Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
I wanted a small setting for my son to begin his educational career. Nothing too overwhelming as bigger schools tend to be. My son loved nursery and now loves his pre k program. Mrs. Levy was wonderful. His current teacher is also fantastic and very hands on. My son has an excellent vocabulary , which this school emphasizes. It would be an insult to give them anything below 5 stars. I can't thank them enough for all their hard work and dedication.

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
Both my son & daughter attended The Corner School for their nursery and Pre-k programs. We couldn't be happier with out choice. The Corner School is like a home away from home for our children. The classrooms are warm & inviting, filled with evidence of both learning and play. The staff is caring, experienced, educated and committed to providing a successful learning experience for our children. As a parent I have always felt welcomed & encouraged to come in and participate in class activities. My son is flourishing in his kindergarten class because of the foundation provided by The Corner School, and I am confident my daughter will have the same success next year.


Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended the Corner School free UPK program this past year. She was in a private nursery school prior to that and I have an older child in public school. I was upset that my daughter did no receive a placement in the UPK at my son's school and in hindsight, because of the tremendous experience we had at the Corner School, I am so thankful she didn't. There are so many schools, including the Corner School, that have great academic programs but very few provide it in the nurturing environment that exists here. As an experienced parent in the school system, I can confidently say that this school is truly special because of the staff's commitment to each child-academically and personally. The size of the school allows for a truly collaborative relationship with the staff and the parents. Parents are always welcome to drop in any time and are encouraged to be active. "Community" is central to this school's spirit and a value that I share in my family; to have that value reinforced in an academic environment with nurturing staff is the best I could have hoped for and received. We feel apart of a family and will try to visit our "corner school" and support it.

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
My 4 year-old attends currently, five days a week 9am - 4pm. We are extremely happy with The Corner School and wish we'd discovered it two years ago. The staff is warm, skilled and accessible, the program in accordance with NYC D.O.E. standards, the facility charming and the rates more than reasonable. There's a great after-hours flexibility as well. My wife and I are both teachers and we did a lot of shopping around and comparing pre-K options. This is a great little school. There is also a bus service associated with the school that we engage - very reliable, very affordable.

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter and son both attended the Corner School from 2008 until this past June, 2012. The nursery and pre-k program prepared them well for kindergarten and they made many great friends. The teachers and instructors are experienced with many years of working with toddlers and pre-schoolers. But most importantly the staff is caring and takes seriously the task of caring for the children. The Corner School is also exceptional because the school is a cooperative and the parents have a significant say in how the program is run.


Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
As a child I attended this school 25 years ago & now as a mother there is no other place I would bring my child! When I was a child I made my mother walk me to school during a blizzard because i did not want to miss a day & now my son is the same way. Just spending a little time in the classroom & its no wonder why my son loves his school so much! The school & staff is warm, welcoming, and nurturing. They understand & respect all children's' abilities & help to develop them as a whole individual. You won't find the drill & kill method of memorizing meaningless information; instead you will find children exploring their world through play. I am a stay-at-home mom, who has my masters in early childhood education & the corner school classroom, staff, & program is developmental appropriate for they children they service. My only regret is that they don't have more grade levels.....who would want to go to the big school when we are soooo comfy in the little neighborhood school house! I love Corner school 25 years ago, I love it today and I can not wait till my daughter is old enough to attend as well...the family tradition lives on =o)

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
My daughter and I love this school! I have had several opportunities to sit in the classroom and interact with the class and was very impressed; the classroom she is in has many learning/activity centers, such as a writing center, puzzle center, arts and crafts center and computer, and also play areas like a kitchen, blocks, etc. Everyday they discuss things like days of the week, weather, numbers...they sing songs that use the alphabet and the children are encouraged to write their names in the art center; they get a book baggie every Friday, but they also have tons of fun. One thing I appreciate is how they focus on manners and how important it is to treat people nicely; when they get ready for snack, they have the children taking turns being helpers throughout the week; they wash their hands, set the table, and everyone is reminded to not eat their snack until the entire classroom is seated. It's little subtle things like these that make a real difference; the outdoor recreation area is wonderful too; the kids loves spending some time there when the weather is nice. It's a very nurturing environment. :)

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted February 19, 2011
- a parent
Been very happy with this school for both my children.The staff is first rate--- teachers & directors care so much for the children with a great deal of individual attention. I've been to several birthday parties & playdates with my child's classmates & the parents talk. We are extremely pleased with our children's progress & loving care at the Corner School.


Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted February 07, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended the corner a school three years ago and my son is currently at the corner school. I am an elementary school teacher and I could only say that both my children and I love the school and have had a very positive experience. Everyone at the Corner school is motherly, professional, and has high expectations for all students. I strongly recomend the Corner school to any parent that wants the best education and safe, loving environment for their child.

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten 5

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
I fell in love with this school the moment I met the director and staff! My daughter is simply thriving in this school -- I wish she could attend again next year! The classrooms are warm and inviting; there are lots of play and recreation stations that each child moves through daily. Every week, she's taught a new song or fun science fact. My refrigerator is entirely covered with her many art projects!

Nearby schools

Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten
150-03 Bayside Avenue, Flushing, NY  11354
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (718) 445-2811
Last modified Corner School Nursery & Kindergarten is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top