Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-K
Private
Voorhees Township, NJ

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent here for 5 years and I have two children. I have to say the school as a whole has gone through a little bit of a turn over but for the better. I loved the school from the start but I can see the school growing and the teachers coming together and my children are even happier to be at school. My oldest now asks me on Sunday if he can go to school. It is a good feeling when both boys love their teachers and love going to school. The daily reports used to consist of a copied report that was the same for every child; I now get a personalized daily report for both boys. The communication from the office is great. I get emails once a month to update me on activities and what is happening that month. The office staff is also always willing to listen to my concerns or just listen to me vent if I had a bad day ( I know they are not obligated to do but it s so nice to know they are willing to listen) I have had a lot of personal things going on at home. The school has been such a supporting stable support for my children and my entire family. They are truly an extension of my family. I would recommend this school to everyone.

Chesterbrook Academy 3

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Quality of teachers is highly variable. Some are caring, compassionate and warm. Others are unapproachable and poor communicators. Some classes are too large, leading to a serious lack of individualized attention. For instance, my 2 year old came home with poopy underwear. I was told by the teacher that "our policy states we can't help them wipe unless they ask". Unacceptable. One of the many reasons we are leaving. For the high prices they charge, they should provide better care. Principal and assistant are helpful, and some teachers are very good, but I cannot recommend this school to others.


Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
Excellent is all I have to say! I have twins that started at Chesterbrook when they were just 3 months old! We have had nothing but great experiences with every classroom they have been in, they love going to school and even ask to go on the weekends! They are learning and having fun! I recommend Chesterbrook Voorhees to anyone who asks!

Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
This school is amazing! They make my whole family feel welcome. The communication from the office and the teachers is outstanding and my kids love going to school! My son started as an infant and is now in the pre-k classroom and he has learned so much! My daughter started in the infant room and is now a toddler, she comes home knowing her colors and shapes and I can tell her teachers really care about her! I recommend Chesterbrook to anyone I meet who is looking for a school for their children.

Chesterbrook Academy 4

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
this school has an excellent principal and several really wonderful teachers. They are always willing to listen to parent feedback and are great at staying connected with parents.


Chesterbrook Academy 1

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
Unfortunately, our family's experience at Chesterbrook was very poor. The director tried very hard to keep us there, but the teachers lacked any real compassion or care for the infants. For example, I would drop my son off and the teachers would usually be engaged in conversation with one another, so I would have to interrupt to ask where to put my 6 mo old son before I left, and the answer was usually to put him in one of the empty exersaucers. When I would call to check in, they would act like I was a hassle. When I would pick up, my son would usually be crying, and the teacher would be trying to soothe him with a pacifier instead of simply holding him for a few minutes (which was all babies need!). It was heartbreaking, and the teachers seem too burned out to put in any real effort.

Chesterbrook Academy 2

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I am very dissatisfied with my experience with Chesterbrook Academy Voorhees. There is a lack of customer service on the part of the staff. The management rarely interacts with parents as we pass their office each morning. The teachers are burned out as the child to staff ratio is too high. I rarely saw the teachers interacting with the students and I feel that it is more of a babysitting service. They even let the children watch movies, such as Nemo. I assume this gives them a chance to get a break because Nemo is not academic. The teacher in my son's class 'tell kids who are behaving rudely that they are being fresh or that they are being rude'. Therefore negative language is used versus positive language and that is not age- appropriate for 2 year olds or any child for that matter. Looking for an academic school now.

Chesterbrook Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 19, 2010
- a parent
This is a very academic daycare. The pre-k and kingergartgen are very scholastic and my children were advanced in terms of schoolwork when they entered the public schools.


Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at Chesterbrook since he was 4 months old and I am very satisfied. The teachers are loving and affectionate and the teaching seems age appropriate. Sure he watches a movie on Fridays but he is there for 8-9 hours a day and I am OK with him having some downtime. I need to go to work and it's easier to do when I know my son safe, happy and loved.

Chesterbrook Academy 2

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
I am sorry that I have to write this...Chesterbrook certainly did not meet my expectations on cleanleness, communication and concern for my child. I must agree with the 2 previous messages left concerning the teachers being burnt out. It was not as organized as I thought it would be and I do not see where they followed the guidelines that they set forth. I am in the process of looking for a new place. If anyone has any suggestions, please advise. Thank you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chesterbrook Academy
9000 Centennial Boulevard, Voorhees Township, NJ  08043
(856) 751-1930
Last modified Chesterbrook Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Chesterbrook Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top