Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK
Private
Montclair, NJ
Students enrolled: 100
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Park Street Academy 1

Posted August 22, 2015
- a community member
Don't buy the "education" nonsense they sell you. Most victims of this nonsense are of course, New York parents hoping that the $14K+ they shell out for their child's education here, will somehow give various opportunities and exposure to promote accelerated learning. I was one of them. This "subpar" basement school is clearly living on past glory. My child had a HORRIBLE experience here.

Park Street Academy 1

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
We had our children at PSA and didn't take them out early enough! In hindsight, we should have removed them immediately. What has the potential for a great pre-k, is in fact nothing but an experience we are happy to have behind us. Administrators are defensive and quick to argue instead of trying to resolve and maintain relationships that help the business grow. This sort of attitude and behavior MAY in fact ultimately shut the business down in the future. FACTS: The school closes with very little notice so make sure you have extra childcare/back up. I don't recommend this school for working parents. Pay careful attention to the contract. There is no deposit. The $1,000+ you give as a deposit is actually an "Enrollment fee" so you lose when you realize things aren't working out. (See other parents' reviews) Very little play space so parents with boys, beware. Your son may end up frustrated and bored. Very poor management and understanding of how girls and boys work and learn in the same space. Good luck!


Park Street Academy 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
We enrolled our son in this school and were quickly sold on their curriculum and "plus" after care. I would say the biggest problem with this school is the administration. They are combative, unprofessional and for a pre-school, extremely inflexible.They make you pay an "enrollment fee" essentially a deposit which is non refundable (they sell it as the last month's tuition.) What they fail to explain is they close for like 3 weeks in in their summer program (2 weeks in august) and if you decide its not a great fit--they keep your deposit. Or you can stay and pay a full months tuition for only 2 weeks. This is not a pre-school, its a sub-par daycare facility, in a basement with a tiny outdoor "playground". Montclair has a lot to offer, this should only be a last resort solution for parents who have no other choice or arrive late in the school year.

Park Street Academy 2

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
Well meaning teachers, poor leadership, poor supervision. Just a few things to take note of.

Park Street Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Park Street Academy is a wonder institution. Our Son thrived in the environment, learned all his numbers, letters and more. He is fully ready for kindergarten.


Park Street Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
PSA has been a great introduction for school. My girls have attended the school for three years and blossomed. One of my daughters is very shy, but the teachers found a way bring her out of her shell. She is still a quiet girl (that's just who she is) but she has become so confident. Both girls are prepped and ready for kindergarten -- socially, intellectually and emotionally. Thanks PSA!

Park Street Academy 2

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Some kids undoubtedly do well here. However if your child is one that is not loud and confident at big family gatherings, they are unlikely to be one of them. The class sizes are large and the classrooms are not structured into areas so that quieter kids can get some space from the others. The outdoor play space is nice but often not used if the weather is anything except dry and warm and sometimes not even then. The staff ratio is fine but the class sizes are too large to actually give the quieter kids the attention and assistance they may need; it goes to those that are acting out, either positively or negatively. So in short, there are more nurturing places in Montclair for children that are sensitive or shy. My child is now going to a different school and has blossomed.

Park Street Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
my child attended PSA and another will be attending shortly. The staff are wonderful, caring and very experienced. There is an emphasis on good behavior, responsibility that comes home with the child. I had no need to worry about my child starting public school, the transition was seamless. She loved her teachers and friends and I made great friends too. Ms. Lisa's art classes were so amazing. It's o.k. to challenge kids in an age appropriate way. Do the tour and talk to other parents.


Park Street Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
Both my son and daughter attend Park Street Academy and i couldn't be happier with the academic, social and emotional experience they both have had and continue to have each day at PSA. Each class of teachers is exceptional...they really get to know your child and sincerely want what is best for him and her... I really do believe that a child's first educational experience is very important and sets the stage for the upcoming years and at PSA...the kids are learning without realizing it... Their day is filled with so much fun and joy, that they don't realize how much they are learning...the thematic learning structure, the daily routine and the chemistry between the 4 teachers in each class is so well planned out...it's truly a success. Behind the success of the school is it's amazing director...dynamic, energetic and so full of compassion for the children and all the families...she really loves what she is doing and it shows! I wholeheartedly recommend this school to everyone and feel that all children deserve a Park Streeet Academy first time school experience!!

Park Street Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
There is no other preschool in the Montclair area like Park Street Academy. Both of our boys attend this school and we have had great success. My five year old will be leaving this year after after having attended for 2 years. He is reading books, able to do basic math problems, playing soccer, has learned and exceled at tennis and made great friends. My boys are greeted every morning with smiles and warm, friendly teachers. They receive so much attention by all of the staff and the owner and director and are always available and responsive. Of all the preschools that we looked at, PSA by far offers the most structure and emphasis on academics and we couldn't be happier with our experiences at this school. Kelly C.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park Street Academy
46 Park Street, Montclair, NJ  07042
(973) 783-1900
Last modified Park Street Academy is a Private school that serves grade PK
Park Street Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top