Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Matawan Children's Center 3

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
My 2 chilren attended this school for a few months. It's OK. The price is wonderful....but you know the saying you get what you pay for! The people are very friendlyand they attend to the children's needs. However, I think academically there's much needed improvment. Overall if your looking for a place to send your children where they will have fun while your not with them, they will certainly learn colors, shapes, ABC's number's, do art work and learn nursery rhymes all for a decent price than this is a nice place to check into!

Matawan Children's Center 3

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Matawan Children's Center 4

Posted April 01, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended Matawan Children's Center for the past 9 months in the toddler room and I am quite happy. The teachers have been very kind and caring toward the children. She has learned a lot and she is very happy every morning when she is dropped off and she is happy every day when I pick her up. Yes, it is true that the materials aren't shiny and new and perhaps that they may watch an occasional video but the kids are well cared for and happy. She has had a lot of learning projects come home, she has learned new songs, and she loves the playground. You are able to drop by at any time to say hello and you are always welcome. You can't please everyone and no one is perfect but I believe that these are caring individuals doing a great job.

Matawan Children's Center 5

Posted November 05, 2006
- a parent
My son attended this school from age 2 through kindergarten. He loved the school as did we. There was free flowing communication among parents, teachers and students. The children were rewarded and disciplined appropriately. Difficult situations were handled with diligence, and with the utmost care for the children. The environment was happy. My son was taught social and educational skills which enabled him to transition to first grade on solid ground. I recommend this school highly.

Matawan Children's Center 2

Posted September 12, 2006
- a parent
My children went to this school and after one school year I was not happy with it. The information does not trickle down to parents in a timely fashion, you hear information second-hand, the children are drawing on paper that is really letterhead from parents' offices and copies of other documents. Also, the teachers do not like asking the director to make copies of worksheets because toner is too expensive. So the copies are sent out to be made. Also, the crayons the children color with are little nubs that are just thrown into a basket with no order to them. Also, later in the day the children are all herded into one large schoolroom. So the 5 year olds are playing with the 2 and 3 year olds. The teachers are very nice but kids need better school materials and better communication.


Matawan Children's Center 1

Posted September 12, 2006
- a parent
'You get what you pay for' should be the slogan for this school. The materials are old, the classes are not clean, the children are allowed to watch television (children's movies) from 4 to 6, teachers' morale is low, class assistant turnover is frequent and communication between the teacher and/or director is seriously lacking.

Matawan Children's Center 4

Posted August 20, 2006
- a parent
My children and I enjoyed our experience at the school over the past 4 years. The teachers and director are caring and offer a great academic, nurturing experience for all of the students in their care. The school has good enrichments and a nice neighborhood setting. We loved the fact that the school wasn't on the highway and had a beautiful playground. The school has been serving the community for over 20 years and the many of the staff have been with the center for years offering continuity to the parents and students. Happy parent

Matawan Children's Center 4

Posted August 12, 2006
- a parent
My son has attented this school for four years,he has grown so much with the help and care giving by the teachers and director of the school. The 'main' staff is friendly and caring. He is leaving Matawan Children Center performing well above a 1st grade level. I also feel that good parenting plays a big role in how well a child does in any school system.


Matawan Children's Center 4

Posted August 12, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended this school. I was always confident she was getting excellent care from the staff in her classroom. My daughter was in with the 3 year old group(wich every parent knows three isn't easy!) The teachers were always kind , patient and they were actually able to grab her attention and teach her! Unfortunately, I didn't get to know every teacher in the school, because we only attended for one school year. I can tell you that I liked the school and loved my daughters' teachers.

Matawan Children's Center 5

Posted August 09, 2006
- a parent
We are very happy with the care at Matawan Childrens Center. Having grown up here, and not being a transplant, I have many freinds and a few relatives that attended there when they were little. The school has a fantastic reputation and the care is second to none. The cost is reasonable, and the programs are meant to help the kids in many ways. I know our son has really progressed. I know many of the teachers, the administrator, and the aids personally and they are very good people. I also support the Church that hosts the program, as it is a great organization that really tries to provide a place where attentive care is provided.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Matawan Children's Center
18 Ryers Ln, Matawan, NJ  07747
(732) 591-2273
Last modified Matawan Children's Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Matawan Children's Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top