Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-K
Private
New York, NY

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
If you are looking for state of the art, this is not the school for you. However if you are looking for a caring and stimulating learning environment, this school is amazing. We have tried a few different schools for our children and have found Nazareth Nursery Montessori to be first rate. Though the facilities could use some updating, you overlook the superficial when you realize that your kids are learning how to read and multiply at 3 years old. And, even beyond the traditional academics, Nazareth Nursery has an enrichment curriculum that encompasses practical and spiritual life. You would do your children a disservice by not sending them to this school. Its affordable too especially considering it is a Montessori program.

Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went to this school and she did very well after she graduated from Nazareth, kudos to sister Lucy and her team. I am referring my friends children to this school. The teachers are dedicated and the school has a strong leadership. The tuition is reasonable and the education they receive is worth more the money. My daugher was quite advance when she got into first grade, she was prepared and scored well in her state test.


Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
This school is wonderful. In fact, 'wonderful' is an understatement. I firmly believe that it could easily go toe to toe with the fancy private schools and blow them out of the water. My daughter (now 3.5 yrs) started 6 months ago and my son (2 yrs) started a couple of weeks ago. The stuff they come home talking about really blows me away. I am amazed at the strong Catholic curriculum - a big plus in my book. And of course the dedicated Montessori method is wonderful. When it comes to education, you really can't do any better. It's also a very affordable school, but that is low on the list of pros. It's really worth 2 or 3 times what they charge for tuition. Many of the families travel from all over - all 5 boroughs - just to come here. I can't say enough about how great it is. I love love love this school, and look forward to being with them for the next 6 years (I also have a 6 mo old I'll send there).

Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent
Amazing. My three year old came home with a world map she made in class, proudly identifying the 7 continents. The dedication to the individual child is outstanding, remarkable even. She is reading, writing the lowercase alphabet and is developing manners and spiritual awareness in suit. Highly diverse, dedicated caring teachers and an abundance of stimulating, clean, colorful Montessori materials and school pride. Bless Sister Lucy and the entire staff.

Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted November 28, 2006
- a parent
Great school! I am a parent of two young children who attend Nazareth Nursery and I am more than pleased with the school. The teachers are very nurturing and the children are very well mannered. The teachers work with the children at their own pace and they are more than concerned with their overall well being. Sister Lucy is a blessing and I feel safe an secure knowing that my children are in a sound environment. I have been questioned often about traveling outside my borough to send a 2 and 3 year old to school but when its worth it that's what a parent does. In my opinion this school really helps set the pace spiritually and mentally for your young child. I give Nazareth Nursery an A.


Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted June 15, 2006
- a parent
The years that my son spent at the Nazareth Nursery impacted his wonderful development throughout his life. He is now graduating from High School, and every day we still see the values that he learned at Nazareth Nursery guiding his decisions. He is still kind to people, caring and giving. Now he is about to start his adult life by going to college, and I have to stop for this minute and say 'Thank You, Sister Lucy!' The dedication of Sister Lucy and her staff have served, not only my son, but many other children very, very well.

Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
This school is truely outstanding, and perhaps a hidden gem in the West Village area of Manhattan. It is a Montessori school overlooked by Sister Lucy, who is the most giving, and understanding person I've ever met. My son was accepted at the age of 2, and was the youngest one in the school. Every few months, when there is a parent meeting, the teachers show you what your child has learned, as your child will demonstrate it in front of you (and you will definitely be impressed with the individual attention each child gets). Parent involvement is not required, but highly encouraged, including cookie sales, or volunteering time at the nursery. Every Christmas, the children perform a Christmas show. It is a very structured program for the kids, without being strict...the kids love all their teachers! I can not say enough about the school...and it's only $690/month!

Nazareth Nursery 4

Posted April 14, 2006
- a parent
This school is excellent for those who'd like their child to learn discipline, politeness and respect. It's also very 'old school' Catholic, and somewhat rigid. However, you won't find a more economical environment in NYC, with mommy-friendly hours, hot meals and a safe play area. It is also very loving and extremely diverse. My son was reading at age 4, and is one of the most polite kids you'll ever meet. Nazareth was a great boost for him academically.


Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted July 08, 2005
- a parent
I am a parent of a child who graduated from Nazareth Nursery. My child has a wonderful experience. I am so proud of my child and what she had accomplished. Her past 3 years of Nazareth Nursery was all worth it. The teachers are compassionate and dedicated especially' Ms Wilma'. My daughter learn the true value of being in a Montessori program and a catholic environment headed by Sister Lucy. My daughther learn mutiple things much to my surprise, value of the love of God,family and friends. The academic program is great. I highly recommend this school to everybody.

Nazareth Nursery 5

Posted March 01, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nazareth Nursery
216 West 15th Street, New York, NY  10011
(212) 243-1881
Last modified Nazareth Nursery is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Nazareth Nursery Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top