Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Park Street Academy 2

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
Well meaning teachers, poor leadership, poor supervision. Just a few things to take note of.

Park Street Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Park Street Academy is a wonder institution. Our Son thrived in the environment, learned all his numbers, letters and more. He is fully ready for kindergarten.


Park Street Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
PSA has been a great introduction for school. My girls have attended the school for three years and blossomed. One of my daughters is very shy, but the teachers found a way bring her out of her shell. She is still a quiet girl (that's just who she is) but she has become so confident. Both girls are prepped and ready for kindergarten -- socially, intellectually and emotionally. Thanks PSA!

Park Street Academy 2

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Some kids undoubtedly do well here. However if your child is one that is not loud and confident at big family gatherings, they are unlikely to be one of them. The class sizes are large and the classrooms are not structured into areas so that quieter kids can get some space from the others. The outdoor play space is nice but often not used if the weather is anything except dry and warm and sometimes not even then. The staff ratio is fine but the class sizes are too large to actually give the quieter kids the attention and assistance they may need; it goes to those that are acting out, either positively or negatively. So in short, there are more nurturing places in Montclair for children that are sensitive or shy. My child is now going to a different school and has blossomed.
1 person found this helpful

Park Street Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
my child attended PSA and another will be attending shortly. The staff are wonderful, caring and very experienced. There is an emphasis on good behavior, responsibility that comes home with the child. I had no need to worry about my child starting public school, the transition was seamless. She loved her teachers and friends and I made great friends too. Ms. Lisa's art classes were so amazing. It's o.k. to challenge kids in an age appropriate way. Do the tour and talk to other parents.


Park Street Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
Both my son and daughter attend Park Street Academy and i couldn't be happier with the academic, social and emotional experience they both have had and continue to have each day at PSA. Each class of teachers is exceptional...they really get to know your child and sincerely want what is best for him and her... I really do believe that a child's first educational experience is very important and sets the stage for the upcoming years and at PSA...the kids are learning without realizing it... Their day is filled with so much fun and joy, that they don't realize how much they are learning...the thematic learning structure, the daily routine and the chemistry between the 4 teachers in each class is so well planned out...it's truly a success. Behind the success of the school is it's amazing director...dynamic, energetic and so full of compassion for the children and all the families...she really loves what she is doing and it shows! I wholeheartedly recommend this school to everyone and feel that all children deserve a Park Streeet Academy first time school experience!!

Park Street Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
There is no other preschool in the Montclair area like Park Street Academy. Both of our boys attend this school and we have had great success. My five year old will be leaving this year after after having attended for 2 years. He is reading books, able to do basic math problems, playing soccer, has learned and exceled at tennis and made great friends. My boys are greeted every morning with smiles and warm, friendly teachers. They receive so much attention by all of the staff and the owner and director and are always available and responsive. Of all the preschools that we looked at, PSA by far offers the most structure and emphasis on academics and we couldn't be happier with our experiences at this school. Kelly C.

Park Street Academy 5

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
I have had at least one of my kids in Park Street during the last 5 1/2 years. I highly recommend this school for several reasons: (1) a fun, creative curriculum that the kids soak up (2) diversity of the families and the staff, (3) the warm and caring owner and staff, and (4) the extended hours that allow parents to have back up care (and peace of mind). There are positives and negatives to all preschools, but this school is special in all the ways that count.


Park Street Academy 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school. Every once in a while there is one parent that is not happy that the world does not revolve around them, but life goes on. The schools success is a testament to its quality.

Park Street Academy 5

Posted August 09, 2011
- a parent
Our twins just graduated from Park Street in June and let me say this. Park Street Academy is a great school. The academics are excellent and the teachers are extremely professional. My wife and I are not big school shoppers. We took the tour of the school separately but we came back with the same gut response. We have to get our kids into that school. We are originally from the West Coast so we really liked the diversity at the school. All kinds of parents and all kinds of kids with one goal---getting the best start for our kids. For us, the school was a family. We miss it dearly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park Street Academy
46 Park Street, Montclair, NJ  07042
(973) 783-1900
Last modified Park Street Academy is a Private school that serves grade PK
Park Street Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top