Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

27 reviews of this school


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
Being a first time mommy, researching schools for my daughter was very stressful. I am so happy that I made the best decision putting my daughter into Rutherford Montessori School. Diane the owner and all of the teachers are the absolute best. They treat the kids and parents as if its one family! What a relief as a parent to drop off my daughter knowing she is in great hands. My daughter is learning so much there and she is so happy! Currently she is in Miss Cathy's class, and I have to say my daughter absolutely loves and respects her. It is great to see my daughter grow in this environment. Miss Cathy, all the other teachers and all assistants genuinely care! Diane and her husband make it so easy to contact them anytime about anything. They really have such a great foundation for all! They all really put their heart and time into molding my daughters development and the other kids too! It is so comforting knowing that all the other teachers are also close to the kids and really go our of their way to know them. I wish the school extended beyond 5 years old!

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
I have enrolled my daughter in Rutherford Montessori School for the past two years. She has learned so much by being there. As an educational administrator with a doctorate degree, it was important to scrutinize the educational choices for my children before choosing a preschool. This was hands-down the best choice I've made so far for them. I highly recommend this school and suggest that anyone interested in sending their child to RMS come for a visit!


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
Our family s experience at Rutherford Montessori has been incredible. The owner/director is very experienced & devoted to the students & staff. She is very careful in choosing her staff & designed her program to leverage their strengths to support your child s development. Miss Anna, Miss Rosanna, & Miss Rita are unbelievably warm & loving. Miss Cathy & Miss Peggy transition the children from babies to big kids learning their letters & numbers, drinking from real cups, walking with their class (vs. strollers). They focus on learning through play & teaching the children to be kind to one another. They are also amazing storytellers :o), Miss Sandra & Miss Angelina really help the children develop confidence in their new found independence, learning how to write & use scissors, Miss Stacey & Miss Rebecca prepare the children for Kindergarten academically & socially. I have learned a lot from observing how Miss Stacey teaches the children to resolve conflicts. Staff turnover is very low because Diane & Chris treat their staff very well. The teachers know they are supported & any resources they need or think the children will enjoy are provided.

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
The school has many wonderful traditions which the children and families enjoy. Some of these include the annual Halloween Parade followed by Trunk or Treat, annual Christmas Show, Mother s Day Breakfast, Donuts with dad Father s Day Celebration, Pumpkin picking field trip, Fire safety week, trike a thon, and Thanksgiving feast & recipe books the PreK3 and 4 participate in. All of the teachers are very creative. They take pride in designing their bulletin boards and displaying the children s work. I marvel over the beautiful projects the children come home with. My keepsake folders are already busting at the seams. The PreK 4 classroom is equipped with a smart board which is utilized to support weekly lessons. The children are also introduced to Spanish which is very integrated into the curriculum. The summer camp includes diverse weekly themes which all of the activities are centered around. RMS has become an extension of our family. The friendships we have made will continue well beyond graduation.

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
With an energetic and independent toddler all I can say is that this school fits the needs of our daughter to a T. They let her be who she is and they care for each child's individuality the same way. Every single member of the staff is kind and careful of all the children who attend this school. They are responsible, caring and understanding. They are flexible and devoted to the safety and health of all the kids. To those parents who nitpick about small things and not see the school for the GEM that it is I say- go elsewhere and let the people on their waiting list enjoy this amazing group of people, and allow them to care and love your child. Because that is exactly what they are going to do! Just a few things I love about this school -weekly newsletter curriculum for all the classes so you know what they are learning -monthly menu broken down by day so you know what your child is eating that day -summer camp -pumpkin patch visit (highly supervised) -Halloween parade and trunk or treat -Christmas pageant -spirit week where they dress up -petting zoo. No wonder my daughter loves going to school! Honestly I would not go anywhere else.


Rutherford Montessori School 1

Posted December 23, 2014
- a parent
*They watch TV constantly. There is a TV in every room. Policy states 30 minutes a day, but they are watching upwards of 2 hours daily. *Owner/ director is not there during standard drop off and pick up times. *They never answer the phones. *Feed the babies Juice and pop tarts. *Small room size *Close constantly for snow... even 1/2" *Takes many more holidays than other schools in the town.

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent who 2 children have attended RMS for a period over 4 years. The director and staff are amazing, warm, friendly, and loving. Who ever is posting the previous review couldn't be more incorrect. First, toddler rooms are upstairs, not downstairs, all classrooms downstairs although basement level have windows, and each classroom has been freshly painted with beautiful bright colors. My question would be if you found the staff to be stern, mean, and alarming, why would you want a phone call back to go for a visit. Your review makes no sense!!! We couldn't be happier with the school and staff!! Visit for yourself and form your own opinon, you won't be disappointed!!

Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
I highly recommend this school and their teachers. My three daughters attended the school for over 3 years and they loved their experience (we recently moved so no longer attend). In that time, my girls were happy and excited each day to attend the Montessori school and never complained of any student or teacher. My experience was equally the same, I felt very safe and confident leaving my precious children in their hands. The school has a great, nurturing, one of a kind Staff - great experience with Miss Stacey, Ms. Rebecca, Ms. Cathy, Ms. Angelina, Ms. Peggy. The teachers go out of their way to create really wonderful and creative academic lessons and projects. I was alway impressed by the artwork and academics my daughters brought home. All in all, Rutherford Montessori is a well rounded school where they are focused on shaping our children into confident, kind hearted, community minded individuals.


Rutherford Montessori School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
We are so glad that we chose the Rutherford Montessori School for our daughter. Prior to choosing this school we interviewed 7 other preschools. My 3 year old had behavior issues and had never been left with anyone other than her parents or grandparents. After just 6 months at the school my daughter is no longer experiencing behavioral problems, she can write her entire name and she is speaking to us in Spanish! The staff is warm, loving and amazing at what they do. We have peace of mind when we drop her off each morning and there are days when we pick her up in the afternoon and she does not want to leave. I would highly recommend this school to any parent looking for a loving environment and great academic program for their child.

Rutherford Montessori School 2

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
Meh, Great for babies, fabulous infant staff. Questionable academics, kindergarten prep, & very rigid approach. Not a good fit for our little girl, but ok. The director was the deciding factor for us. Not pleasant.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rutherford Montessori School
128 West Passaic Avenue, Rutherford, NJ  07070
(201) 842-1515
Last modified Rutherford Montessori School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Rutherford Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top