Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Children's House Inc 5

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
After visiting a variety of preschools, I knew TCH was the right choice for my daughter. The school itself is cheerful, friendly and inviting just like the teachers and staff who work there. At 2 1/2 years old, my daughter loves going to school each day and has learned so much. The most important teachings have been the life skills she has developed such as patience, responsibility and independence. I'm couldn't be happier with The Children's House and my daughter's positive development!

Children's House Inc 5

Posted January 05, 2012
- a parent
I also have to disagree to the person who posted on January 1st. Your facts are completely inaccurate. There were 17 children in that class you are referring too. Of those 17 kids, 10 graduated and went off to kindergarten, 2 children returned to The Children's House and 5 children left the school. Of the 5 children who left the school, not all of them followed the teacher you are also referring too. This paints quite a different picture than you describe. I have had 3 children go through the The Children's House, 2 of which are still attending. It has been an overwhelmingly amazing experience for my children. They are beyond prepared for the next steps of their lives when they leave that school.


Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
I have no idea what the past person is talking about! I have found The Childrens House to be the best experience ever! I did alot of work to find the right school for my child and I wasnt wrong. I find the teachers to be warm, enriching, just the best you could hope for. The head teachers are all montessori certified. I could not ask for a better school for my child. I will be sending all my children to The Children's House.

Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
We transferred to The Children's House in October last year after being displeased with our previous preschool. We looked at 3 other Montessori schools in our area and The Children's House stood out to my children and me. The staff members were warm and welcoming and I felt right at home. They welcomed my children into the room right away and made them feel like part of the class. I have been so very impressed with the staff, they are all certified Montessori teachers and are extremely caring. The teachers contact me to provide feedback about my children's progress and are willing to welcome parents into the classroom to read to the children or observe. I have recommended The Children's House to many people because I believe the Montessori education the children are receiving at this school is above and beyond other Montessori schools in this area. My oldest daughter goes to the kindergarten enrichment class - the work they are doing is amazing. She ran her own art gallery and her own pizzeria - all while learning about money, marketing, cooking, and staying organized. She isn't getting anything like this in kindergarten!

Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
An amazing place for your children to learn and grow! A few years ago, I did an extensive search of Montessori and other preschools in Essex County and we chose TCH as the best place for our children. My children loved the warm and caring atmosphere, and learned more than I imagined about reading, writing, math, being independant and loveing school, all in a safe and wonderful place. We were at TCH before, during and after the staff turnover mentioned in the negative comments; the school, while always great, was SO MUCH BETTER after those changes! A wonderful place.


Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a teacher
It has been an absolute pleasure to work at The Children's House. The staff is compromised of an amazing group of hard-working, dedicated women. While the school is like a home away from home for the children, the staff is family. A school full of love and respect!

Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
I am so happy to say 2 of my three children graduated from this preschool and are thriving in Kindergarten and now 1st grade. It really has instilled a love of learning at a very young age, not to mention the confidence they came out of the program with. My youngest is there now and I have seen a great change in her confidence and focusing ability. The staff is amazing! They have such a unique understanding of how to build up these children individually! I would recommend to everyone!

Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
My oldest son recently graduated from The Children's House and is thriving in a public school kindergarten. My second child is expected to begin K next year and I know he'll be ready. It's a nurturing, fun, kind yet academic environment where the kids truly enjoy learning how to learn. The classrooms are orderly, uncluttered, open, bright and a lovely environment for children to start school. We have enjoyed TCH for almost 6 years and will continue to enjoy it for several more as my third child will soon join TCH as well. The teachers are beyond dedicated, passionate and professional and truly encourage each child to prosper in their own way. It's an incredible start to their educational journey. Best value around and we looked at 6 competitive preschools in surrounding towns before we came to TCH. We're here to stay!


Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
I had 2 children in the school for 3 years each. It is a great school with fantastic teachers! I look forwrad to starting my third at The Children's House.

Children's House Inc 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
When I first looked at The Children's House I only had a vague idea of what Montessori is. What I saw was classrooms with interesting activities, children who were enjoying learning, and teachers who were really dedicated to the children. Now that I have one graduate and one child currently enrolled I've learned it's that and more. The teachers truly love the children, the children in turn enjoy the time at school, enjoy learning, and come out with a wonderful understanding of their world, with a broad understanding of so many subjects I would have thought "too hard" for pre-schoolers. The program is not and "academic" one, it focuses on the whole child: my kids have learned to be kind and courteous, they have learned how to dress themselves, and they have learned how to contribute to the world around them. I just love this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children's House Inc
26 Montrose Avenue, Verona, NJ  07044
(973) 857-1234
Last modified Children's House Inc is a Private school that serves grade PK
Children's House Inc Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top