Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nazareth Nursery

Preschool | 55 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $925,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2012

If you are looking for state of the art, this is not the school for you. However if you are looking for a caring and stimulating learning environment, this school is amazing. We have tried a few different schools for our children and have found Nazareth Nursery Montessori to be first rate. Though the facilities could use some updating, you overlook the superficial when you realize that your kids are learning how to read and multiply at 3 years old. And, even beyond the traditional academics, Nazareth Nursery has an enrichment curriculum that encompasses practical and spiritual life. You would do your children a disservice by not sending them to this school. Its affordable too especially considering it is a Montessori program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

My daughter went to this school and she did very well after she graduated from Nazareth, kudos to sister Lucy and her team. I am referring my friends children to this school. The teachers are dedicated and the school has a strong leadership. The tuition is reasonable and the education they receive is worth more the money. My daugher was quite advance when she got into first grade, she was prepared and scored well in her state test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

This school is wonderful. In fact, 'wonderful' is an understatement. I firmly believe that it could easily go toe to toe with the fancy private schools and blow them out of the water. My daughter (now 3.5 yrs) started 6 months ago and my son (2 yrs) started a couple of weeks ago. The stuff they come home talking about really blows me away. I am amazed at the strong Catholic curriculum - a big plus in my book. And of course the dedicated Montessori method is wonderful. When it comes to education, you really can't do any better. It's also a very affordable school, but that is low on the list of pros. It's really worth 2 or 3 times what they charge for tuition. Many of the families travel from all over - all 5 boroughs - just to come here. I can't say enough about how great it is. I love love love this school, and look forward to being with them for the next 6 years (I also have a 6 mo old I'll send there).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

Amazing. My three year old came home with a world map she made in class, proudly identifying the 7 continents. The dedication to the individual child is outstanding, remarkable even. She is reading, writing the lowercase alphabet and is developing manners and spiritual awareness in suit. Highly diverse, dedicated caring teachers and an abundance of stimulating, clean, colorful Montessori materials and school pride. Bless Sister Lucy and the entire staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

Great school! I am a parent of two young children who attend Nazareth Nursery and I am more than pleased with the school. The teachers are very nurturing and the children are very well mannered. The teachers work with the children at their own pace and they are more than concerned with their overall well being. Sister Lucy is a blessing and I feel safe an secure knowing that my children are in a sound environment. I have been questioned often about traveling outside my borough to send a 2 and 3 year old to school but when its worth it that's what a parent does. In my opinion this school really helps set the pace spiritually and mentally for your young child. I give Nazareth Nursery an A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

The years that my son spent at the Nazareth Nursery impacted his wonderful development throughout his life. He is now graduating from High School, and every day we still see the values that he learned at Nazareth Nursery guiding his decisions. He is still kind to people, caring and giving. Now he is about to start his adult life by going to college, and I have to stop for this minute and say 'Thank You, Sister Lucy!' The dedication of Sister Lucy and her staff have served, not only my son, but many other children very, very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

This school is truely outstanding, and perhaps a hidden gem in the West Village area of Manhattan. It is a Montessori school overlooked by Sister Lucy, who is the most giving, and understanding person I've ever met. My son was accepted at the age of 2, and was the youngest one in the school. Every few months, when there is a parent meeting, the teachers show you what your child has learned, as your child will demonstrate it in front of you (and you will definitely be impressed with the individual attention each child gets). Parent involvement is not required, but highly encouraged, including cookie sales, or volunteering time at the nursery. Every Christmas, the children perform a Christmas show. It is a very structured program for the kids, without being strict...the kids love all their teachers! I can not say enough about the school...and it's only $690/month!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

This school is excellent for those who'd like their child to learn discipline, politeness and respect. It's also very 'old school' Catholic, and somewhat rigid. However, you won't find a more economical environment in NYC, with mommy-friendly hours, hot meals and a safe play area. It is also very loving and extremely diverse. My son was reading at age 4, and is one of the most polite kids you'll ever meet. Nazareth was a great boost for him academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

I am a parent of a child who graduated from Nazareth Nursery. My child has a wonderful experience. I am so proud of my child and what she had accomplished. Her past 3 years of Nazareth Nursery was all worth it. The teachers are compassionate and dedicated especially' Ms Wilma'. My daughter learn the true value of being in a Montessori program and a catholic environment headed by Sister Lucy. My daughther learn mutiple things much to my surprise, value of the love of God,family and friends. The academic program is great. I highly recommend this school to everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lucy Sabatini
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

216 West 15th Street
New York, NY 10011
Phone: (212) 243-1881

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT