Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grow In Peace Child Care Center
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
Miss Nisha is the only teacher who ever acted like she cared for me or my kids. She would try to work out solutions when my daughter was going through a hard time. She is also the only teacher my daughter even liked. The others usually had an attitude with me. She really knows what she's doing with kids.

Grow In Peace Child Care Center
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
Most children don't respond to yelling. I walked in on them yelling a couple times a week.


Grow In Peace Child Care Center
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
How can they represent honesty, integrity, and fairness when they don't set an example for it?

Grow In Peace Child Care Center 1

Posted April 15, 2016
- a community member
Our experience with GIP was terrible. I am a foster parent and so my children have been traumatized. They DO NOT know how to handle kiddos like this. The director tried to force her beliefs on parenting on us instead of trying to work out a compromised solution. She was not respectful or kind to us. My kids would tell me how they did not feel heard by the teachers or very safe or cared for with them (they are school aged). I would also often walk in and here one teacher or another yelling at the group of kids or just one, usually about something ridiculous. So, they thought yelling and being uncaring when a child is crying is a better punishment than my natural consequences. Go figure. I'm not Lutheran, but if this daycare represents what their church believes and what the members are like, you can bet I would never subject my family to these kinds of people.

Grow In Peace Child Care Center 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is a blessing to me and my son. I have had my son here for two years and have seen tremendous growth in him academically, socially and Biblically . He gets challenged academically (but not to the point where he hates it, all learning is age-appropriate and fun...as I have set in a few of his classes) and he is growing leaps and bounds socially. The staff and director are very communicative with me about what is going on. And if there is a problem, they are respectful in the manner they bring it to me. And we are able to work out solutions for the problems. I love this center and recommend it for anyone that is looking for quality care.


Grow In Peace Child Care Center 5

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
We have been absolutely pleased with the care and love given to our 2 children over the past 9 years. The staff are like family to us! Anytime I have had a concern it was addressed immediately and professionally. I appreciate everything the staff and Director does to make us feel welcome and loved. I would highly recommend this center!

Grow In Peace Child Care Center 2

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
My child was enrolled at this school starting in the 1 year old room. Those two teachers were fantastic and I really thought I had found a wonderful place in a great location for my son. Once he moved to the 2 year old room it went downhill fast. His teacher was never on time so my son was to be left in the middle with the school age children until I complained enough that they allowed him to sit in another more age appropriate room in the mornings. A new teacher took over for his class and I thought things would be different, wrong again. One evening I was giving my son a bath and noticed a bite mark on his back and I had not filled out an accident report that evening at pickup. When I took him the next day the excuse from the teacher was that he didn't cry or let her know. Four children in your class and you didn't notice another kid biting mine on the back?! That was the third time without any consequence for the other child so I pulled him immediately. I would not recommend this facility for any child 2 -3. I can't speak for the school age classes. I am only giving this place 2 stars because I liked his first year teachers so much..

Grow In Peace Child Care Center 4

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My 5 year old son has been going to Grow in Peace since he was an infant. I have never had issues witth staff or the Director of the center. I love the fact that my son is learning and gaining great biblical/spiritual wisdom. I know that he will be well prepared academically when he enters school. I am very pleased that school has a well diversed staff and that he is in a center that has children from different backgrounds and cultures.


Grow In Peace Child Care Center 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a 3 and 6 year old. We have had our children enrolled at Grow in Peace since 2005. We have had a wonderful experience with all the different classrooms my children have been enrolled in. My 6 year graduated from the Pre-kindergarten program and is doing fantastic in 1st grade. I attribute the love and enriching program at Grow in Peace to her success. The Director is always available to listen and exhibits herself in a professional fashion.

Grow In Peace Child Care Center 1

Posted March 06, 2010
- a teacher
I worked at GIP in the three's room. I now have a 2 year old and would never send my child here. We had constant problems with a child who was violent and could not get the director to support us. The other children were at risk and one child was even pulled from the program. The lunches consisted of canned fruits in syrup and processed meats. The children are often yelled at and grammar is rarely used intellegently by the teaching staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grow In Peace Child Care Center
8240 Blue Ridge Boulevard, Kansas City, MO  64138
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (816) 353-3910
Last modified Grow In Peace Child Care Center is a Private school that serves grade PK
Top