Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

22 reviews of this school


Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
I also am a former employee of this school. My son, who is almost 3, has been going there since infancy. Sadly, most of the negative reviews are either staff members who left on bad terms, or parents who left on bad terms. This school is very good in every way. There is always someone at the front desk to greet us, they work with you and your child's individual needs, the staff is friendly and understanding, and the children are happy AND smart! Obviously there are days when too many staff members have called in or something else happens that throws the day off, but honestly, what work environment (or any other environment for that matter) doesn't have "off" days. The director and teachers work together to find the best solution that keeps everyone happy and safe.

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
The Director is the most loving and caring person. She has given children the opportunity to learn and succeed and feel good about themselves when other schools would not accept a child because they were different. The children are her number priority!! I know because I watch her every day with them and they love her even though some of them are so young they have a difficult time saying her name. She has a big heart!!


Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
I 100% DISAGREE with the previous review on the Lakewood Montessori School and I find this reviews hard to believe! The director, teachers are very warm and caring. My son attended Lakewood Montessori one year ago. This is a great school, I have nothing to say but that the teachers are well trained and extremely hard working, warm and caring people. Please don't rule this school out based on ONE review. Please go and visit the school, director and teachers then you can see how well they provide a safe, caring, nurturing atmosphere!

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
My son, Michael, has only been at LMS for a few months, but absolutely loves it! It s obvious that the staff cares deeply for the students. He has learned a great deal in a short time, and I am very thankful to have found such a wonderful environment for my son.

Lakewood Montessori School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a community member
I would highly recommend not taking your child there and if you are find another school. Terrible, absolutely terrible. The owner is on the boarder of getting the state all over her and her business. I can't go into detail yet but hopefully soon will be able to explain. It is a legal matter right now having to do with them not abiding by state regulation on multiple instances. Tune in soon for more stories of lying and illegal actions by a school. Complete documentation of what is stated above and of other incidents have been kept.


Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
My 2 1/2 year old son and my 6 month old daughter have both attended this school since they were 9 weeks old. This school has become a 2nd home to our family and many of the teachers have become like extended family members. My son knows how to count in Spanish, he knows his Continents and his Planets. We have been very happy with this school and the teachers. I have read some of the negative comments and I completely disagree. I have never once seen a teacher walking around with a scowl on their face. These women absolutely love these kids and they don't deserve to have something like that said about them. Thank you for all you do for my kids! I cannot tell you how nice it feels to know my children are loved, protected and educated while I'm at work!

Lakewood Montessori School 1

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE We started our 2year old and only made it 3 weeks with one of them her being absent the whole week because she was sick with strep and the flu. First day was a complete cluster as they had two classrooms combined with no original teachers in the room or anyone to "meet" us or our child. Next day my daughter threw up all over herself because she was forced to use the restroom and cried long enough and hard enough to puke. We were not called or notified until we picked her up that day what had occurred. When we questioned the director about it, she told me "it was no big deal". Communication does NOT happen between the morning teachers and afternoon teachers ever and you will not know any details on your child's day. Naps can't happen because people/teachers are in and out of the room all throughout and talking. And forget asking if they had a bowl movement. If you want to know ANY details of your child's day or are concerned with consistent teachers, communication or being notified if your child is upset crying for extended periods of time or them actually posting illnesses once they are confirmed by a DR, I STRONGLY urge you to look elsewhere.

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
My son is 2 and has attended Lakewood Montessori School since he was 11 weeks old. In a word, he LOVES it...so do my husband and I. It is just amazing how much he learns every day all while having a great time! He already knows all of his colors, can count to 20, name the days of the week, and so much more...the teachers and curriculum are outstanding. As parents we couldn't ask for a better experience for our son. Not only does he spend his day in a safe and nurturing environment, but he has a blast and learns a lot all at the same time! Thank you Lakewood Montessori.


Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
My son is 2 and has attended Lakewood Montessori School since he was 11 weeks old. In a word, he LOVES it...so do my husband and I. It is just amazing how much he learns every day all while having a great time! He already knows all of his colors, can count to 20, name the days of the week, and so much more...the teachers and curriculum are outstanding. As parents we couldn't ask for a better experience for our son. Not only does he spend his day in a safe and nurturing environment, but he has a blast and learns a lot all at the same time! Thank you Lakewood Montessori.

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
I 100% DISAGREE with the previous review on the Lakewood Montessori School and I find some of the reviews hard to believe! The director, teachers are very warm and caring. My daughter attended Lakewood Montessori two years ago. They go out of their way to engage your child in learning and they have several activities throughout the year to bring families together. This is a great school, I have nothing to say but that the teachers are well trained and extremely hard working, warm and caring people. Please don't rule this school out based on ONE review. Please go and visit the school, director and teachers then you can see how well they provide a safe, caring, nurturing atmosphere!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakewood Montessori School
951 Northeast Wildwood Drive, Lee's Summit, MO  64064
(816) 795-1443
Last modified Lakewood Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Lakewood Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top