Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wee Play School

Preschool

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manchester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Most of the teachers are great however the Director is the most unapproachable, unfriendly person! She should not be working with children or managing teachers. My daughter had 4 different pre-school teachers in one year!! First two left with notice and the third was moved to a different class. My daughter has not had any consistency or stableness since she has been in preschool classroom. The teacher that they moved in there is not even a certified teacher. They are ALWAYS out of compliance with the teacher to student ratio. I hate to say it but they are one of the cheaper daycares and it makes the statement "you get what you pay for" very true!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

The Director Amy is a terrible person. This school is terrible. This is a sad excuse for a childcare or school. If you love your children, do not send them here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

My child attended this school last year. He started as a baby and then eventually moved into the toddler room. The teachers in the baby room were friendly and communicated well on the daily happenings, however the Director was one of the most unfriendliest people I've ever crossed paths with. She never even aknowledged us when we checked in and seemed to genuinely dislike her job. I did my best to focus on the teachers my son spent time with, but eventually when he moved to the toddler classroom we were greeted with another round of unfriendly staff. There was little to no communication. My son consistently came home filthy. Not just his clothes but his hands and face always needed a good wash when I picked him up. He was coming home with unexplained bumps and bruises. And the last straw was when on the day of their Halloween party the costume I had sent my son in was left untouched because "they didn't see it" while during the school parade he was forced to wear the generic backup school costume. I know this may seem tedious but when I approached the teachers and staff re: all of these matters, there was no accountability or action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

Wee Play does a great job, my son started when he was 2 yrs and my daughter at 3 months. They do an excellent job of listening to your concerns. They have also been great about incorporating my ideas on fun activities with the children. My daughter now 1 communicates very well through sign language - all learned from Wee Play. My son now in the preschool room loves all the different areas; housekeeping, science, art, blocks, ect. I work better during the day knowing that my kids are being taken care of and most of all both children are HAPPY!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

We love it here. Primarily because our son enjoys arriving for the day- that's how we gage Wee Play and assess its "up-to-snuffness" if you will. Our nearly two year old son has been attending since 13 weeks of age and we've been happy all along the way. I ask lots of questions of the staff and always feel welcome to do so. The infant room was breastfeeding friendly and the subsequent rooms he's attended have been full of fun. Additionally, there appears to be a diverse (economically, ethnically) student base and I appreciate that facet of this facility. I would and do recommend Wee Play School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

My son goes to preschool here and I agree with everyone here that the teachers are great!!! However, on the rare occasion that you have to deal with the director and the office staff, they are seriously lacking in professionalism and customer relations. My advice is to keep absolute meticulous records of your payments and to get EVERYTHING in writing. I changed my son's enrollment at the beginning of the month from 5 days a week to 3 days a week and they charged me full price for the entire month. Then when I called to discuss my bill I felt that I was treated horribly and was under the impression that they thought I was trying to pull a fast one. They finally relented and "gave me a break" only charging me 77% of the full price of 300 even though my son was only going 3 days a week all month. The teachers here are great, however the director and office staff need to work on their people skills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Our son is in the nursery at Wee Play, and we love it. The teachers are amazing, and we can tell he's happy there because he beams at his teachers in the mornings when we drop him off. The facility is not as new and shiny as some of the pricier daycares we "interviewed," but the staff keeps it up very well and the school has a lot of personality and character. The administration is firm but in a good way. By that I mean that they enforce all of the state guidelines and ensure that their teachers are performing up to very high standards. Wee Play also welcomes parent visits during the day. Being able to visit our son at school and be a part of his day is such a pleasure for us. We would recommend Wee Play to anyone looking for a great daycare for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

My two boys attend Wee Play and we are very happy with it! The preschool program teachers are wonderfull and work with the children individually. The invant and toddler program is very free-play based - and the teachers handled my 18 month-olds biting phase very well. Everything is well structured, and my kids look forward to going to 'school' every day! Love the location.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

Wee Play was an amazing Pre School for my son. He went there for pre school from 3 1/2 until the summer before he turned five and, WOW, what a difference it made! I had 100% trust in his teachers and the Wee Play School administration itself! I highly recommend Wee Play School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Both of my children attended this school. They are now 16 and 17. They have fond memories. Me too! Always felt they were in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I rate Wee Play very high. My son is 22 months old and he didn't start in daycare until he was 15 months old. He went somewhere else for the first 4 months and cried every morning when I dropped him off. From day one at Wee Play he has never cried. They are very organized. The teachers are attentive and let me know every day how he did and what he liked best. I would recommend them to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

Having once worked at this school, I can tell you that I would send my own children here. Children have access to music classes, swimming, gymnastics, and a newly implemented Reggio Approach style teaching. Parents are very welcome here, and activities like Field day, Holiday parties, and ice cream socials make it such a special place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 89%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Bedford Street
Manchester, NH 03101
Phone: (603) 627-5806

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT