Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Washington Market School 3

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Both of our children have gone to Duane and then Hudson over the last 5 years, and now that the younger one is finally finishing, I feel comfortable rating this school. Our older child is smart, social, and well behaved, but he doesn't fit the cookie cutter mold that Ronnie likes because he is outspoken and has a big personality. Once they decided what kind of kid he was at 3 years old, he was tracked. They recommended him for OT and to have him evaluated for a CEP, neither of which he needed. When it came time to look at ongoing schools, he was given NO HELP whatsoever by the school. Our younger daughter was the opposite. Also smart and well-behaved, she is meeker and softer, so she didn't get the same interventions or tracking, and they were willing to help her find a private ongoing school (she is at Ethical Culture). The thing to understand about WMS is that they have a narrow expectation for your child, and if he or she falls outside their criteria, then expect to be berated into interventions, your child to be tracked, and the school to be no help whatsovever for ongoing schools. I believe that this should clear up the 1-star / 5-star discrepancies you read here.

The Washington Market School 1

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately this school cares more about money than its students. This year they decided to get rid of the 3 day option for students because "5 days is what we think is best for your child" - apparently all children are the same then according to this school - that thinks 5 days is whats best for EVERY child. The driving force here is economics not whats best for the children. I have seen children who have attended the school over the years. Some 3 days, some 5. The three day-ers were no less educated, or socially able than the 5 day-ers and in fact in many circumstances i saw a lot of three day kids that were more advanced (all round) than the 5 day kids. They provided no support behind why they think its best for the kids - they just followed with the pricing for the now mandatory 5 day program. Pushing families that could afford the 2 or 3 day program out because the 5 day program is now out of their means. I think this school started out great with great teachers. I think the administration have ruined it completely, making it about money to the absolute detriment of the children. Also since the storm they have a serious bug problem. with waterbugs on the floor with the kids.


The Washington Market School 1

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
Find a different school for your children. This school is unorganized and uncaring. It's basically a daycare center for the locals in the area. There are a few nice teachers but most of them are just shoveling the children around. From what I can see, there is not much learning happening in the empty curriculum they try to implement which is such a shame and a waste of time. The security is very loose. A child can easily slip out the door. The head of the school is unwelcoming and very closed minded. If your child doesn't fit into this cookie cutter image she has in her head you will definitely have a problem. Not all independent school are good and this one is really not the best, maybe one of the worst I've seen lately. Save yourself the time and aggregation, and your children the trauma , choose another school. This one is very disappointing.

The Washington Market School 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
I'm reading some of the reviews here and it almost seems like they are not talking about the same school my daughter is going to. This is our second year and we have nothing but great things to say about the school. The teachers are very experienced and nurturing. My daughter is thriving there and all of the parents we know there are also very happy with the school.

The Washington Market School 2

Posted April 04, 2009
- a parent
Two very different schools. duane v Hudson. Duane is lovely and Hudson is a mess. Sadly Hudson is under control of the head of the entire operation. In the last several years, the school has more than doubled and the head can't handle it. Stuffing children into corners, dealing with demanding parents with ongoing concerns and basic operational questions has been too much for the head and Hudson has suffered terribly. All love duane street and nearly all dislike or are ambivalent about Hudson. I'd suggest going elsewhere where parent input and interaction is valued.


The Washington Market School 5

Posted August 16, 2008
- a parent
We consider ourselves extremely attentive parents, and spend a great deal of time teaching and observing our children. Our partnership with The Washington Market School has only strengthened our 4-year-old's independence and self-direction. She continues to thrive at WMS and is challenged everyday to do her very best, mentally and physically. Together, we are building a great foundation for her academic life with every day she is in attendance. The administration is top-notch. It has been our experience that each member of the staff, including, and especially, Ronnie Moskowitz, are engaged and personally connected to each child. They are keenly aware of many of the wonderful nuances that make your child who they are. They laud each child's individuality

The Washington Market School 1

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
I have to admit the school must be on the decline. We took our child in due to the schools reputation. It has been a series of dissapointments. They do have a few caring teachers, but the administration seems to have lost touch of the human side of education. Children are often ignored and the basic Montessori principles have been turned into an experiment. Agree with a previous poster; most lead staff is cold and the materials were unchallenging. I did notice they are a corporation. Figures... Changes need to be made to take this school back to whatever standing it used to have. With the few private schools in the city, it is always sad to see subpar ones, but it is always a duty for parents to let other parents know of these issues.

The Washington Market School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2008
- a community member
I am not impressed with this school. I found my childs teachers cold an uninterested in understanding the differences between children. If your child didn't fit the mold they just ignored her. They were not helpful in preparing children for the ERB or in getting them into pvt. school.. I was disappointed


The Washington Market School 5

Posted January 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Washington Market School 5

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
Washington Market is a wonderfully unique place... absolutely the best of the best! We did not experience any teacher turnover, but can understand why it might occur... the expectations of the staff, especially the teachers, is extremely high. WMS understands that each and every day is precious in the life of a young child... it doesn't surprise me that they won't accept anything but the best. We now live Atlanta and realize why this is so important. Anyone can 'teach', but it takes a gift to inspire. Ronnie, the head of the school, cares about each and every child that walks through the door and wants them all to leave 'inspired' not 'programmed' to learn. She was and will always be a true blessing to our daughter and our family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Washington Market School
55 Hudson St, New York, NY  10013
(212) 233-2176
Last modified The Washington Market School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
The Washington Market School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top