Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
Bozeman, MT
Students enrolled: 78
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenwood Academy 4

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
both of my kids have attended greenwood since they were babies. neither of my children have come home with rash due to not being changed. they were always dry when I would pick up. Both of my children have gone back and forth between the school lunch and packed lunch. I found the school lunch to always be balanced and a good portion. my children never complained about the food and they would come home excited about having pizza since this isn't something serve at home on a regular basis. No other pre school holds candle to Greenwood when it comes to curriculum. both of my kids started public school as advanced readers and I have greenwood and the educated and dedicated staff to thank for that. by age 2 my daughter could write her name spell it out and enjoyed doing this. during her first year at public school she was doing so well in handwriting the teacher had her pair up with children who were struggling with their writing. did I mention she is the youngest child in her class. for both my children to be able to take there experiences from Greenwood go out into the world and do well is all I could ask for as a parent.

Greenwood Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
Horrible! I worked here for a week. I had to leave. I could not in good conscience be a part of such a unprofessional place. As a teacher and a parent, take my advice and keep looking.


Greenwood Academy 1

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
If giving this nightmarish place ZERO stars was an option, I would have done so. I pulled my son years ago, when an employee told me that Vicki Greenwood SPANKED my child in her office. The employee saw her do it, and she felt obligated to tell me what happened (I will always be grateful to her!). My child was ONE!!! Who does that!? I had already had an icky feeling about going there for a little while, but after that it was OVER. Stay FAR away from this nightmare of a facility!
3 people found this helpful

Greenwood Academy 1

Posted February 22, 2015
- a teacher
I worked at Greenwood for a little over a year. I started off the day of my interview and got a 5 minute training and thrown right in. There was a lot of cutting corners especially with things like ratio of kid vs. teacher. And every time the state came in we would quickly adjust to avoid citations. Vicki treated her employees horribly, fighting with employees and bossing them around, it was not a comfortable place to work. One time she made all of us employees take turns writing fake good reviews online pretending to be like parents! Ha. I always had to watch my back when I wasn't doing anything wrong. I also believe a degreed employee should not be getting paid 9/hour when money is rolling into the center. After working there for over a year my hourly wage continued at 8/hour. One other thing I would like to mention is the food the poor kids got each day. Lunch should not consist of canned fruit, 2 fish sticks and crackers. Or a McDonalds burger and some fruit. You are on the food program! You are required to serve healthy food but also think of the children, they should not have to eat unhealthy foods 5 lunches a week! Just a little inside scoop
3 people found this helpful

Greenwood Academy 2

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
The facility and the equipment are nice but it is all show. The staff and the owner are all so unprofessionally. I have seen them fighting with each other or with other parents. Have been charged different amounts for the same amount of time that my child has always gone. We have since pulled our child from this facility due to all the problems that we have had personally happen and from what we have seen in the short periods of time that we drop our child off and pick them up.
2 people found this helpful


Greenwood Academy 2

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
My children did not attend this facility for long, I no longer found it acceptable to leave my children there after several incidents within 3 weeks. For a child to come home with diaper rash twice in that time frame as bad as it was when they went to the facility that morning with no diaper rash, the only way that happens is if they are not changed. I have not once received of any information on if my child was changed, fed or when they napped. My oldest child came home one day and all they had eaten was pop-tarts, cheetos and a cupcake. Not one of those items are healthy, it would have been one thing if my child had one of those items but only having those items all day, they were sick when they got home. I believe that nutrition should be put at a higher priority at this facility along with notifying parents what is going on in their infants day. If this is your option then I do not believe it is completely unsafe I just think that there is lacking in communication and the quality of care that I want for my children. It is affordable and has everything a child needs for a good learning environment.

Greenwood Academy 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
Professionally managed and an engaging environment for my two children who have been attending there for a year....my children bring home positive attitudes..art work.. School work and are happy. Yes, there is a parent contract that meets all others I reviewed, and a large number of degreed teachers who work well with my children...and I understand in order to have a well managed school children's tuition is paid when they are sick and gone on vacation, but having my children safe, happy and well cared for requires money whether I am there or not. My child's space will be there when I return. And I know they care about my children, me and the people that work for them. I have witnessed this first hand and have met a lot of parents that have been there longer than me. We love our experience there.

Greenwood Academy 4

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I have three kids at greenwood academy, all three look forward to getting there n the morning, they all have been learning the things that give them a jump start on getting ready for public school. I am very satisfied with what happens with my kids there.


Greenwood Academy 2

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
The staff that take care of my child are wonderful, however the owner is a piece of work. They are suppose to do a monthly newsletter, and i have only seen one 3 times during the time we have been there. read the agreement carefully, as it is very threatening and has a ton penalties for numorous minor things. They have lost our payment, they have lost items that belong to my child (that have his name on it), I have been sent home with other children's items, I have seen the owner yelling and arguing with staff, (it is a wonder that there are decent people working there), and if you have anything negative to say, you are told to consult your parent manual. Too bad there aren't more places open early, otherwise I would be leaving just because of the owners attitude. I want my child to feel safe (no bikering amongst staff in front of children and parents), and parents to feel like they honestly know what is going on (provide a newsletter ROUTINELY). They place runs better when the owner is absent, she should have a hands off approach.

Greenwood Academy 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
This place is a joke. I have never seen a place that treats children like cattle such as this place. They are penned off in areas by barn fencing and yet are allowed to run wild in these areas. The reason they ask for ID when an unfamiliar person comes to pick up a child is because its the LAW! They are not doing it to be the best they can be. This place should be shut down for the way they run this place. They will move children to fit their number ratios. Moving a 3 year old to a 2 year old class because they are under staffed for the number of children they have in one penned area. I yanked my child out of there when I found out they were serving the children McDonald's for lunch on Fridays! I don't send my child their to be fed junk. This place is a zoo! I am sorry for parents who feel this is a safe environment for their children. Please know there are much more qualified out there. They deserve no stars!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenwood Academy
Po Box 10085, Bozeman, MT  59719
(406) 587-2429
Last modified Greenwood Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Greenwood Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top