Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Little Stars School

Preschool | 70 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $339,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

This school is not worth the money or time. My daughter went there for almost two years. I was fine with the first year, but the second was horrible. Her teacher was unprofessional, absent alot, and never checked homework. She was more interested in my personal life and spoke condescendingly to me. I feel that who the children start the school year off with is who they should end with, she had three different teachers in one year. The teachers are not certified and do not have degrees. This school needs to be closed and the Director needs to care about the quality of teaching that she is offering. The only time I spoke with her was regarding payments. In early childhood there is an open door policy and they do not allow parents past the front door claiming they don't want the shooting and Sandy Hook to happen at their school, but there is no security to prevent this. This school needs to be closed and re-opened with teachers that care for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

My Daughter has been attending this school for almost one year. She has learned so much. She is only four years old however her vocabulary is very intense. She is able to spell and write her entire name. She knows her colors and she can count from 1- 50. The school staff is friendly and her teachers Ms Mary Grace, Ms Samantha and Ms Sonia are awesome. My Daughter is a handful however the teachers and staff are doing a wonderful job overall. Thanks ladies....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

GREAT SCHOOL HOWEVER THE SCHOOL SHOULD INVEST MONEY IN HIRING A NURSE OR SOMEONE WITH MEDICAL OR CLINICAL BACKGROUND. THE STUDENTS SHOULD BE ABLE TO RECEIVE MEDICAL CARE WHEN NEEDED BY A POFESSIONAL ON SITE INSTEAD OF THE TEACHER HAVING TO CONTACT THE PARENTS TO PICK UP THEIR CHILDREN EVERY TIME THEY BECOME ILL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

I have 2 kids at Little Stars School and they LOVE it there. The staff / school is nurturing and makes an effort to give all the kids a firm foundation in all areas. Teachers are exceptional. This is a community with a lot of teacher/parent/student interaction. Really an amazing place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

Both my girls attended Little Stars nursery and pre-k before we moved to Westchester. They were right on level with the other students which made the transition much easier. I found the staff to be very friendly and attentive with a genuine love for the kids. I would highly recommend as it is worth every cent to me when it comes to their care!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

Excellent school but the tuition is really high compared to other schools. My son attended for one year and the cost where too much...The director as well as the owner are not nice people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

My son has been going here for two years now. He has improved so much and is learning a lot. The teachers are very friendly and loving towards all the kids. It is expensive but worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

My son has been going for a year now, nice school, but too expensive for a program that's not even using computers, but teachers are friendly,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

My daughter attended this school for 2 years and learned alot and I loved the school and the teahers are so friendly If I didn't move all of my children would have attended little stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

My daughters in the pre-k program. Fairly decent program. Pricey. A lot of days off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

My son is in the toddler program there... He has advanced so much since being there... Tuition is way to much, but it's worth it...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 21%
Hispanic 42% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christine Degennaro
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4063 Edson Avenue
Bronx, NY 10466
Phone: (718) 994-0604

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT