Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
51 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shenker Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
My two children attend this school and we love it. The preschool program really prepares students without placing unnecessary stress on them. They teach through modeling and opportunity not negative pressure. Great school! Great teachers! Great director (who is very present and knows the children and families)! If you're looking for a family environment with quality child centered education - look no further!

Shenker Academy 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Shenker Academy is an excellent place to have my children both because the curriculum is top notch (the best in Las Vegas) AND because the staff from the top down truly care about my child. I can't think of anywhere else I would enroll my child before he goes off to public school.


Shenker Academy 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
How good is the school when the teacher is handcuffed by police officers right in front of the school ? That makes me wonder what is going on there.

Shenker Academy 2

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
Today, while dropping off my child at school, I saw a Shenker teacher being handcuffed. It makes me wonder the type of teachers and the kind of staff they have there.

Shenker Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Shenker Academy is a top notch quality school that is all about teaching our children the very best education they can get...They have teachers who not only know their subjects but actually care for our children like they were their own..One teacher very much worth mentioning that is exactly like this and goes Above and Beyond the call of duty is Sheryl Davis-Robins....Mrs. Robins is the prime example of what teachers are meant to be like; caring, compassionate, dedicated and committed to helping our children be the very best they can be..Mrs Robins is an asset and tribute to Shenker Academy and our children, who love and adore her like no other.


Shenker Academy 1

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
I have to say not all is bad at Shenker Academy. My family and I have had the best teachers. Mrs. Karl and Mrs Calfa are the most sweet teachers we came across. They have amazing qualities. I recommend those two to any parents and suggest those parents that have children moving up to a new class to talk with parents that already have children in Mrs. Karl and Mrs Calfa class. I guarantee you they will tell great things. My own child blossomed in their care. Mrs. Karl and Mrs. Calfa are caring, passionate, nurturing, evolving, engaging and very loving teachers. But like I said it's my personal experience with them. So not everything are bad. So glad to know that good teachers still exist.

Shenker Academy 2

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
I recommend Mrs. Karl and Mrs. Calfa class to any parent who are looking for a teacher who focus on educational needs of the students, work with passion, enthusiastic about work and teaching, does not stereotype or speak negatively of others, trains students in strategic thinking, encourages students to work in team and help students to focus on key issues. I say this because we have seen that being applied on my child's learn experience and my child has blossomed by being in the ladybugs class. Those teachers are true role models!

Shenker Academy 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
So sad what Shenker Academy has come to. New director is very unprofessional. I won't reccomend to anyone. There's a teacher( Mrs. Karl if I am not wrong) who is the most sweet teacher I know. She always calls me by my name and knows my child's name and we are not in her class. I feel welcomed by her. unfortunately I can't say the same about the new staff. Even the director can't call you by your name and she approches you with such a annoying and dry sense of humor. I don't recommend Shenker to any parent. If I were you I would talk to the parents that have children there first. The teacher/ studants turnoover would tell you that there is something going on at Shenker Ancademy


Shenker Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
This was the first school I toured and I really liked the teacher, so I signed up immediately. My child's experience started out well until about 3 months in when his teacher up and quit with no notice. My child was very upset. Next came a slew of sub-par "subs." They were terrible. I observed one class, and no child was smiling or laughing. They All looked miserable. I also noticed that many staff members were leaving. This place can't retain teachers. Unacceptable. After pulling my child from this school, I started touring more private schools in the Northwest areas. I looked at three other schools in the same price range as Shenker, and ALL of the other schools were MUCH BETTER!!! I wish I would have continued my original tour the first time. Please tour various schools, and I guarantee you will find better. Shenker was a terrible experience for my child, and I really regret sending him to such a miserable place.

Shenker Academy 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
The comment below mine is a joke. Teachers and directors are more focused on gossiping about one another (and especially parents) than they are taking care of the children. They claim to be NAEYC accredited, however I can guarantee you if NAEYC were to come in and do a random check-up today, they would fail miserably. Classrooms are currently not being kept up to NAEYC standards. The director is by far the most unprofessional woman I have ever met. I was standing in the hallway signing out my child from school one day when I realized I was overhearing the director discussing the financial situation of another parent with a teacher! I constantly saw the teachers and director using their cell phones when they should have been focusing on the children. My son no longer goes to this school due to the unprofessionalism of the staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shenker Academy
9001 Hillpointe Road, Las Vegas, NV  89134
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (702) 255-5437
Last modified Shenker Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top