Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-K
Private
St. Louis, MO

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Union Pre-School 2

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
My 2nd child is attending her 2nd year. We had some concerns about the school but feared switching schools on her would be a bit traumatic (we had already switched the year before when I became a SAHM for her little sister). We have an older daughter who attended a different pre-k/daycare and felt she was more than ready for Kindergarten. Our daughter is currently enrolled in Jr. Kindergarten and I am nervous about Kindergarten. The do not teach handwirting appropriately (having kids write in upper & lowercase letters). Children developmentally must master uppercase strokes before moving onto lower case. They are teaching sight words instead of focusing on the basic that my child did no master last year. So after my daughter comes home we are doing our own homework which includes handwriting, math, and cutting & coloring. Any work she brings home that says have your child read to you I read to her. I don't want her to learn to read by memorization. She needs to also learn phonics which the school does not focus on so I do at home. I have also noticed the monthly newsletters are just cut & paste from the previous years. I won't be sending my younger children there, Bummer

Union Pre-School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone who has a child with a big personality. They expect children to be "little robots" and not deviate from their expectations. There is no nurturing of creativity. The head of the school criticizes parents whose children don't fit the school's mold. Our child is outgoing and fun and she was not academically challenged at all in the Junior Kindergarten program. Her teacher had no classroom management skills and my child was bored and getting in to "trouble" as a result. The school would not work with us on making things better for our child and the principal would not acknowledge that the teacher was not doing a good job. Instead our 5 year old was blamed for the issues we faced even though her behavior was not a problem the 2 previous years with a different teacher who valued and nurtured our child.


Union Pre-School 1

Posted January 18, 2014
- a community member
Child was not prepared for kindergarten due to poor teaching on their behalf. Was told by kindergarten teacher that this preschool is not recommended

Union Pre-School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
both my children have attended here 6 years apart. they have been excellent both times.

Union Pre-School 5

Posted June 20, 2012
- a community member
Three of my grand children attended Union Preschool. We found it an excellent starting place to enter the educational system. The teachers were caring and the entire experience was all we could hope for. I wish we would have had a preschool like Uniion when our children were that young. 5 stars from a devoted Nana 5 Stars from a devoted Nana


Union Pre-School 5

Posted June 20, 2012
- a parent
We love Union! The atmosphere is welcoming, the school is clean and cheerful and my children look forward to going everyday! The staff is excellent. We also love Lunch Bunch!!! Thanks for a great introduction to school for our family.

Union Pre-School 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
As a mother of 3, I can not recommend Union Preschool strongly enough! My older children are now in grade school and my youngest is at Union. We LOVE it! The teachers and staff are so professional, yet know how to work with children on their level. As for the parent who posted on 4/27... I disagree! My neice is a graduate of Union Preschool, she has ADHD, ODD, and other social / emotional disorders. The teachers at Union were the first to recommend she be further evaluated and worked with my niece on HER level. She was never forced into a mold. My sister credits Union Preschool with her daughter's success. Union is a GREAT place!

Union Pre-School 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
Union preschool is a gem in St. Louis. They are respectful and kind to every child! Their curriculum provided my children with the tools they needed to excel in Kindergarten. The teachers are wonderful. They challenge and encourage the children every day. Our children especially loved the outdoor garden. I recommend Union for any preschooler or kindergartner.


Union Pre-School 1

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
Do not enroll in this school if your child has any behavior challenges because the school does not know how to handle kids that don't fit into the "cookie cutter" perfect child mold. My child has ADHD and the staff here are not at all equipped to deal with this. Spent the entire year giving them tools to help my child that they did not use. My child was labeled as a problem child because her teacher did not have the skills to manage her behavior in the classroom. The school accepts no responsibility for their short comings and instead blame the child and parents for behavioral issues that only occurred at school and in no other setting.

Union Pre-School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
I have a three year old daughter that attends union preschool. I have been exceptionally pleased with the care and education she receives. This is not a day-care and are fully committed to bettering your childs social and academic skills before kindergarten. They offer several different classes, including January 3's for those children that have late birthdays. All of the teachers, principal and staff are extremely kind and helpful. They also offer kindergarten after the preschool program. I would highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Union Pre-School
3543 Watson Road, St. Louis, MO  63139
Last modified Union Pre-School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Union Pre-School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top