Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
First - Ignore the two negative reviews from 11/19/12. Not sure where that came from, but this can t be true. We've had our son in Covenant for two years and our daughter for one year and have never experienced anything remotely close to that review. Our kids are excited each morning to go to school. I take an active role in my kid s school lives and drop off/pickup as much as possible and volunteer as much as I can to give the teachers an extra hand. We ve been so happy with this school, the director, and the teachers. Everything is hands-on with lots of activities (many related to holidays and local events), craft projects, learning projects, and other cool things that kids love to do. Snacks are healthy and the staff encourages the parents to bring healthy lunches. There s a good balance between class time and outside play time too. Covenant Corner is more of a social preschool than a structured environment (Montessori), and works well for us and the other kids and parents too. We will continue to recommend this preschool to all of our friends.

Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has gone to Covenant Corner for two years and absolutely loves her school days. We visited several preschools before choosing Covenant Corner. I love it's small size (one multi-age class) and the teachers are bright, engaging, "fun", encouraging, warm and caring and they really understand young children and how they learn. I thoroughly trust their judgement and wisdom. I was worried about my daughter starting school soon after she turned two, but from the first day, she has been eager to go to school and often hides from me when I arrive to pick her up, as she doesn't want her school day to end. I'm incredibly grateful to have found this school!


Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
I recommend the Covenant Corner school with no hesitation. My son has been attending this school for second year and my daughter started attending it as soon as she turned 2. There were multiple times when my daughter was entertained by one of the teachers while I chatted with other teacher or a parent. No wonder she was in tears most of the time when we left her brother there. Now they both are very happy. Teachers are always friendly, respectful, attentive and gentle. I love how they incorporate playing with teaching! I like that it is a small school and that the classroom has a mixed age groups. Older children are learning to be patient and gentle with little ones and the little ones are learning from older kids. I am very glad my husband and I chose this school.

Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
I love this preschool. My children have been treated with nothing other than repsect, caring and love. They have both learned so much, not only about educational ideas, but about how to treat each other and the children around them. They have made wonderful new friends and wake up every school morning excited to go. The teachers are great. They do not give in to the childrens' every whim. They teach them how to respect each other, take turns and play safely. They sing with them, laugh with them, read to them and get down on the floor and play. After the school shooting in Connecticut, there was not a doubt in my mind that any of the teachers would put themselves between my child and a gunman. I believe they truly love my kids. The other parents (most of them) are wonderful to be around. Some stay and play with the kids and some have to run off to work. Regardless, they all seem to know all of the kids and always smile at all the children. We moved to Albuquerque not knowing anyone or knowing anything about the city. The minute I walked into Covenant Corner Preschool I, and my children, were made to feel like I was part of their family.

Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
First of all, my son has been at this school for almost two years and will continue there until kindergarten. My other child will be starting soon and will stay there until kindergarten also. This is because I absolutely love the school and teachers. They treat every single child like their own. My son is a pretty sensitive guy and they not only support and foster his sensitivity, but have also taught him how to be independent and speak for himself. He has absolutely blossomed into his own at this school and it because of the teachers. The school is small and the teacher to student ratio is low. I know this because I visited multiple other preschool programs before visiting this one. They integrate play and education seamlessly through a semi structured day. One of my biggest concerns in looking for a school was how much time my child could be outside. I was so happy to find this school values outside time as much as I did. Children are happily playing and learning at all times! The negative comment about this school surprises me. I can not imagine a child being scolded like stated or a parent being threatened. We love this school and have only positive things to say about them!


Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is excited each day to go to school. The teachers are patient and kind and really do nurture each child. I appreciate that they are preparing the kids to be responsible and respectful in a caring environment. I love that they give the kids time to play and be kids, but also have structured time, as both are important. The teachers incorporate art and music in to the day and I really love how much time the kids spend outdoors. This is such a lovely family environment--most parents love to hang around and chat with other parents and the teachers. Many of us have to coax our children to go home! I know that the teachers have my child's best interest in mind. I also appreciate the flexibility and open dialogue--the teachers and parents all talk with one another and concerns are addressed in a respectful manner. I have no hesitation recommending this school as it's done wonders for my daughter and I am excited to send my son there in the fall.

Covenant Corner Pre-School 2

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
First day, my 2yo started sweeping. A teacher yelled, Put that broom down, that's not for you! My daughter burst into tears. There was no kind explanation. Several other things happened that concerned me. I visited during music time. A man was playing guitar. A 2yo boy excitedly stood up. The teacher sat him down and said face forward, and watch him. Every time he turned his body, she would roughly turn his body straight and scold him. The last straw was during a Valentines party. We got there a little late so I asked someone if my daughter could still give out her Valentines. She said yes, plenty of time, so we sat down. We saw her friend across the circle with a big open space next to her so we moved. The Director angrily told me to move back to my place. I asked, since there was plenty of room for everyone, couldn't we stay? She threatened me and said if I didn't move back to my spot she would kick me out of the school! I disenrolled, then had a conference with her. She accused me of trying to have my daugher go ahead of all the other children to give Valentines. The teachers were good people, but irritated and easy to anger. Not how I want my daugher or myself treated.

Covenant Corner Pre-School 2

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
I didn't think the staff was kind enough to the children. They did not keep up with the latest parenting and child development information such as positive discipline etc...


Covenant Corner Pre-School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
Great, flexible program. My son is starting his second year here and we both love it. It's a small program (all ages, 2-5 are together), with lots of one-on-one, loving attention by the teachers. My son really enjoys going to school. Highly recommend Covenant Corner!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Covenant Corner Pre-School
9315 Candelaria Road Northeast, Albuquerque, NM  87112
(505) 299-3621
Last modified Covenant Corner Pre-School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Covenant Corner Pre-School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top