Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Elementary School

Preschool | 340 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

Having only lived in the area for 6 months, I was very nervous about the school system here. I have loved Discovery. It has been a great K experience for my 5 yr old. His teacher is warm and welcoming, encourages the students, and allows the parents to see and participate in what their children are doing in the classroom. The K students have music once a week, gym once a week, library once a week, and spanish twice a week. I did not utilize the bus system and instead drop off and pick up every day. The principal, front desk staff, and gym teacher stand outside and greet the children every single morning on their way into the building. They know the children by name, and are warm and welcoming with them. I am so glad this is the environment my son has for his K year. The PTA for this school is very involved and does wonderful activites every month for families to participate in. Just an overall positive experience for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

My younger son attended Discovery for his K year, his first real school experience (he wasn't in pre-school or day care). He loved it and thrived! His teacher at Discovery helped him have a very successful year and at his new school in a new state, he is very advanced. I also worked as a sub in the school and I saw nothing but caring teachers. I volunteered in my son's class and felt welcomed every time. His teacher was kind and caring and obviously dedicated. The assistant was also fantastic. We really miss this school district. The only issue was with the principal. She didn't seem engaged with the parents. Personally, she butted in on my son's lunch and made him fear being forced to eat school lunch (he's a picky eater). I assured her he was eating just fine, he chose his food so I knew he'd like and eat it, and that it was not her business as long as he was being well fed and not obviously abused or undernourished. She also didn't seem to engage the parents. the rest of the faculty and staff, from the office to janitors, were fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

Discovery has been a great school for my daughter who went in as an early 4 year old (august birthday). She absolutely LOVED the school. I was worried but her teacher was amazing and it was apparently that she had been doing this for over 20 years. I was constantly contacted to come in and help in the classroom if I wanted so I was able to see the interaction between the children and the teacher a ton throughout the year! The kids learn through tons of interactive teachings and I have seen so much development in my daughter! I was worried that it wasn't strict enough because it was a different approach then where we had moved from but I witnessed the curriculum and daily teachings. It truly made my daughter love school and confident to go into the next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

As a mother of four children, an avid school volunteer, and with many military moves behind us, I have experienced a variety of schools, principals, teachers, and PTA boards. Our children have had great success in their previous school experiences. We found Discovery to be a very cold, sterile environment and the faculty and staff, specifically the front office attendants and the principal, to be very rude, discourteous and unhelpful. This is a school for Pre-K and Kindergarten where one would assume that the staff would embrace these little people with love and warmth. There were many issues too lengthy to condense to 150 words. We transferred to Fort Dix Elementary and have been extremely pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Discovery school is a wonderful school. All three of my kids have gone to Discovery and it is by far their favorite one. My youngest two love it, and my oldest wishes he could still go there. I would definitly recommend this school to anyone new to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

My family moved to North Hanover Twp this past summer. We have been very pleased with our child's Pre-K (K-4) experience. All children receive door to door bussing to and from school. This fosters a great amount of independence in a very non-threatening environment, as the only children on the buses are Pre-K and Kindergarten students. All classrooms are staffed by a Certified Teacher and a Teacher s Assistant, who manage to strike the proper balance between nurturer, educator, and disciplinarian. Pre-K students participate in weekly specials such as library and music. My child looks forward to going to school each day. Overall, a positive, well-rounded program that is laying a wonderful foundation for my child s future education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I love this school. I have to kids and they go to 2 different district schools. My son who went to discovery knows so much more then his older brother did at his age. The teachers are all nice. They are very involved with your child and what is best for him/her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

Our family had a very positive experience at Discovery School. We transferred in mid year and I called the school prior to moving out to NJ. The principal, Mr. Orfe, took my phone call personally and gave me a lot of info. about the school, curriculum, and the area. When we arrived in NJ to enroll my child, Mr. Orfe gave us a personal tour of the school & introduced us to the staff. My child's teacher was outstanding. Mrs. Drew created a challenging, but fun atmosphere for the students. She inspired her students to learn and do their best. Our overall experience was positive at Discovery. Mr. Orfe and Mrs. Drew created an open & welcoming environment where you could address any concerns quickly. They were always available to meet with me whenever I needed to speak with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2004

I requested my childs unit test and the teacher said no she had to keep them for a year then destroy them. It took me 4 days before the pricipal would even give me an appt-(I went in 2 times a day). He said he would send the tests home with my child-did not get them.Spoke to pricipal again and he said to come in and pick them up-he called me the next day and had changed his mind-said no teachers give out the unit test.(I have unit tests from my older child for the last 3 years). Now I have been trying to contact the school board and have been leaving messages but no return phone calls.The rumors about this schools upper management seem to be true.The pricipal will tell you what you want to hear to get you out of his office-then go back on his word.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 51%
Hispanic 17% 22%
Black 13% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 School Road
Mcguire Afb, NJ 08641
Website: Click here
Phone: (609) 723-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT