Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Child Early Learning Center 4

Posted October 10, 2014
- a teacher
I never rate anything at 100% because I believe there is always room for improvement. In the last year this early learning center has been through many changes and for the better. Although nothing in any center is ever perfect this center strives to begin and end each day with safe and happy children with lots of learning and fun through play in between. Since the new Director has taken over managing the center there has been a lot of staff turnover. However, I believe that the expectations of the teachers, classrooms, and staff have increased and many of the staff that have left were not there for the right reasons. The current staff is dedicated and truly love their profession and it shows. This is a great place for children 8 weeks and up to spend most of their day and have a truly loving home away from home.

Holy Child Early Learning Center 2

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
We took our grandchildren out of this school after watching the quality decline for well over a year. The director promised improvements in staff and curriculum, but nothing changed. The teachers seemed untrained and were not engaged with the kids. In some classes, the teacher's children / relatives were also students and were treated differently than the other pupils. In a few instances, we picked up our kids with scratches - obviously from finger nails - and the teacher had no recollection of any incident. There are a number of great pre-schools in the Reno - Sparks area. If you're looking for a quility early childhood education, I would suggest you keep looking...


Holy Child Early Learning Center 2

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
This school has sent kindergartners out of it completely unprepared for 1st grade. The last class of kindergartners (9 students), have at least 5 out of 9 that were failing first grade and struggling. After the parents brought it to the attention, the school has decided that behavior was an issue for their "lack of learning"-great babysitter for the kids, not exactly ideal for education and some of the teachers don't mind talking in a rude manner to the children-appears this place isn't what it used to be, I am very disappointed with Catholic Charities of Northern Nevada for not making sure that this school offers the best anymore. If you have an issue, don't expect it to be taken care of, they will do all they can to make you the parent feel like their failure is actually yours. Bummer.

Holy Child Early Learning Center 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a community member
Holy Child Early Learning Center is a high quality learning environments that meet health and safety standards, as well as developmental standards creating the foundation for children s future academic achievement. As one of the few nationally accrediated centers in our community - this is the place to go. High quality services, that's affordable for families.

Holy Child Early Learning Center 4

Posted November 21, 2008
- a parent
We sent both of our children to HCDH for preschool, the oldest of which attended through kindergarden. We were very happy with the caring staff and involved administration. The director knows and greets every child making them feel very special. The classes are very organized with daily, weekly, and monthly lessons plans available for parents. I always knew my children were very well cared for. True the school does not have an accelerted learning kindergarden program as another parent expressed disappointment over, but it is a day home/day care facility with a kindergarden. My oldest has continued in a private catholic school of which I expect more from hence the Private. If you want private/catholic/accelerated then go to such. HCDH has a wide diversity both ethnic and fiancial. It has been a wonderful experience for both my children as well as myself.


Holy Child Early Learning Center 3

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
I like the mix of children in this school. Children are now over indulged and spoiled. This is an old fashioned atmosphere. Some of the children and parents are less desirable but children don't know they are poor.

Holy Child Early Learning Center
no rating

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
wow this school used to be the best thing for my kids now i really dont know what happened it kinda went down the tubes

Holy Child Early Learning Center
no rating

Posted March 10, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent, and have to say that this school has been absolutely wonderful for my child. I was very apprehensive about sending her to school this young, but the teachers and administrator have been more than just kind. She is not even in kindergarten yet and has already been learing how to write and read. I don't know if there is new leadership, but the other reviews seem to me like they are not at all about this school. I would highly recommend this school to any parent. The safety is high, with each teacher fully aware of where each child in their class is at all times. I love that they eat in the cafeteria, and love that the administrator is so involved. Don't let the other reviews turn you away from a really great school, check it out for yourselves!


Holy Child Early Learning Center 1

Posted November 30, 2004
- a teacher
The teachers at this school do not treat the kids nor each other with respect.

Holy Child Early Learning Center 1

Posted November 09, 2004
- a parent
This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our kindergartner needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. There are no field trips, because of the discipline problem of many of the students. Don't be fooled by its affiliation with the Catholic Church. It is named 'Holy Child', but allows no mention of religion because it is also partially state funded. The caliber of most of the teachers has been shockingly poor. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a small, private Catholic school, with all of the disadvantages. I can recommend it only in contrast to most of the other public schools in the district.

Nearby schools

Holy Child Early Learning Center
440 Reno Avenue, Reno, NV  89509
(775) 329-2979
Last modified Holy Child Early Learning Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top