Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
I think you should know that the favorable reviews are correct and were all written prior to August 2013 when the school had a 90% turnover rate in their staff. Since then, the quality of staff is hit or miss and the owners do not seem to have any interest in obtaining a 4 star rating that most credible daycares have. The facilities are beautiful, nicer than my house, but I feel that it has become more about babysitting in the preschool than it is about learning. I don't believe that my kid needs to be able to read at age 4, but it doesn't seem like she has progressed much in the last year. I do things with her at home, but this facility charges rates that are comparable or higher to institutions with better curriculum. Now, they do offer better food (made from scratch). It's truly a shame. Parents that have utilized JM up until July of 2013 were so proud of where they sent their kids to school. It's been a year and has not recovered. The owners need to evolve. What worked for the first decade is no longer sustainable. We are experiencing ridiculous turnover rates. Why? I'm not sure I want to know.

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
Our 3-year old has been at the new Eden Prairie location since Fall of 2013. The facility is immaculate, no matter what time of day you're there and the staff is warm and helpful. My son's teachers (1-2 teachers per class of 6 or so kids) are wonderful and my son (who was terrified of being away from mommy at first) was loving his "school" within a few weeks. When I visit the class the kids are engaged. My son comes home with wonderful projects each day and is fed healthy meals. Most importantly my son says his teacher "loves" him. The tuition is competitive with similar immersion schools, it's a bit of an investment.. but seeing our son so happy makes it all worth it. My only suggestion for improvement would be more frequent parent-teacher progress chats. I believe there are two a year, but I would love to double that. Some on this thread have mentioned the immigration issues that were reported in the media in 2013, I'm satisfied that the school handled the situation properly -- and I believe it's made them even more discerning when it comes to their current and future staff members. I would highly recommend Jardin Magico in Eden Prairie.


El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
We have also been on a waiting list for over 2 years. We were told the wait list was 6 months. We completed the tour and have never heard back. I have made several phone calls trying to find out where we are at on the waiting list, with promises of getting phone calls back and have not once received a return call. I have never had this much difficulty with any child care provider I have inquired about.

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 4

Posted September 12, 2013
- a community member
I posted a prior comment here that seems to have been taken down? Which bothers me - it was not at all meant to be critical, but rather a question with honest information for parents. We are on the waiting list at Jardin Magico, and think highly of the center(s). Will be trying to make a decision if we get into multiple places (we're on several other waiting lists too). I know several people with kids here who love it. But I also know Jardin was in the news recently for losing quite a few teachers to immigration questions, so I wanted to raise the issue. I'm curious about how current parents have reacted, and if they would still recommend Jardin as highly, given the recent events and changes? I'm sure the teachers were/are wonderful, but such a turnover can be really difficult for kids, parents, and the whole organization.

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 5

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent daycare and school facility - with devoted, punctual and caring staff. The rooms, schedule, menu and children are meticulously maintained. Their scratch kitchen and cooking is amazing to parents who care about their kid's diets & introduction to a variety of foods. The attentiveness to every child is beyond amazing, with daily calls & emails from the staff, if parent desires it on top of a daily conversation with the teacher at pick up. Having visited several other daycares in the SW & Edina - JM is by far the best and most of should be attributed to the teachers. The 1.5yr waitlist was worth the wait!


El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are what makes Jardin Magico so special. They are, hands down, amazing, loving, and kind. The eco-friendly aspect, Spanish language immersion and scratch kitchen are just bonuses. Our toddler just took her kindergarten-readiness assessment and she knocked it out of the park - I attribute much of her success and preparation to her teachers. Communication from Xavier and Natalie could be better, but we have nothing but praise for the amazing teachers. We go to the Edina location.

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
I adore this school. It is hard to get in because it's soooo good. My daughter loves her teachers and the socialization is priceless.

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
We have a toddler and infant, both who started at 2 months old at Jardin Magico. We considered moving our daughter to our church for preschool to save money and an the hours were more flexible (7am-6pm vs. 730-515) but we just couldn't imagine pulling her out of Jardin. Our children LOVE school, the teachers are very loving, they cook healthy, homemade lunches with lots of veggies, provide cloth diapers, it's extremely clean and organized, and they constantly reinvest in the facilities & new toys, etc. All of the staff seem to know our daughter's name which tells me the kind of community they have. The most obvious benefit of course is the bilingual environment. At 2 1/2 our daughter can speak full sentences in Spanish, sing the alphabet, say the days of the week, count to 15... In 2 languages! Copies of the typical daily schedule are provided. The parent who pulled their child out for lack of structure and curriculum must not have received this information (not sure why). Free play does fall at drop off and pick up while education time is planned when there are fewer interruptions of children coming and going.


El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
We love, love, love Jardin Magico! My daughter is now two-and-a-half and has been enrolled since she was four months old. The teachers are excellent, the facility always clean, and my daughter just adores going to school. She is excelling by every measure, especially in language skills, and I largely credit Jardin Magico. I always miss my daughter while I am at work but I never worry about her, knowing she is receiving exceptional care. This place is a gem. I'll be sorry when she ages out. Initially I put her in child care so I could work, but now I feel like I work so I can afford to expose her to the myriad opportunities provided by this school.

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc 1

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
We have been on the waiting list for Jardin Magico for over two years. We were recently told to try back in another 6 months. When we toured we were told there was a 6 month waiting list. Communication and call-backs have also been poor. We would have put our son on another school's waiting list had they been forthcoming about the actual wait list time frame.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc
3836 Minnehaha Avenue, Minneapolis, MN  55406
(612) 360-3196
Last modified El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc is a Private school that serves grade PK
El Jardin Magico Bilingual Dc Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top