Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K & Ungraded
Public
Mcguire Afb, NJ

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
Having only lived in the area for 6 months, I was very nervous about the school system here. I have loved Discovery. It has been a great K experience for my 5 yr old. His teacher is warm and welcoming, encourages the students, and allows the parents to see and participate in what their children are doing in the classroom. The K students have music once a week, gym once a week, library once a week, and spanish twice a week. I did not utilize the bus system and instead drop off and pick up every day. The principal, front desk staff, and gym teacher stand outside and greet the children every single morning on their way into the building. They know the children by name, and are warm and welcoming with them. I am so glad this is the environment my son has for his K year. The PTA for this school is very involved and does wonderful activites every month for families to participate in. Just an overall positive experience for my family.

Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
My younger son attended Discovery for his K year, his first real school experience (he wasn't in pre-school or day care). He loved it and thrived! His teacher at Discovery helped him have a very successful year and at his new school in a new state, he is very advanced. I also worked as a sub in the school and I saw nothing but caring teachers. I volunteered in my son's class and felt welcomed every time. His teacher was kind and caring and obviously dedicated. The assistant was also fantastic. We really miss this school district. The only issue was with the principal. She didn't seem engaged with the parents. Personally, she butted in on my son's lunch and made him fear being forced to eat school lunch (he's a picky eater). I assured her he was eating just fine, he chose his food so I knew he'd like and eat it, and that it was not her business as long as he was being well fed and not obviously abused or undernourished. She also didn't seem to engage the parents. the rest of the faculty and staff, from the office to janitors, were fantastic!


Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
Discovery has been a great school for my daughter who went in as an early 4 year old (august birthday). She absolutely LOVED the school. I was worried but her teacher was amazing and it was apparently that she had been doing this for over 20 years. I was constantly contacted to come in and help in the classroom if I wanted so I was able to see the interaction between the children and the teacher a ton throughout the year! The kids learn through tons of interactive teachings and I have seen so much development in my daughter! I was worried that it wasn't strict enough because it was a different approach then where we had moved from but I witnessed the curriculum and daily teachings. It truly made my daughter love school and confident to go into the next year!

Discovery Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
As a mother of four children, an avid school volunteer, and with many military moves behind us, I have experienced a variety of schools, principals, teachers, and PTA boards. Our children have had great success in their previous school experiences. We found Discovery to be a very cold, sterile environment and the faculty and staff, specifically the front office attendants and the principal, to be very rude, discourteous and unhelpful. This is a school for Pre-K and Kindergarten where one would assume that the staff would embrace these little people with love and warmth. There were many issues too lengthy to condense to 150 words. We transferred to Fort Dix Elementary and have been extremely pleased.

Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
Discovery school is a wonderful school. All three of my kids have gone to Discovery and it is by far their favorite one. My youngest two love it, and my oldest wishes he could still go there. I would definitly recommend this school to anyone new to the area.


Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
My family moved to North Hanover Twp this past summer. We have been very pleased with our child's Pre-K (K-4) experience. All children receive door to door bussing to and from school. This fosters a great amount of independence in a very non-threatening environment, as the only children on the buses are Pre-K and Kindergarten students. All classrooms are staffed by a Certified Teacher and a Teacher s Assistant, who manage to strike the proper balance between nurturer, educator, and disciplinarian. Pre-K students participate in weekly specials such as library and music. My child looks forward to going to school each day. Overall, a positive, well-rounded program that is laying a wonderful foundation for my child s future education.

Discovery Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2007
- a parent
I love this school. I have to kids and they go to 2 different district schools. My son who went to discovery knows so much more then his older brother did at his age. The teachers are all nice. They are very involved with your child and what is best for him/her.

Discovery Elementary School 1

Posted October 16, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Discovery Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2004
- a parent
Our family had a very positive experience at Discovery School. We transferred in mid year and I called the school prior to moving out to NJ. The principal, Mr. Orfe, took my phone call personally and gave me a lot of info. about the school, curriculum, and the area. When we arrived in NJ to enroll my child, Mr. Orfe gave us a personal tour of the school & introduced us to the staff. My child's teacher was outstanding. Mrs. Drew created a challenging, but fun atmosphere for the students. She inspired her students to learn and do their best. Our overall experience was positive at Discovery. Mr. Orfe and Mrs. Drew created an open & welcoming environment where you could address any concerns quickly. They were always available to meet with me whenever I needed to speak with them.

Discovery Elementary School 2

Posted July 16, 2004
- a parent
I requested my childs unit test and the teacher said no she had to keep them for a year then destroy them. It took me 4 days before the pricipal would even give me an appt-(I went in 2 times a day). He said he would send the tests home with my child-did not get them.Spoke to pricipal again and he said to come in and pick them up-he called me the next day and had changed his mind-said no teachers give out the unit test.(I have unit tests from my older child for the last 3 years). Now I have been trying to contact the school board and have been leaving messages but no return phone calls.The rumors about this schools upper management seem to be true.The pricipal will tell you what you want to hear to get you out of his office-then go back on his word.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery Elementary School
2 School Road, Mcguire Afb, NJ  08641
(609) 723-5700
Last modified Discovery Elementary School is a Public school
Discovery Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top