Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK
Private
Rutherford, NJ
Students enrolled: 76
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love this place. My 2 year old daughter has been going there since she was 8 months old. She has grown into such a smart girl and we owe a lot to the excellent programs offered by RMS. Highly recommended!

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent who 2 children have attended RMS for a period over 4 years. The director and staff are amazing, warm, friendly, and loving. Who ever is posting the previous review couldn't be more incorrect. First, toddler rooms are upstairs, not downstairs, all classrooms downstairs although basement level have windows, and each classroom has been freshly painted with beautiful bright colors. My question would be if you found the staff to be stern, mean, and alarming, why would you want a phone call back to go for a visit. Your review makes no sense!!! We couldn't be happier with the school and staff!! Visit for yourself and form your own opinon, you won't be disappointed!!


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
I highly recommend this school and their teachers. My three daughters attended the school for over 3 years and they loved their experience (we recently moved so no longer attend). In that time, my girls were happy and excited each day to attend the Montessori school and never complained of any student or teacher. My experience was equally the same, I felt very safe and confident leaving my precious children in their hands. The school has a great, nurturing, one of a kind Staff - great experience with Miss Stacey, Ms. Rebecca, Ms. Cathy, Ms. Angelina, Ms. Peggy. The teachers go out of their way to create really wonderful and creative academic lessons and projects. I was alway impressed by the artwork and academics my daughters brought home. All in all, Rutherford Montessori is a well rounded school where they are focused on shaping our children into confident, kind hearted, community minded individuals.

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
We are so glad that we chose the Rutherford Montessori School for our daughter. Prior to choosing this school we interviewed 7 other preschools. My 3 year old had behavior issues and had never been left with anyone other than her parents or grandparents. After just 6 months at the school my daughter is no longer experiencing behavioral problems, she can write her entire name and she is speaking to us in Spanish! The staff is warm, loving and amazing at what they do. We have peace of mind when we drop her off each morning and there are days when we pick her up in the afternoon and she does not want to leave. I would highly recommend this school to any parent looking for a loving environment and great academic program for their child.

Rutherford Montessori School 2

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
Meh, Great for babies, fabulous infant staff. Questionable academics, kindergarten prep, & very rigid approach. Not a good fit for our little girl, but ok. The director was the deciding factor for us. Not pleasant.


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a parent
Education with a fantastic staff and top quality owners running the school, what more could any parent ask for? I'm a total Manhattan gal and having to leave was beyond difficult, but what made it bearable was finding this fantastic preschool to bring my daughter to daily. We started her at 18 months and she just finished up her last year. We are so sad to leave the comfort and kindness this school provides. And on a personal note, I have met a fantastic set of new friends here in Rutherford that are parents to other students at the school. In truth, my home number is an old fax number to another local preschool that I have been trying to have changed for FIVE years. Every time I receive one of these calls, I give the caller the number to the Rutherford Montessori. My daughter is reading better than many first graders and she's just starting kindergarten. Kudos to the Rutherford Montessori, you deserve more than five stars. Thank you!

Rutherford Montessori School 1

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
I agree with all the negative reviews! My advice to parents is to interview different schools before you put your child into this daycare. I am a parent who had to pull her son out of this school because they favor some children over others, which is very painful for kids and couple of my friends withdrew their children for the same reason!! I wish they were honest and sincere in their practice specially that parents intrusted them with their children!!

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended RMS from the age of 3-6 years old.Before enrolling her I visited 2 other nearby schools and did not get the same feeling I got when I came here. The director greeted us right away with a warm smile and was very detailed with all aspects of the school. I, like most parents, came with a list of questions to ask and to my suprise they were all answered before I even asked them. There were always fun things for the children to participate in such as a christmas show, trunk or treat where the children parade outside in their halloween costumes, and they even get a visit from Mr. Chris and the fire truck during fire prevention week, as well as many other activities during the year. Not to mention the amount of things my daughter was learning everyday, from science experiments, to writing, cutting, glueing, and even reading short stories! The staff here is completly amazing, and attentive to the children. Also as a new mother I went to them for advice and they would always guide me in the right direction.My daughter is now in 1st grade and was completly prepared for it, I recently found out I was pregnant and without a doubt I will be enrolling my little one in RMS!


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
I would like to take a moment and say to anyone looking for a warm, caring, loving school need not look any further than Rutherford Montessori! The Director, is very much involved in the day to day operations of the school, very hands on. The staff is always caring and understanding to each childs needs. As a working mother of 2 children I can honestly say when I leave my children, I can go to work knowing that my children are happy and very well cared for. Just a really nice place for children to be if they can't be home!

Rutherford Montessori School 1

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
I am very disappointed with management. the administration and the attention to the kids & parents is very poor. they do not pay attention to the child. i do not recommend this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rutherford Montessori School
128 West Passaic Avenue, Rutherford, NJ  07070
(201) 842-1515
Last modified Rutherford Montessori School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Rutherford Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top