Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
if you want your child to have a great start and discipline not only in education but also character, this is the place. i love it!

Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
I knew this is a good school, the only problem is traffic, I changed to another one.


Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
I am impressed by the quality and standards at Kon Wah. My son graduated from this school last year and currently is advanced in his Kindergarten class. His teacher says I should put him in a gifted program. But I think its due to his foundation at Kon Wah that made him "brighter" than his current peers. My 3 year old daughter attends Kon Wah now, and her teacher and her assistant are amazingly attentive and encourage my daughter to grow (ie: I wanted to have my daughter wear pull-ups, but they encourage me to resist for fear my daughter might regress). This type of suggestion implies not only care but the ability to understand the importance of meeting developmental milestone.

Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
Kon Wah Day school is the one of the best Pre- k .school. My daughter was in this school 11 years ago now she is in 10th grade. Now my another daughter will start pre k from coming September I am so excited I choose this school and I am very happy to have my child in this school all staff are very hard working. The all staff are so loving and very friendly that is the reason I love this school.

Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
I visited many many school in Flushing and Bayside and finally decided to enroll my son at Kon Wah. When compared to the american franchise preschools (Tutor Time / Kiddie Academy) there is a remarkable difference in quality of teachers and discipline. We visited all preschools more than once, and I noticed that Kon Wah, while it's in a dated building, is clean and has all kids under "control". The kids all seem very happy, and it's not always "play time". At two/three years old, the children have 25-30 mins classes on different subjects throughout the day. I also really like that the school serves home cooked food as opposed to microwaved chicken fingers, mac and cheese, PB&J sandwiches. It is a very encouraging environment. While my son has been there for one month, he tells me he likes school. He comes home singing songs he learned. The kids also have very simple "homework" to take home for the weekend, which I think is a good way for working parents to stay in touch with what kids learn in school. I highly reccomend the school, and I hear they will be building a new school in Bayside very soon.


Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted August 15, 2010
- a parent
Sending my two girls to Kon Wah is one of the best decisions we ever made. The teachers are extremely focused on educating and it is obvious they truly enjoy what they do. The great exposure my daughters got to the Chinese language, culture, and dance is something money just can't buy (I'm not Chinese - wife is Chinese). Students from Kon Wah are a year ahead of their age group in math, reading, and every other category. And the children's performances at the graduation ceremony are simply amazing. How much do we love Kon Wah? We moved to Westchester a year ago, but instead of transfering our youngest daughter to one of the "prestigous" local schools, we drove an additional 45 minutes each way for her to have the opportunity to graduate from this fine school. I strongly recommend Kon Wah to all parents.

Kon Wah Day School 4

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
The school is great. My son's class recently put on a Chinese Lunar New Year show for the parents. They did a fabulous job, I was very impressed. I'm very protective of my son, yet I feel he is always in good hands at the school. There is room for improvement. When key teachers are on vacation, I feel there may be too much of a burden left on the remaining staff.

Kon Wah Day School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This is an amazing school It is based on chinese style school system which aims at enriching the all aspects of a child. In a typical day, they learn their abcs, writing, chinese calligraphy and language, dance class, music time, art time, story time, and play time. They also have a gifted class that focuses more on academic(JEI program) but still has all the other aspects. Majority of the children are chinese, but the teachers are from various cultures. They have a preschool graduation every August at the Town Hall in which every graduating class has a dance performance and receives their diplomas. Very cute. Wonderful School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kon Wah Day School
135-27 38th Avenue, Flushing, NY  11354
(718) 353-4388
Last modified Kon Wah Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Kon Wah Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top