Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Child Early Learning Center

Preschool

 
 

Living in Reno

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Parent involvement

Facilities & equipmentd

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

We took our grandchildren out of this school after watching the quality decline for well over a year. The director promised improvements in staff and curriculum, but nothing changed. The teachers seemed untrained and were not engaged with the kids. In some classes, the teacher's children / relatives were also students and were treated differently than the other pupils. In a few instances, we picked up our kids with scratches - obviously from finger nails - and the teacher had no recollection of any incident. There are a number of great pre-schools in the Reno - Sparks area. If you're looking for a quility early childhood education, I would suggest you keep looking...


Posted February 20, 2014

This school has sent kindergartners out of it completely unprepared for 1st grade. The last class of kindergartners (9 students), have at least 5 out of 9 that were failing first grade and struggling. After the parents brought it to the attention, the school has decided that behavior was an issue for their "lack of learning"-great babysitter for the kids, not exactly ideal for education and some of the teachers don't mind talking in a rude manner to the children-appears this place isn't what it used to be, I am very disappointed with Catholic Charities of Northern Nevada for not making sure that this school offers the best anymore. If you have an issue, don't expect it to be taken care of, they will do all they can to make you the parent feel like their failure is actually yours. Bummer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Holy Child Early Learning Center is a high quality learning environments that meet health and safety standards, as well as developmental standards creating the foundation for children s future academic achievement. As one of the few nationally accrediated centers in our community - this is the place to go. High quality services, that's affordable for families.


Posted November 21, 2008

We sent both of our children to HCDH for preschool, the oldest of which attended through kindergarden. We were very happy with the caring staff and involved administration. The director knows and greets every child making them feel very special. The classes are very organized with daily, weekly, and monthly lessons plans available for parents. I always knew my children were very well cared for. True the school does not have an accelerted learning kindergarden program as another parent expressed disappointment over, but it is a day home/day care facility with a kindergarden. My oldest has continued in a private catholic school of which I expect more from hence the Private. If you want private/catholic/accelerated then go to such. HCDH has a wide diversity both ethnic and fiancial. It has been a wonderful experience for both my children as well as myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I like the mix of children in this school. Children are now over indulged and spoiled. This is an old fashioned atmosphere. Some of the children and parents are less desirable but children don't know they are poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

wow this school used to be the best thing for my kids now i really dont know what happened it kinda went down the tubes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I am a parent, and have to say that this school has been absolutely wonderful for my child. I was very apprehensive about sending her to school this young, but the teachers and administrator have been more than just kind. She is not even in kindergarten yet and has already been learing how to write and read. I don't know if there is new leadership, but the other reviews seem to me like they are not at all about this school. I would highly recommend this school to any parent. The safety is high, with each teacher fully aware of where each child in their class is at all times. I love that they eat in the cafeteria, and love that the administrator is so involved. Don't let the other reviews turn you away from a really great school, check it out for yourselves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

The teachers at this school do not treat the kids nor each other with respect.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2004

This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our kindergartner needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. There are no field trips, because of the discipline problem of many of the students. Don't be fooled by its affiliation with the Catholic Church. It is named 'Holy Child', but allows no mention of religion because it is also partially state funded. The caliber of most of the teachers has been shockingly poor. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a small, private Catholic school, with all of the disadvantages. I can recommend it only in contrast to most of the other public schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 37%
Hispanic 20% 40%
Two or more races 20% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

440 Reno Avenue
Reno, NV 89509
Phone: (775) 329-2979

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT