Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Diki's Day Care Center 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
My son started Diki when he was only two and half and now four. It would be a punishment for him if I didn't take him to Diki Daycare for a day. There was a time I lost my job due to my health issue and I couldn't come up with tuition for the daycare. Ms Diki the director was so kind as she listened to all my problems and told me not to worry until I got back on my feet. She is more worried about my son who was about to attend Public school kindergarten will lose his school readiness routine if I keep him home. Danny had a wonderful preschool years at Diki and now he is doing so well in school. I still feel so grateful for this wonderful preschool and the owner who is more of a living angle than a business director.

Diki's Day Care Center 3

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
I completely agree with the parent who stated that a child's safety comes first. I do not understand the other parent's comment about "everybody loses their child at some point"...that statement does not warrant a comment. In any event, recently, there was an incident at Diki Discovery Center which caused their facilities to shutdown. I will not elaborate on what occurred but I will say that it was totally preventable. My daughter had been attending Diki for almost a year and, generally speaking, we were pleased. Overall, the caregivers were warm and loving towards my daughter. I felt comfortable leaving my daughter in their hands. The major mistakes they made were inadequate, unqualified staff and the lack of a "receptionist" to monitor not only who goes out, but who comes in to the establishment. Those are big ones! Had they taken proper steps to correct these two "flaws", they would be in good standing today. It is a shame because the caregivers in Diki Discovery were quite pleasant and loving. I really hope the Director/Owner learned a serious lesson and will not allow greed to cloud her judgment when it comes to the safety of the children.


Diki's Day Care Center 1

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
In response to the comments. If u read my post correctly. I never said I had a bad experience with the teachers. My concern was the safety of the children. Giving access to the floors without verifying who they are is irresponsible. A child's safety comes first. As a concerned parent I wanted to share my concern w/ other parents. If you want to call me a "mean spirited individual" for telling the truth, then I accept the title as long as the safety of a child comes first and parents are aware of certain circumstances that have happened. I wish this was a false accusation. Unfortunately it happened, I was there. If any parent would have seen how upset and scared this 3 yr old was, u would have done the same thing. Considering they tried to cover what really happened before knowing someone saw what happened. As for the ignorant person talking about people leaving a child in a supermarket...Are you kidding me? I truly hope you have no children. The only thing I suffer from is being a good parent. Knowing safety comes first. I'm sure they have taken the necessary steps to correct this issue. I thank all the teachers in Diki for there time with my child..Again my issue was safety...

Diki's Day Care Center 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
AS A PARENT THAT HAD A CHILD IN THE CENTER FOR ALMOST 5 YEARS,I HAD ABSOLUTELY NO NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE WITH THEM,THE STAFF PERFORMS IN THE BEST I'VE SEEING..LOVING ,CARING AND VERY WARM,THEY TREAT THE KIDS AS IF THEY WERE THEIR OWN,SORRY ! MY SON HAD TO LEAVE FOR A CHARTER SCHOOL THIS YEAR. I WILL NOT THINK TWICE TO BRING HIM IN FOR SUMMER CAMP,AND OUT OF ALL THE LOVING TEACHERS,MISS TENZIN LHAMO WAS THE GREATEST AND CARING. MY SON AND I LOVE YOU AND WILL STAND BY YOUR SIDE. ATIKA & HAMZA

Diki's Day Care Center 5

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
Diki daycare staffs, Everybady makes mistake even parents will loss their child couple misutes in supermarket. We still have faith in you as you are so wonderful and our child loves you like a family. You have our full support and we are waiting for our child to return to Diki Daycare soon. Amira


Diki's Day Care Center 5

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
the parent who brough(wrote) those false accusation against Diki daycare must be a lonely and depressed individual who suffers when others succeed and who thrives when others suffer. I don't think you are a present parent with child enrolled at Diki daycare because you lack the common Diki daycare experience that rest of us have. I feel so bad for your kid to have such a morally corrupted and mean spirited individual for parent.

Diki's Day Care Center 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
The staff treat the kids like family and make the parents very aware of all that is going on with the kids. I am very happy with the staff and over all experience. My 7 year old (who is now in the afterschool program) has been going there since he was 3 and loves going there everyday!

Diki's Day Care Center 5

Posted December 27, 2010
- a parent
Diki Daycare is absolutely wonderful. My son has been attending for over a year now and we could not have made a better choice. The place is very clean and the staff is warm and caring. We are very happy and we highly recommend it to any parent looking for a day care.


Diki's Day Care Center 4

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Diki Daycare is wonderful, the teachers are patient and kind and the children always look clean and happy. My son has only been there a short time and already is thriving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Diki's Day Care Center
31-24 38th Street, Astoria, NY  11103
Last modified Diki's Day Care Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Diki's Day Care Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top