Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Family Day Nursery School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
My son is in Pre-K this year and has attended all three years. Initially we had planned to send him to a Montessori school but at the last minute went to the open house at Holy Family. My first impression was that I have never seen a cleaner preschool in my life. The floors gleam, you could eat off of them! I was apprehensive about sending my son to a catholic school since I was not raised catholic, however my husband is. After almost 3 years I can honestly say I am extremely happy that my son went to this school, & we are now looking at Catholic schools for K-8. All of the sisters are so caring and loving and all of the children learn care and respect. The only drawback of this school is that you do not get reports from the sisters about what/how your child does. I was concerned about this at first but have accepted it and I just make sure I ask questions of the sisters if needed. I can't say enough good things about this school. My son has learned so much and flourished here. I feel that he is well prepared for kindergarten from an educational and emotional perspective. I will miss this school and the sisters. I think that this is one of the best preschools in the county.

Holy Family Day Nursery School 5

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
Our son started school in September 2011 and did not talk He actually was receiving early intervention services for speech. We noticed in November that he just started talking and now he speaks in full sentences They have a great curriculum when I arrive to pick him up he is usually sitting with a group of students doing activities I prefer my son exposed to educational activities versus playing all day. The sisters love what they do and it show we are thrilled and can t express how grateful we are that our son has improved so much and does not need any early intervention services.


Holy Family Day Nursery School 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
I never write reviews... but I love this school too much not to! I have two daughters, one of them is in pre-k, and the other one graduated last year and is doing great in kindergarten thanks to this school. I have only good things to say about Holy Family, my girls love it, they love the sisters and they've never complained to me about anything. Their curriculum is great, so I am going to disagree with a previous post stating it's not; and complaining the kids watch too much tv. The kids do watch tv before and after school hours: 8am to 3:30pm, but kids who arrive early (7am-8am) and leave late (4:30-5:30pm) usually watch tv during winter months. Otherwise, summer, spring and nice fall days they spend their free time in the play ground.... where the sisters are always giving them snacks and keeping them hydrated (milk, juice and water). They have a nice May's Crowning program, and for kids in pre-k they also have a Christmas play which is really nice and the Graduation program which was so far the best thing I've experienced in this school... really cool and a lot of hard work for the sisters! Love this school, love the sisters, I will miss them so much next year!!!!!!!

Holy Family Day Nursery School 2

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
I had a very negative experience with this school. My son attended this school for only a few months, but he hated every day of it. My son is naturally a very shy child, and speaks very little. However, we started noticing a dramatic change in his personality after a few weeks of attending school. He will cry and be very nervous in the morning (I understand this is normal for the first few weeks), but he actually stopped talking at home...his personality went from happy kid at home to a depress child. After a few months of attending this school we took him out in the middle of the month to take him a different school (didn't care about loosing our money) and in his new school he is happy and he is learning tons. I'm not sure what the problem was, but something was not right. Also, there is little to no interaction between the sisters and the parents. Overall very unhappy and I will never recommend this school to anybody.

Holy Family Day Nursery School 5

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
I love this school.My daughter is studying in this school for three years. she wlill complete her pre-K this year. recently i moved to a place 14 miles away from the school. I decided to send her to this school untill the last day. I like the way the sisters care the children. My daughter love all the sisters. They( sisters) dont give them lot of load just enough for them. she speaks a lot of things about the cativities in her school everyday. My daughter learned around 12-14 songs during x'mas without even reading she memmorized the lyrics of all the songs including Italian and spanish. Wow! I was surprised! tahnks to all the sisiters and Good luck to the school.


Holy Family Day Nursery School 2

Posted August 26, 2010
- a parent
I enrolled my two children here (3yrs old and 4 yrs old). Initially I was very happy with the school, however it took about 2 months to realized that this was not the right school for my children. I have a variety of reasons to dislike this school, but mainly my kids were watching TV often which I found unacceptable given that this is a pre-schol and not a daycare.

Holy Family Day Nursery School 5

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
This is as good as it gets... all of my children went here and they were all challenged and well cared for. Traditional catholic school values... Highly recommend!

Holy Family Day Nursery School 2

Posted July 10, 2010
- a parent
Unfortunately my experience with the school is not a good one. I disagree with other parents that the curriculum is great. The curriculum is average and not challenging at all. I was very disappointed with the studio/teacher ratio of this school. One day my husband went to pick up our child and two boys were in the restrooms alone and the sisters didn't realize it until my husband told them. To be fair, the sisters do keep the school very clean and they are loving towards the children (most of them, there are a few exceptions). They do a beautiful show in May (crowning of our Holy Mother). Overall I do not recommend the school, and my child is not returning (he was there for a year). This is unfortunate because is one of the only catholic nursery schools in my area.


Holy Family Day Nursery School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
My son has been at this school for two years and we absolutely love the school. He always bring many activities that are done at school, and the curriculum is great. The sisters really care very well.

Holy Family Day Nursery School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school for 3 years and we absolutely love it! The Sisters care for the children superbly, the curriculum is outstanding, the school clean and organized.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Family Day Nursery School
174 Franklin Avenue, Nutley, NJ  07110
(973) 235-1170
Last modified Holy Family Day Nursery School is a Private school that serves grade PK
Holy Family Day Nursery School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top