Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K|Private
74 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Talk about a different and wonderful way of doing daycare. I first met Lynn the director and she asked my what my questions were. Honestly I was overwhelmed and asked her to tell me what I should be asking. She replied: 1) teacher retention-most day cares have employees for <1 year 2) lessons focused on memorization and not on their emotional and physical development 3) number of biting episodes in the past month-Paidea has almost none 4) number of kids in a room--not just the staff-student ratio When I visited the other centers it became clear that Paidea was a special place. Only 6 kids per room with a teacher. Rotate spaces throughout the day so not one room for 10 hours. Lessons focused on tactile stimulation, fine and gross motor skills and discipline that is effective without raising your voice. I am so grateful to have found Paidea.

Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I cannot say enough great things about Paidea! Our daughter has been going there for about a year and she begs for us to bring her. Paidea is a diverse center with very experienced staff! I’m a first time parent and it is great to have such knowledgeable staff. The center might not be as polished as other centers but Paidea puts the tuition towards the kids not the appearance to the parents. There is always a family event taking place and the parents are very involved so you will get to know the parents as well as the kids. I drive 30 mins to drop my daughter off at Paidea because I cannot find anyone or center as great as Paidea!


Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
There aren t enough words to describe how much I love Paidea! Three years ago, my nanny situation came to an unexpected end and I decided it was time to introduce my then 18 mos old son to a structured center format. In the quest to find the right fit, I visited every center within a 10 mile radius of our home .Paidea was one of the last centers I visited and it was immediately a different feeling. Instead of a rundown on hours and payment schedules, the owner/director, Lynn, inquired about my son! She wanted to know about his likes/dislikes, how he interacted with other people, what made him happy, etc. I was impressed the day I went for my first visit and three years later I m still equally impressed. There are many things about Paidea I love, but the best part is the incredibly deep foundation and commitment that Lynn and the teachers have to emotional coaching. Being able to express his emotions and being able to read those cues in others is a skill that will serve him throughout his lifetime. The result so far? I have a happy, super communicative, flexible thinking four year old. Paidea is to thank.

Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
My family has been with Paidea since late 2006 and it has been the BEST place ever for my kids. I was very wary of putting my kids in daycare but circumstances demanded it. My children have flourished while at Paidea. The teachers and staff are so loving and nurturing. I was one of those nervous Moms and they helped to alleviate my concerns. Besides that, my children were so happy to be there that it made my nerves go away immediately. Both of my girls are in school now and the lessons taught at Paidea have shown in how they interact with other kids and approach the world. They are kind and caring and know how to work with other kids and also take the time to figure things out on their own. My older daughter is now a 7th grader and my younger is in 4th. Their teachers continually point them out as being amazing kids in their classes. I love Paidea and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
We have had 3 children at Paidea and have been in the Toddler, Preschool, and Kindergarten programs. I can t say enough great things about Paidea. The staff does an amazing job helping raise our children into amazing little people. They prepare the kids both academically as well as (and possibly more importantly at this age) emotionally for the real world. The kids learn tools they can use in any situation at any age. The entire staff is amazingly loving and caring and always willing to go the extra mile to help the kids and parents! The director, Lynn Jessen, is amazing with helping the children work through any problem, no matter how large or small, but also educates the parents. The outdoor spaces are great and there are also very large indoor muscle rooms during bad weather. The Kindergarten program is Wonderfull! The small class sizes are worth every penny. The kids are ready to enter 1st grade and excel! The monthly Parent nights are both a great way to get to know other parents as well as learn about why kids do what they do and how we can most effectively parent them to help them grow. It is the closest thing to a user manual I have found for raising kids!


Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
My girls attended preschool at Paidea for 2 years and continue to be involved in the summer program. I cannot recommend this school enough. Their elementary school teachers rave about what great citizens and helpful leaders my children are. This school has one of the best teacher retention rates around - very low teacher turnover which means lots of stability for the children. And the Director should be nick-named "The Child Whisperer" because she truly has a magic way with children.

Paidea Child Development Center
no rating

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
My children have been involved with the Paidea summer program for the past 10+ years. We simply love it! The staff are involved, loving, respectful, consistent and caring - the activities encourage creative development. The center is an awesome place for kids. 3 large outdoor play areas, a place to ride scooters, and and indoor play area for poor weather conditions. I knew that it was a wonderful place when my children were happy to go and felt safe when I left - no tears. I would never bring my children to another facility. Paidea is like home!

Paidea Child Development Center 5

Posted October 04, 2006
- a parent
If you're looking for a stellar Toddler, Preschool, or Kindergarten program, look no further. Paidea is incredible! Their teachers are top notch...in 2004 and 2006, 2 of their teachers won the Washington County Childcare Provider of the Year awards. Many of their teachers have been with Paidea between 10 and 20 years which says a lot! This is not a 'babysitting' service, they truly develop your child, teaching them life skills like problem-solving, conflict resolution, and how to identify their feelings. When my 3-year old told me he was frustrated, I thought, 'Wow, not only can he say that word, but he knows what it means, and is able to identify it in himself!' But don't take my word for it, Best Selling author, Mary Sheedy Kurcinka conducts research there. She says, 'If I were choosing child care for my children today, I would choose Paidea.'

Nearby schools

Paidea Child Development Center
949 Geneva Avenue North, Oakdale, MN  55128
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (651) 714-8646
Last modified Paidea Child Development Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Top