Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northport Nursery School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
Northport Nursery School is the best school for my 3-year-old. The teachers are there because they choose to be! The new director, Casi is wonderful. She is very positive and warm. My son looks forward to going to school. I never see a child crying when going into the classroom. My son cried everyday when he attended a prior school. Love this school.. I will be sad when he goes off to Kindergarten, but will know that is he will be well prepared.

Northport Nursery School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
NORTHPORT NURSERY SCHOOL IS THE BEST PRE-K AROUND!! My daughter goes to their 3-year-old afternoon program, with Mrs. Cregan and she is having an absolutely blast. Some of these older posts misrepresent the school by referencing an old director that no longer runs the school. Casino Flynn, our new director is truly a gem. Her warm positivity and adoration for her school shines through each and every time she speaks! This is a cooperative school, where the parents are directly involved in the education of their child. I am personally in my daughter's class at least twice a month. Each child gets plenty of support, encourage and attention from the teacher. They have a teach through play method, which I would descibe as "Structured Montessori." Northport Nursery School is also part of the Northport/ East Northport Universal Pre-k. LOVE OUR SCHOOL,!! I would recommend it to all.


Northport Nursery School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
I adore this school! The playground is awesome with so many fun things to choose from. The curriculum is excellent and incorporates learning with hands on play and experience. The teachers and staff are warm and nurturing. I highly recommend Northport Nursery School

Northport Nursery School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
Northport Nursery School is a very rare offering in the broad spectrum of preschools out there: a cooperative school that expects and enforces significant parent-involvement and one that has a family-style approach to helping young children develop their social and developmental skills. My son and I started in the Mommy & Me program, which lasts the entire school year (meets once a week). In the Spring, we began partial separation, where parents left for part of the two-and-a-half-hour session. Since my son was so comfortable with the other children and teachers, he made a very smooth transition. He was also thrilled that he was able to be on his own at school. Now we are in the young three's class and he is learning to "use his words" to interact with other children and to be a part of a group without his mom around. I love to attend his monthly "special day" when I help out in the classroom. The school has been a very special place for us. The other parents are similarly committed to their children. I highly recommend this school.

Northport Nursery School 5

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
I have two children who are attending this school and we have been and continue to be very happy with the teachers and cooperative philosophy of Northport Nursery School. We have had our children taught by almost all of the teachers at NNS and have never had an issue that was not handled thoughtfully and carefully by all of the teachers as well as the director of the school. Most importantly, my children are happy and excited to attend school here.


Northport Nursery School 3

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
Pros: cooperative program offers the chance to really get involved in your child's education; lovely campus with a great playground; emphasis is on learning through play- socialization is key here. Cons: Unevenness in the faculty. There are teachers here who are out of this world wonderful! This is not the case for everyone. In my personal experience, some simply can't handle a child who is different. I encountered rigidity,a lack of creativity, and just plain meanness. Don't expect efficiency either- the laid-back philosophy extends to losing paperwork, not having calls returned, etc. Most of all, if you are a working mom/dad, you need to insist on being involved. To some at NNS, working means you will not have enough time or energy to devote to the school. Bottom line- get the right teacher, NNS is great. Get the wrong one, it is a waste of time.

Northport Nursery School 4

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
I have two of my children in NNS. This is our second year there. The teachers and staff are wonderful. I love that its a co-op school, It feels like a family enviorment. Its bright, airy, clean, safe and fun!

Northport Nursery School 0
no rating

Posted February 14, 2009
- a parent
My son is currently enrolled in the 3-4 program. This is a wonderful environment for your children. I could not be happier with this school. It is well structured & age appropriate. As a co-operative preschool, it gives the parent the opportunity to assist in the classroom. I am thrilled that my son attends Northport Nursery School!


Northport Nursery School 4

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
Northport Nursery School is a great place to be. I have two children curently enrolled in this school and they both love it. The only downside is that the school does not offer full day classes.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northport Nursery School
103 Laurel Hill Road, Northport, NY  11768
(631) 261-6586
Last modified Northport Nursery School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Northport Nursery School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top