did not have a plan for my child who needed additional time to adjust to attending school. My child was denied food as a behavior modification and told the teacher was angry at them. My child went from loving going to school to crying and not wanting to go every morning and telling me awful things the teachers would say and do. When I met with the teachers they attempted to make me believe it was my child fault. The Director is dismissive to parent concerns and unsupportive to the PTA which in mostly nonexistant. I also was told several lies by the Director Ms.Smith My child's experience was not worth the $720.00 a month. Although the morning drop off time is 7:30 am we, the parents, would be waiting several mins between 5-10 to drop off our children because the person wasn't there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

The secretary Ms Shivon is very unprofessional, a bit ghetto. Mrs. Smith needs to retrain this young lady on professionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I called to speak with the principal, Mrs. Smith regarding specifics on enrolling my children for the summer and school year. The secretary told me, "She don't take appointments!" I asked to leave my number and have Mrs. Smith call me back at her discretion. I was then told," Ok, but she won't call you back." I was forwarded to accounts payables and then hung up on. Suffice it to say, my children will not be attending the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Montessori Progressive learning center is a great environment for kids and I have liked this school from the beginning up until this academic year when my son was placed in a new classroom with a teacher that doesn't have much patience, low tolerance, and simply is too aggressive for preschool students. Mrs. Smith must take into account at times that kids act out as a reaction to the person they are dealing with. It was a pleasure to see my child slowly and surely making progress academically through out the years, and very disappointing to see his behavior take a 360 turn and is the worst it has ever been. I think it would be best if the teachers are licensed in the State of New York where they are trained to deal the kids of the city. Experience and training in other countries does not necessarily compare to that of the local area and the requirements and expectations of the students in other areas of the world drastically differs from what is required in New York. This particular teacher is not fit to teach children at such young ages but students more so in middle school or above. The school and curriculum is great, but work is still required regarding teacher selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My son attends the school now and the teachers are very nice, the children are well mannered and the facility is secure, neat and clean. My son is pretty advanced so a lot of the curriculum bores him and on many days he prefers not to go. They did notice this and switched him to a class with more experienced children but he was still bored reviewing things he already knew. They stated the the children work on their own individual level but that has not been our experience. He kind of just has to sit through rehashing of basic skills that he has mastered. Also they children don't go outside til after school hours between 3 and 6. I was very upset to find this out after the fact. I pick my son up at 3 and he hasn't been out all day. They also seem pretty dismissive when there is a concern. I probably won't be sending my second son to the school when he is of age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

We were only able to experience the tour. The curriculm seemed great! It must be, as there is a long waiting list. Our children do not qualify, however, because our family does not believe in man-made vaccinations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love this School yet Administration can be very negative at times. My husband overheard the director commenting negatively about the yellow barrettes in my daughters hair. She a kid and that is what she wanted to wear, whats wrong with that? African American children have a hard enough time with self esteem already and we try to encourage self esteem in our household. Again love the school yet the director needs the love of Jesus at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

i love love love this school >> wish they went up to the 8th grade ... ms smith is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

MPLC is a great school. It is a great learning environment for kids. It provides structure and discipline that many of our pre-schools are lacking these days. From the moment you step into the building there is a sense of order, respect, and pride that allows a parent to feel safe and confident that their child is in a good place. The school desperately needs to step up its efforts in grant seeking and finding financial investors. There is so much potential for this school, but unfortunately our economic times will only be a negative impact. The administrators, teachers, and staff really care about a quality education and childhood experience. In what other school will you find a principal that takes time out of her busy administrative schedule to pull students to the side to hold enrichment classes, penmanship clubs, self esteem building groups, test taking tips......where? I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

excellent program. excellent environment for the kids. loved it !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

This school provides an excellent atmostphere for learning & development. When we came in for a tour we observed the children in the classroom in the different activity areas working independently. We thought they planned the tour shedule around that time. We did enroll our daughter based on the other positives we saw and sure enough, each child truly directs their learning, based on their individual needs. The teachers are able to go around the room and work with each child . There is circle time, music time, reading, math, site words, show and tell and various extra curricular activities. If there is an issue of concern, the teachers and the Director Ms. Smith are always receptive to parents questions and keep the Parents well informed. PTA is also good. My daughter looks forward to going to school to learn. That is the foundation we were looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

195-3 Linden Boulevard
Queens, NY 11412
Phone: (718) 723-3967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT