Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-K|Private
211 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in Pre-K 3 and she absolutely loves this school. She has thrived academically. She has gone from knowing her alphabets and identifying most of their sounds to reading simple stories in just six months. That is quite an amazing achievement. The teachers and staff are great and very attentive. I am so happy that I found this school. I highly recommend it.

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a parent
My 4 year old son goes to this school. He is learning so much. The principal is very hands on and is very attentive to the children. She also greets each one by their names. The children learn yoga, music, Chinese, (they also have enrichment programs for ballet, piano, swimming and dance). I love this school.


The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
My son is now in Kindergarten and has been in this school since Pre-K 3. I think this school is really well-run. Not only did he learnt to be kind, he's also progressing very well academically! I am so amazed at his progress, in paricular on his reading and comprehension skills. At the start of the Kindergarten school year, he could barely read and sound words out. Now, he can read and do reading comparisons for 2nd Graders! And please note that he hasn't been to any private tutoring, with only minimal help from me (I have to admit that I have only done the minimum, working with him only on his daily worksheet sand reading assignments, which takes only 15 minutes to 1/2 hour daily at the most on average), and that tells you how good a job the school has done! Highly recommended!!

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
My son is currently attending Pre-K 4 at this school and I think this school is wonderful. He absolutely love attending school and he is thriving academically. The teachers and principal are excellent. The quality of instruction is great. This is a great school.

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a parent
The principal knows every child by name! Very organized and kids learn a lot, including Cantonese and Mandarin.


The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
My 4 year old daughter went to summer school and will continue in the fall. She absolutely loves the school and continues to be completely engaged!! The curriculum is great and includes reading (lots), music, gym, art and Chinese. I am really impressed, the principle greets each child by name everyday!! The teachers are knowledgeable, caring and nurturing. I highly recommend this school, my only advice is to sign up early, it fills up quickly and has a long wait list.

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
My son attended this school this past summer only and he loved it. He's learned so much. I'm sorry I didn't find this school sooner and wish he could continue in the fall

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 1

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
My 4 year old daughter has been going to this school for one year and we cannot wait for her to leave for public school. When I spoke to the principal and teacher about my concerns, they immediately said my child was wrong. The teachers do not seem to really know and understand my daughter's needs. I believe this happens because the class sizes are too big. Also the schedule is impossible if you are a working parent. The school has so many holidays and half days. I would not recommend this school.


The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 1

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
My child went to this school for 2 months and was completely miserable. The class sizes are too big with 25 three year olds in a tiny classroom. My child and several of his classmates were constantly having 'accidents' because the teacher could not manage 25 children. They were treated like cattle being herded to the bathroom on a schedule and then forced to wait with the entire class. The principal of the school seems impersonal and lacks a nuturing and positive attitude which young children need when they start their first experience in school. I would not recommend to any parent of a young child.

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School 5

Posted September 17, 2006
- a parent
My 2 and 1/2 years old daughter just started in this school on this past July, 2006. It's a very good school where they emphazie on group playing, sharing, listening to teacher's commands, lining up, and most important, learning how to be independent. My daughter's Chinese has also improved dramatically ever since she has started in this school. The teachers, especially the principle, Ms Eng, are all very caring and attentive. They all know the names of all the kids. Ms Eng is also very knowledgable with each student's inner personality. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is searching for a pre-K school for his/her child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School
10 Confucius Plaza Bsmt 1 Lower Level, New York, NY  10002
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (212) 431-8769
Last modified The Transfiguration Kindergarten School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top