Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cleary School For The Deaf 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
I think this school is one of the best schools for the Deaf in New York. Their staff is very concerned with addressing the individual needs of each child. The have an infant program and they go up to a mainstream high school. I am very satisfied with the start my children received here and now they are college graduates!

Cleary School For The Deaf 1

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
I would have given this school zero stars if allowed. I am extremely upset with my child's education...or lack of it at Cleary. My child hates going to school. We are currently looking for an alternative placement for next year.


Cleary School For The Deaf 1

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school...would have given zero stars if allowed!!! Don't be fooled by the administration...they are deceitful, phony and unscrupulous!!!

Cleary School For The Deaf 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a deaf studies student and worked at the Cleary School as an intern - Fabulous program!

Cleary School For The Deaf 0
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a community member
Cleary School for the Deaf is the place to go if you have a Deaf child. I cannot imagine a more compassionate, care group of people taking better care of kids than at Cleary. The staff members truly care for each child and the education is second to none. I highly recommend Cleary School.


Cleary School For The Deaf 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
I moved to New York from Puerto Rico when I was about 8 years old. My parents brought me and my deaf sister to Cleary School for the Deaf. I learned in English and sign language for one year. I also did not learned ASL until late that year later. I graduated in 1986 from Cleary. It was good school. My 1st deaf son attended Cleary when he was infant until 8 years old then went to other school for mainstream class. My second deaf son attends Cleary since infant to now and he's 11 years old. He likes it. Their father is also deaf and graduated from Cleary in 1983. Cleary School is good opportunity for deaf child to learn ASL (American Sign Language) and education. There is deaf social with other deaf kids.

Cleary School For The Deaf 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
This is one of the best schools around, I can not say enough on how wonderful they are to the children and the parents, nothing compares to it. The teachers in the infant program are unbelieveable!!!

Cleary School For The Deaf 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
The Cleary School for the Deaf is a great choice if you have a deaf child and live in Suffolk County. I disagree with parents' that say staff lacks compassion, I think it's just the opposite.. they are so caring with the kids. My child gets more services at Cleary then they would at BOCES/district.


Cleary School For The Deaf 0
no rating

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
Disappointing would be an understatement! They are all talk and little action. Management staff is lacking compassion when dealing with both parents and children. They lead you in with warmth, but the coldness soon follows. Placing my child there was the biggest mistake I ever made. Currently looking for another school. I would never recommend them to anyone. Sorry, but true.

Cleary School For The Deaf 5

Posted September 10, 2007
- a parent
Love this school! Everyone is so nice there and really take care of each child!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cleary School For The Deaf
301 Smithtown Boulevard, Nesconset, NY  11767
(631) 588-0530
Last modified Cleary School For The Deaf is a Private school that serves grade PK
Cleary School For The Deaf Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top