Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
My 2 1/2 year old son and my 6 month old daughter have both attended this school since they were 9 weeks old. This school has become a 2nd home to our family and many of the teachers have become like extended family members. My son knows how to count in Spanish, he knows his Continents and his Planets. We have been very happy with this school and the teachers. I have read some of the negative comments and I completely disagree. I have never once seen a teacher walking around with a scowl on their face. These women absolutely love these kids and they don't deserve to have something like that said about them. Thank you for all you do for my kids! I cannot tell you how nice it feels to know my children are loved, protected and educated while I'm at work!

Lakewood Montessori School 1

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE We started our 2year old and only made it 3 weeks with one of them her being absent the whole week because she was sick with strep and the flu. First day was a complete cluster as they had two classrooms combined with no original teachers in the room or anyone to "meet" us or our child. Next day my daughter threw up all over herself because she was forced to use the restroom and cried long enough and hard enough to puke. We were not called or notified until we picked her up that day what had occurred. When we questioned the director about it, she told me "it was no big deal". Communication does NOT happen between the morning teachers and afternoon teachers ever and you will not know any details on your child's day. Naps can't happen because people/teachers are in and out of the room all throughout and talking. And forget asking if they had a bowl movement. If you want to know ANY details of your child's day or are concerned with consistent teachers, communication or being notified if your child is upset crying for extended periods of time or them actually posting illnesses once they are confirmed by a DR, I STRONGLY urge you to look elsewhere.


Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
My son is 2 and has attended Lakewood Montessori School since he was 11 weeks old. In a word, he LOVES it...so do my husband and I. It is just amazing how much he learns every day all while having a great time! He already knows all of his colors, can count to 20, name the days of the week, and so much more...the teachers and curriculum are outstanding. As parents we couldn't ask for a better experience for our son. Not only does he spend his day in a safe and nurturing environment, but he has a blast and learns a lot all at the same time! Thank you Lakewood Montessori.

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
I 100% DISAGREE with the previous review on the Lakewood Montessori School and I find some of the reviews hard to believe! The director, teachers are very warm and caring. My daughter attended Lakewood Montessori two years ago. They go out of their way to engage your child in learning and they have several activities throughout the year to bring families together. This is a great school, I have nothing to say but that the teachers are well trained and extremely hard working, warm and caring people. Please don't rule this school out based on ONE review. Please go and visit the school, director and teachers then you can see how well they provide a safe, caring, nurturing atmosphere!

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter has been attending the Lakewood Montessori School for the past four years and my wife and I have been very pleased with the School and the staff. We searched very hard before choosing this school and no other school in the area could match the quality and the professionalism of the staff and the curriculum. They care about everything from the children's nutrition to teaching the principles of Montessori and all that at a price that is comparable to a regular daycare. Our daughter has been going to Lakewood Montessori School since before she was a year old and she absolutely love her school and her teachers. Thanks Lakewood Montessori School for being here in Lee's Summit.


Lakewood Montessori School 1

Posted November 16, 2013
- a community member
I am writing this both as a parent and as a former employee of this school. The school produces intelligent children because it is a structured learning environment- any school based on the Montessori curriculum will provide this. Having said this, the "dedicated" teachers are few and far between. I started my child at LWM and within the first few weeks her behavior became aggressive and she begged me to not make her go. I can't say for sure what was going on in her classroom. In other rooms, however, I saw one of the teachers slap a child's hand, bop a child on the bottom with a cloth book, and other teachers yelled at the students and roughly pulled children to direct them where to go. The owner is very blaming- rarely is anything her fault. In this schools defense, the teachers seem like nice people, but they are not held to the guidelines of a Montessori school, and there are just too many kids in one room! And they do go over on numbers in classrooms pretty frequently. I could go on about all the things I noticed about this school, but really what it comes down to is, know who you are leaving your kid with. Myself and my child promptly left this school.

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
My child currently attends Lakewood Montessori, and we couldn't be happier! She loves the school, the students, the teachers, and the director. Every time the director is in the office any kid that walks by wants to give her a hug! She is very child friendly and easy to talk to about any concerns I or my husband have. I have good friends whose children attend this school as well and they are all very satisfied! It is a loving environment and the teachers all truly care about the kids! I would recommend everyone to this school and if I have more kids in the future the only place I will go is Lakewood Montessori! I suggest everyone go take a tour of the facility and see for themselves the wonderful environment this school has to offer!

Lakewood Montessori School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a teacher
I am a teacher at this school, I am happy to say I have been there for six years and love this school and the owner as well. We do not get paid minimum wage we do get paid very well. The children get treated very well and love to come to school every day. When state comes in we are always over staffed as we should be cause the kids do come first. All the teachers go through a lot of training to know how too do our jobs. To all parents looking for a great school please do not listen to some of the reviews that are being put on here, just come in at any time and check us out. We would love to take care and teach your children. Best wishes Miss Jamie.


Lakewood Montessori School 1

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Is this a puppy mill? Does the owner really only care about how much money she makes from skimping and cutting corners to save a few pennies? Moving "teachers" and other minimum wage worker bees around to send home 1 or 2 to save on the hourly (minimum wage) she pays them is so so so sad. Run away. This is NOT a children-first school. The Health Department recently forced changes - I am sure more are needed. If you really love and are involved with your children do not take them here. Much better schools are available elsewhere. Children are viewed by the owner as dollars first and children second.

Lakewood Montessori School 1

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
We are extremely dissatisfied with this school. This is the kind of school where 90% of the teachers walk around with a scowl on their faces. I have heard the teachers yell at the students (not just raise their voices). I addressed this with the owner and saw no changes. I have an older son and we moved before attending this school so we have seen how other montessori schools operate and this one does not follow the principles at all. The environment is chaotic and not conducive to learning. When I pick up my child, the teachers are often cleaning while the kids are on the other side of the room. To communicate, they yell orders. Absolutely no way to run a preschool! Also, there is often nobody at the front desk. There was a long period where every morning, we had to search the school to figure out what classroom my child was in and which teacher was caring for them. When I spoke w/the director about it, she made it seem like it was our fault. It's hard to find anything this school is doing right. It's March and I haven't seen an eval yet this year. Classrooms stink. My daughter actually cries not to go to school and she used to love it. It makes me sad.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakewood Montessori School
951 Northeast Wildwood Drive, Lee's Summit, MO  64064
(816) 795-1443
Last modified Lakewood Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Lakewood Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top