Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Transfiguration Kindergarten School

Preschool | 211 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $525,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2013

My daughter is in Pre-K 3 and she absolutely loves this school. She has thrived academically. She has gone from knowing her alphabets and identifying most of their sounds to reading simple stories in just six months. That is quite an amazing achievement. The teachers and staff are great and very attentive. I am so happy that I found this school. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

My 4 year old son goes to this school. He is learning so much. The principal is very hands on and is very attentive to the children. She also greets each one by their names. The children learn yoga, music, Chinese, (they also have enrichment programs for ballet, piano, swimming and dance). I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

My son is now in Kindergarten and has been in this school since Pre-K 3. I think this school is really well-run. Not only did he learnt to be kind, he's also progressing very well academically! I am so amazed at his progress, in paricular on his reading and comprehension skills. At the start of the Kindergarten school year, he could barely read and sound words out. Now, he can read and do reading comparisons for 2nd Graders! And please note that he hasn't been to any private tutoring, with only minimal help from me (I have to admit that I have only done the minimum, working with him only on his daily worksheet sand reading assignments, which takes only 15 minutes to 1/2 hour daily at the most on average), and that tells you how good a job the school has done! Highly recommended!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

My son is currently attending Pre-K 4 at this school and I think this school is wonderful. He absolutely love attending school and he is thriving academically. The teachers and principal are excellent. The quality of instruction is great. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

The principal knows every child by name! Very organized and kids learn a lot, including Cantonese and Mandarin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My 4 year old daughter went to summer school and will continue in the fall. She absolutely loves the school and continues to be completely engaged!! The curriculum is great and includes reading (lots), music, gym, art and Chinese. I am really impressed, the principle greets each child by name everyday!! The teachers are knowledgeable, caring and nurturing. I highly recommend this school, my only advice is to sign up early, it fills up quickly and has a long wait list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

My son attended this school this past summer only and he loved it. He's learned so much. I'm sorry I didn't find this school sooner and wish he could continue in the fall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My 4 year old daughter has been going to this school for one year and we cannot wait for her to leave for public school. When I spoke to the principal and teacher about my concerns, they immediately said my child was wrong. The teachers do not seem to really know and understand my daughter's needs. I believe this happens because the class sizes are too big. Also the schedule is impossible if you are a working parent. The school has so many holidays and half days. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

My child went to this school for 2 months and was completely miserable. The class sizes are too big with 25 three year olds in a tiny classroom. My child and several of his classmates were constantly having 'accidents' because the teacher could not manage 25 children. They were treated like cattle being herded to the bathroom on a schedule and then forced to wait with the entire class. The principal of the school seems impersonal and lacks a nuturing and positive attitude which young children need when they start their first experience in school. I would not recommend to any parent of a young child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

My 2 and 1/2 years old daughter just started in this school on this past July, 2006. It's a very good school where they emphazie on group playing, sharing, listening to teacher's commands, lining up, and most important, learning how to be independent. My daughter's Chinese has also improved dramatically ever since she has started in this school. The teachers, especially the principle, Ms Eng, are all very caring and attentive. They all know the names of all the kids. Ms Eng is also very knowledgable with each student's inner personality. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is searching for a pre-K school for his/her child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 87% N/A
Two or more races 6% N/A
White 3% 52%
Black 2% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Emily Eng-Tran
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Confucius Plaza Bsmt 1 Lower Level
New York, NY 10002
Phone: (212) 431-8769

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT