Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abc Preschool & Kindergarten Center

Preschool | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $337,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

My son is graduating kindergarten and I love ABC Preschool. There are not enough words to express the gratitude, love and respects for all the teachers of this school. What is to love about this school? From the huge enclosed backyard to the numerous activities such as zumba, gym, art, music, computer. From a wonderful staff to home cooked meals (soup every day). A great academic program which prepare the kids for elementary school. But most importantly, the attention that each child gets. I cannot thank enough to my son's teachers and I know I will miss them dearly. I wish the school wouldn't stop at kindergarten. This place is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

I love this place. It has a huge enclosed backyard, numerous activities include gym, zumba, computers, art, music, many other things I can't think of off hand. Breakfast, lunch and after nap snack offered daily. Menu is rotated weekly. Lunch consists of salad, SOUP, main entree and a drink. Every week you get a written report from your teacher informing you of activities and studies done as well as your child progress and behavior. The curriculum is strong. Kids even get daily homework which makes them feel as "big boys and girls". My older child came out of ABC with a package of knowledge and in 2nd grade was accepted in the class for advanced kids in PS139. My little one is in a pre-k class now and he loves it! Every afternoon i come to pick up my son from ABC and see him with a huge smile saying, "I had a lot of fun!" Whatever previous disappointed reviews were here, it was between adult and adult, things happen(though, it wasn't a case for me). I felt obligated to write this review because I believe more people need to know about such place as ABC PRE-SCHOOL. And if you are in doubt--check it out for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

In my opinion, the owner was rude when speaking to me and so was her administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

Very good program but how good is office when I call and get big attitude, and they hang up? How good it is that I call in mornings to tell them that my son is not going and still the driver is outside? It's office is no good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

I love the school,the curriculum and the attention each child gets. They have music, & gymnastics,as well as an excellent academic program. They provide home cooked meals for the children unlike some other places. Kids get healthy food everyday including soups. The staff is wonderful and so is the administration. The director is very nice and handles situations well. This is a very good place for little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

My youngest son graduated from ABC last year. I can really say that they did a great job giving him all the tools he needed to be succesful in 1st grade. I am more then pleased with his performance in elementary school and i can not thank his teachers enough !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

My two kids are in this school. One graduated from kindergarten and the other is about to finish. We love the school, especially the curriculum and the attention each child gets. They have music, gym, art, academics and so much more. They provide home cooked meals for the children unlike some other places. Kids actually eat pretty healthy hot food including daily soups. The staff is wonderful and so is the administration. I somewhat agree about one of the directors having a strange way of communicating with parents, but she is really harmless. She is just to be ignored. The other director is very nice and handles situations well. My kids strived in this school and I will miss it wholeheartedly. I wish they at least went up to elementary 3rd grade while the kids are still little. This is a very good place for little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

The teachers there are good. No complaints there. The big complaint is the director, She does not have the Experience to handle a school that size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My daughter goes here, as i did 35 years ago. I remember having a great time, when singing and dancing and cookies and milk were a staple and naptime on cots was a daily ritual. While my daughter cannot commuticate as detailed as i, she comes home singing and dancing and mimicing the teachers. She absolutely has a great time, and even in her terrible two's i noticed the structure of a daily routine has helped her persona. Her tantrums aren't really that bad anymore. There food program is really wonderful too. I had asked myself maybe it was to early for school, but the fact that she learns and plays with children her own age, convinced me that i was doing the right thing. (So much better than staying home and following me around.) I love the the stories everyday that she tells about who did what it is so wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

Best school ever. My son is happy to go to this school! Great teachers and dedicated stuff. I just love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Hispanic 27% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 13% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

66-20 Laurel Hill Boulevard
Queens, NY 11377
Phone: (718) 672-2424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT