Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Discovery Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Wynter Scammell is an amazing educator. Even before my child was hers to worry about she made time to tell me when she saw my child excel and gave me ideas how I could continue the theme at home. My child is now in her class and she works very hard to make her experience as meaningful to her life skills as possible. Just truly appreciate the sacrifices I know she makes on behalf of the children she teaches.

Discovery Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
The school faculty have great integrity and work hard on behalf of all the children of the school. They take pride in what they do and it shows in what I see my kids learning.


Discovery Elementary School 4

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 special needs students and the teachers for spec Ed and Integrated are excellent and care about all their students. I did have some issues with the Child Study Team initially, but once they were made to understand the type of advocates we are they began to have an excellent working relationship with us and our children are flourishing in the Pre K program!

Discovery Elementary School 4

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
While I really enjoy the school and the teachers, the PTO is very uninviting. We would love to be more of a part of the outside activities, but with the current board, we will not be participating. It's a shame because last year was great. :/

Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
Having only lived in the area for 6 months, I was very nervous about the school system here. I have loved Discovery. It has been a great K experience for my 5 yr old. His teacher is warm and welcoming, encourages the students, and allows the parents to see and participate in what their children are doing in the classroom. The K students have music once a week, gym once a week, library once a week, and spanish twice a week. I did not utilize the bus system and instead drop off and pick up every day. The principal, front desk staff, and gym teacher stand outside and greet the children every single morning on their way into the building. They know the children by name, and are warm and welcoming with them. I am so glad this is the environment my son has for his K year. The PTA for this school is very involved and does wonderful activites every month for families to participate in. Just an overall positive experience for my family.


Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
My younger son attended Discovery for his K year, his first real school experience (he wasn't in pre-school or day care). He loved it and thrived! His teacher at Discovery helped him have a very successful year and at his new school in a new state, he is very advanced. I also worked as a sub in the school and I saw nothing but caring teachers. I volunteered in my son's class and felt welcomed every time. His teacher was kind and caring and obviously dedicated. The assistant was also fantastic. We really miss this school district. The only issue was with the principal. She didn't seem engaged with the parents. Personally, she butted in on my son's lunch and made him fear being forced to eat school lunch (he's a picky eater). I assured her he was eating just fine, he chose his food so I knew he'd like and eat it, and that it was not her business as long as he was being well fed and not obviously abused or undernourished. She also didn't seem to engage the parents. the rest of the faculty and staff, from the office to janitors, were fantastic!

Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
Discovery has been a great school for my daughter who went in as an early 4 year old (august birthday). She absolutely LOVED the school. I was worried but her teacher was amazing and it was apparently that she had been doing this for over 20 years. I was constantly contacted to come in and help in the classroom if I wanted so I was able to see the interaction between the children and the teacher a ton throughout the year! The kids learn through tons of interactive teachings and I have seen so much development in my daughter! I was worried that it wasn't strict enough because it was a different approach then where we had moved from but I witnessed the curriculum and daily teachings. It truly made my daughter love school and confident to go into the next year!

Discovery Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
As a mother of four children, an avid school volunteer, and with many military moves behind us, I have experienced a variety of schools, principals, teachers, and PTA boards. Our children have had great success in their previous school experiences. We found Discovery to be a very cold, sterile environment and the faculty and staff, specifically the front office attendants and the principal, to be very rude, discourteous and unhelpful. This is a school for Pre-K and Kindergarten where one would assume that the staff would embrace these little people with love and warmth. There were many issues too lengthy to condense to 150 words. We transferred to Fort Dix Elementary and have been extremely pleased.


Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
Discovery school is a wonderful school. All three of my kids have gone to Discovery and it is by far their favorite one. My youngest two love it, and my oldest wishes he could still go there. I would definitly recommend this school to anyone new to the area.

Discovery Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
My family moved to North Hanover Twp this past summer. We have been very pleased with our child's Pre-K (K-4) experience. All children receive door to door bussing to and from school. This fosters a great amount of independence in a very non-threatening environment, as the only children on the buses are Pre-K and Kindergarten students. All classrooms are staffed by a Certified Teacher and a Teacher s Assistant, who manage to strike the proper balance between nurturer, educator, and disciplinarian. Pre-K students participate in weekly specials such as library and music. My child looks forward to going to school each day. Overall, a positive, well-rounded program that is laying a wonderful foundation for my child s future education.

Nearby schools

Discovery Elementary School
2 School Rd, Joint Base Mdl, NJ  08641
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (609) 738-2652
Last modified Discovery Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-K
Top