Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Pre School Learning Center

Private | PK-1 | 50 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Rochelle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $419,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

I love this school!! From our initial visit I found everyone to be pleasant and attentive. All of our questions were answered and I never felt concerned about leaving my son there. Everyone in the school knew my son by his first name and he had a great time with all his new friends. He was in the tiny toys program. He learned so much and he can not wait to start school again in a few days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

Firstly, Hope, you could not have made it more obvious that you wrote the last review. I agree with you on all points except for the one teacher you describe as "not nice and disrespectful to parents." I think you forgot how badly you treated her when she took over the class after the teachers child passed away! You made passive aggressive comments to her (that everyone heard) and then you proceeded to bad mouth her in the parking lot. You should be ashamed of yourself, and you owe that teacher a HUGE apology!!! She had to familiarize herself with the teachers plans and implement them, which she did, seamlessly. She's a sweetheart, who ignored you because you were SO rude! I'm glad you won't allow your son to get her, she doesn't deserve to deal with you again! With that being said, this school is only great because of the teachers. Both of my children went through this school from the 2's program through the 4's program. In their time there, all of the teachers remained the same, which was different from some of my friends experiences at other pre-schools. My kids were both reading when they graduated and their K teachers were so impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

My daughter attended PSLC, for 3 years. This school is an academic teaching nursery school. It is structured. My daughter thrived academically. Yes, you are asked to bring in snacks and paper goods twice a year. The cost about 75.00, I did not have a problem with this. Your child will always have a snack and drink. As far as teacher feed back, you receive two progress reports yearly. The only parent involvement is donating supplies for parties. This school has a drop and go philosophy. Joan Godfrey, runs a strong program. She does wonderful pageants and parades for the children. The only improvement really needed is bathroom renovations. Most teachers are pleasant and responsive when spoken to. One pre- k teacher in particular is not nice and disrespectful to parents. I will make sure my younger child does not get her. This is a wonderful school, I would recommend it. Visit the school while class is in session. This starts in January, every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

The Pros: Academically speaking, this school is great. My daughter went here for 2 years & it definitely prepared her for Kindergarten. It also provides for numerous social opportunities & a big perk is the inside gymnasium that the kids use during bad weather. The Cons: Very little feedback about your child's progress is given. Like another parent's comment, you really do have to make an appointment to get any real insight about your child's daily activities & how they are doing. I think this is the school's biggest downfall - poor communication overall. Even on the first day of school, almost no info is given. Parents new to the school just wander around wondering where to go and what to do. Also, the school claims to follow the New Rochelle public school district schedule (which means TWO winter breaks that you still pay for) - however, they seem to close for bad weather even when New Rochelle is open. And they don't warn you (when you are still thinking of enrolling) that you will be asked to provide about $60 worth of paper goods and snacks three separate times (that's an extra $180 in addition to tuition). Again, overall good learning opportunities but bad communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

This is a wonderful school with a strong focus on academics. My son attends pre-k and is reading WELL above his age level! The staff goes above and beyond expectations while laying a solid foundation for future educational growth and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Great School. We are so pleased with our choice of school. Our son went to the pre-school learning center for 2 years and had excelled academically and socially. Teachers go above and beyond. Everyday is celebrated. Many projects are made, Holiday Pagents, Our son loves going to school and looks forward to going back everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My son went here for 1 year and that was for a half day Kindergarten because New Rochelle is still half day in Trinity Elemenatry. I wish I knew then what I know now, I would have put him in the Pre-School Learning Center the entire day. I love his Teacher, the staff is very warm and pleasant and I get a weekly update as to what he learned for the week and what they will learn the following week. The type of work he was doing was a little more advanced than Trinity (where he was bored). I found that they also focused a lot on reading comp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I think this school is excellent. My son would never have been prepard for kindergarten without attending this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 52%
Black 33% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

95 Eastchester Road
New Rochelle, NY 10801
Phone: (914) 654-0339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family School
New Rochelle, NY


Westchester Area School
New Rochelle, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT